We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Resort - A Rarity in South Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Aventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Although the Miami area is basically an adult playground while Orlando is for the kids, the Turnberry does an admirable job of catering to families while still retaining its luxury feel so the older crowd may comfortably wear their cocktail dresses and business suits in their posh restaurant along with leaving their Bentleys and Lamborghinis with valet parking.

Although accommodations for a family of five (kids 11, 11, and 7) are a little tight in one room, the family amenities give you little reason to hang in the room. The on site pool with super fast slide and nice lazy river do a quality job of entertaining the kids and the pool grille serves good food with good service. The lighted clay tennis courts are nice, although there is an added expense. They also have a nice fitness center, beautiful golf courses (didn't use), and a free shuttle to the Aventura Mall across the street along with their private beach club 10 minutes away. Their beach club was okay but the beach itself isn't the greatest... a lot of seaweed was a nuisance with many shells on the ocean floor leaving your feet a little sore... but nature is nature.

All in all... the Turnberry is a nice family resort, especially when you consider that family resorts in general are lacking in the Miami Beach area. But careful... the value of your stay depends on how much you pay per night. We visited their property when rates were $365/night... when the rates increased as Xmas approached to $600-$700/night, it wouldn't be considered such a good value anymore. But it was okay... we skipped town for Orlando when Turnberry's turned up its rates.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Bob_Terp_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this property for a family vacation. After reading some of the reviews, I was a bit skeptical. However, we had a very positive experience. We were very well taken care of, and the following people will make your experience that much more special. Stephanie is one of the front desk managers and is wonderful. Simone is one of the concierges and she is fantastic. Very knowledgeable and incredibly helpful and attentive. Ashley is at the big pool, and she is all over it... she will make sure you have chairs and is a total love. Wendy is at the Cascata Grill and will greet you each morning by name! She is a real sweetheart and will make sure you get exactly what you need. Over-all, the entire staff is very friendly and accomodating. The property is huge, so getting to know some of the staff is helpful. Enjoy your stay at this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jasmine building and the rooms were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just came back from a 4 day stay at Turnberry and it was wonderful in every way. The property is gorgeous and the room I stayed in (overlooking the golf course) was spacious and well appointed. The spa was great and the exercise facility full of new machines and they even offer spin classes. I ate in the lobby bar one night, at the breakfast buffet another day and at the pool several times and all of these experiences were delicious! My children loved the pool with the water slide and the lazy river. Overall, a wonderful place to stay. An oasis in the middle of hectic Aventura!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoastMomNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Turnberry Isle. We are very proud of our golf courses and amenities and are happy to hear you were able to enjoy all that we offer. Please come back again and visit with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Non-hotel "members" have priority over hotel guests with respect to golf tee times, ocean club access, and pool chairs. Car valet services and check-in procedures are dysfunctional. The golf club runs tournaments for non-hotel "members" while hotel guests can't get tee times. After you drive to the ocean club you learn that the lot is full with non-hotel "members" and the proposed solution is to return to the hotel from whence you came to take the shuttle. I don't think so.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank LarryBiondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Outstanding golf course, nice pools and elegant/large rooms. This hotel is very convenient for habitués. Relax! The spa is really good. The hotel restaurants are nice and continental breakfast is wonderful. There's plenty of things to do around and the Aventura Mall can be reached by foot! But one should consider renting a car... It's Miami afterall. All considered, we felt at home. The hotel staff was nice and polite.

Room Tip: I love the golf view rooms. Jasmine building is new and far from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassiodnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

In our yearly desperate search for a decent golf resort in Florida, we stayed at the Turnberry Isle. My wife wants to stay at a luxurious hotel and I want to play a good golf course. We have been disappointed at the Breakers, Ritz Carlton Key Biscayne, Bay Hill, and Ritz Carlton Naples in the past.

In terms of the hotel, Turnberry Isle is only better than Bay Hill. The room was plain and the service was the worst compared to the other resorts. Either they are understaffed or under-trained, we felt that we were always waiting to be serviced.

We were pleasantly surprised by the two golf courses, especially the Soffer course. The courses were in excellent condition. The greens were rather slow, but otherwise very nice. The layout was typical for a Florida course, with water everywhere and many bunkers. We were able to play in less than 3 hours in the afternoon, and less than 4 hours in the morning.

The buffet breakfast at the Cascata Grille was decent, and the lunch was OK. We've been disappointed with resort meals in the past, so we drove to Miami for dinner.

Overall, our experience was positive (mainly due to the golf courses) and we may go back. But we will probably try the new Doral (after Trump finishes his renovations) and Streamsong (after the new lodge is built) first.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nyoperafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

On checking in we were told that because we had booked for 3 weeks at the hotel, they would try and give us a complimentary upgrade after a few days.
After a few days, the manager denied he had said this.
Then our credit card was constantly getting charged each day although we had fully paid the room and they still had 17k US blocked on my card.
It was impossible to get a manager to sort out this problem.
The room cleaning was bad. We complained and nothing improved. Room service is slow and all waiters look at you waiting for tips. If you don't have change, they look at you as if you have done something wrong.
Bernardo the front office manager is a pleasant person, but does nothing that he promises.
The facilities here are excellent. It could easily be 5 star. It's clear that there is a big management and operational problem at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoriavladik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aventura
1.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Aventura Mall
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Miami Aventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
1.9 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Aventura Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 W Country Club Dr, Aventura, FL 33180-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range: $220 - $859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Turnberry Isle Miami is a tropical oasis with a culture of authenticity, spirited service, and enriching experiences. During your stay discover why we have been named one of the "World's Best Resorts" by Travel + Leisure Magazine. Explore 36-holes of championship golf and the elite Canas Tennis center. Relax by the Cascata Pool or lounge at the Laguna Pool and journey down the 1,600-foot Lazy River. Rejuvenate at the Wellness Spa and Fitness Center, a Forbes Four-Star rated experience. Let your palette celebrate award-winning signature chef Michael Mina at BOURBON STEAK and the American-inspired CORSAIR kitchen & bar featuring lighter comfort food. Shop the neighboring Aventura Mall or access the beach via the resort's complimentary shuttle. An Autograph Collection Hotel, Turnberry Isle Miami is a Forbes Travel Guide recommended hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing