We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Increase your budget if you can, and try an Inn instead.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Sebring
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Avon Park
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Increase your budget if you can, and try an Inn instead.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while fishing in nearby lakes, including Istokpoga. Breakfast, parking and wifi was included in our room price. Parking was convenient because it was just in front our room. The parking lot was large enough that our guide was able to drive in with his large bass boat to pick us up.

Breakfast and coffee were lame. Most morning's, breakfast was not ready at 6am, once because the person at the front desk fell asleep in the office. Options were cold bagels (there was a toaster), muffins, cereal, juice and coffee.

The small room and bed was really basic and old - I guess typical for a motel. We had no trouble sleeping because we were exhausted after 12-14-hour fishing days, but it really wasn't comfortable.

We would have rated this place a 2, but increased it to a 3 because of the location. Proximity to Istokpoga was our first priority, and there were not any better options in $100 or less price range during this time of year (Feb-March). The restaurant next door had good, reasonably-priced food options, and there is a WalMart down the street where we picked up snacks, drinks and sunscreen for our time on the water.

If we travelled here for fishing on a budget, we would hesitantly stay here again. But I would be much more likely to pay $150-200/night for an average 3-star inn (Holiday Inn and Residence Inn), knowing these were our only other options. Better yet, fish during a different time of year when the room prices are more reasonable (approx. $100/night for the 3-star Inns).

If we were travelling for any other purpose, like a family non-fishing vacation, we would not stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    15
    6
    11
See reviews for
14
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coolidge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Save your money and go almost any where but here. Room was clean,bed was very good, bath was clean all but for one bug. It was the only bug but still! The carpet was torn at the door way to bathroom and the carpet tack strip was uncovered with VERY SHARE TACKS!! Watch your feet!! We had room 126 down stairs. The pool was NOT USEABLE it was in the 90's!! Pool water was peasoup green!
We will NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!

Mike,Peggy

Room Tip: We had room 126 a very nice room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plc_2006_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avon Park hotels

Huber Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Poorly maintained facility. Continental breakfast was minimum, and the waffle mix was spoiled. No place to sit so had to take food back to room to eat. Room seemed clean and bed was comfortable. I wiped the room down with lysol wipes, and still felt like bugs were in the room. Pool was empty.....Terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Booked this hotel online due to location. I was going to stay too nights. Upon arrival i was not told pool was not in service. Also landscaping was not kept up and was overall in poor condition. I asked for refund for i did not want to stay and was told there was no refunds! I didn't even use the room i was there ten minutes. After fighting with so called manager/ owner he said he would grant rwfund. I even got receipt showing no charge signed by clerk card was still charged. Upon repeated calling to hotel to get this charge reversed they keep telling me Mr Patel Owner/operator only one to do. Finally had to dispute charges through credit card company to get my money back.
DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Checked in was not in room but fifteen minutes. Realized pool did not work! Wanted a working pool! Was not happy! Wanted to check out and they said no refunds! That is bull! Was not only in room but fifteen minutes! Did not use bathroom and mess anything up! They said we were in room too long! Bull! We just checked in and checked pool and saw it was chained up and called right away! Now disputing charge because they are charging my credit card and we did not stay! Mr. Patel, the owner is not fair and knows no customer service whatsoever!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sexychick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel while visiting relatives. It was awesome!! Clean, very comfortable. For what we paid a night I would have liked a bar fridge in the room but that would be my only complaint. The laundry facility on site was pretty clean, cost me $5.00 to do 2 loads of wash and 1 load to dry. Clothes were dry long before the dryer ran out of time. Bring your own detergent or stop at the Walmart up the road. Would stay again next time.

Room Tip: Room in front of the pool was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grammajo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

"Econo" lodge is named fittingly. Look, this isn't a fancy hotel...thus the name. But if you're looking for a good, clean, decent place to stay in Avon Park or Sebring (the two towns are next to each other on US 27), then consider this nice place. Easy to access from US 27, it is on that road with no "winding" side roads you have to take to arrive.

We were there on family business, and just needed to stay overnight. The room we stayed in had a king size bed, with nice clean sheets and was appropriately firm...not too soft, not too hard. The room was decently sized, your basic "economy" hotel, and the bathroom's water pressure (important to us!) was good.

The hotel has a pool, and it looked like a nice family pool. We didn't use it, as the weather was too cold.

Now just a couple of problems with the room: a couple of the lamps didn't work. I don't know if it was the bulbs or the lamps themselves. And the toilet was seemed to be a little "rickety"...not that it was about to fall off, but the lid and seat were just thin plastic ones.

The hotel does offer a "continental breakfast" in the lobby in the morning...not fancy, but pretty nice for an economy hotel.

So if you're looking for the Ritz, you're out of luck. But if you want a nice clean hotel, this fits the bill very nicely! For what the Econolodge is out to do, it succeeds!

The staff were very professional and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon Park
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Sebring
6.8 mi away
Inn On The Lakes
Inn On The Lakes
#1 of 11 in Sebring
562 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sebring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sebring
7.0 mi away
Residence Inn Sebring
Residence Inn Sebring
#3 of 11 in Sebring
250 reviews
12.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Sebring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sebring

Property: Econo Lodge Sebring
Address: 2511 US Highway 27 S, Avon Park, FL 33825-9752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Avon Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Avon Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sebring 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Sebring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sebring Hotel Avon Park
Econo Lodge Avon Park
Avon Park Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing