We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good views”
Review of Acworth Fish Camp

Acworth Fish Camp
Ranked #84 of 120 Restaurants in Acworth
Cuisines: American
Description: Phone: 770-917-8806/Just opened last month, is a really good place to eat lakeside on Lake Acworth.
Restaurant details
Description: Phone: 770-917-8806/Just opened last month, is a really good place to eat lakeside on Lake Acworth.
St. Charles, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good views”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had the blackened grouper sandwich, while sitting on the deck, watching the sun go down over the lake.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hit or miss on the food; the nice new deck surrounds a dilapidated house”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My first thought about the place is that " a glorious lack of sophistication" (as Jeff Foxworthy would say) abounds. But, we've tried all the places on the lake, and all of them are pretty similar. There isn't anything nice like, say a "Chart House" on the lake, anywhere. And, since this is the closest restaurant to our marina, we end up here several times each summer.

As long as you stay on the large new deck outside overlooking the marina and the lake, and never go inside to use the old, tired restrooms or experience the run down, badly stained old carpet in the entry area, you'd think this might be a pretty decent place.

The relatively new owners (2 years now, I think) are trying to upgrade the place. They started with a small, open-roofed deck and changed it into a nice big covered one. Now, most of the tables are outside on the deck.

The food varies some in taste and quality, but the chef's fancier creations overall are actually above what you'd expect when you sit down for a meal here. They have wings, fries, nachos and burgers, but you'll also find some very unlikely items on the menu, such as Oysters (prepared four different ways), Peel and Eat shrimp by the pound, Gumbo, Crab Cakes, a Filet and Surf & Turf.

The wait staff is mixed female and male; mostly late teens and early twenty-somethings. They have a lot of heart but very little experience, so a little patience goes a long way. If you do end up waiting, at least the view of the lake from the deck is a nice distraction.

They have decent live music most Friday's and you can make requests for for your favorite song (as long as it is a country song). Saturday night's bring around what can only be described serious "deep woods, redneck karaoke" with real-live big-haired ladies and what-not. Interesting people-watching for sure.

During the high season, they are open daily, but on the shoulder seasons they are only open Thursday through Sunday. During the off-season I suggest you call ahead to make sure they are open. Last year they had hopes of staying open all year, but ended up closing for the winter.

My wife and I are okay with the ambiance and can accept it for what it is, but we aren't likely to invite outsiders to share a meal here, as too much explaining is needed beforehand.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never had a bad experience. Casual fun on the lake.”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Dont go and expect fine dining Expect local fun on the lake. Its our weekend tradition to dock our boat and eat there. Family friendly staff is friendly. Blackened fish sandwich is best I've had anywhere. Burgers are very good. Portions are big!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank erinandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Comedy of Errors”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Docked our boat and expected a nice meal overlooking the water. We were seated promptly, but waited 1 hour and 35 minutes for our food. After being told numerous times, that our food was almost ready. Our orders were delivered to the table sporadically and were incorrect. Deck was pleasant, but the interior of the restaurant was undesireable.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank mom22girlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lakefront Dining, Great Food”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Lovely little restaurant that overlooks the lake and has a nice deck all across the back with seating outside. ATM is on the premises but they do take credit cards also. Be sure and ask for the remoulade sauce on your French fries, and ask 'em to "spice up" the sauce a bit- it's definitely worth a special trip. Great burgers, sandwiches and friendly owners and wait staff. We will definitely be back for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prestonjack41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acworth Fish Camp also viewed

 

Been to Acworth Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing