We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Great Resort...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$75 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Certificate of Excellence
Wash DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Resort...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just returned home from spending Thanksgiving weekend at the resort. Based upon some of the unkind reviews on TripAdvisor I was not sure what to expect. I am sure glad we ignored them and visited.

We bought the golf/spa couples package and were pleased with everything. We played golf for two days and did spa for two days. The courses where excellent as was all of the staff we encountered on the course. The spa personnel were very courteous, very talented and seemed genuinely interested in their clients well being.

We also did a few group tennis lessons at the tennis club. Gabriel is an excellent tennis teacher (just meeting the guy is worth the walk to the facility) and exemplifies everything that is Turnberry Isle. We had great fun, got some good pointers, met new people and got a good workout to boot.

While the resort could use some updating (relatively minor) this fact was more than compensated for by the staff. I am contemplating calling the management to ask them what they put in the water or make the employees eat that has them in such an excellent mood.

We stayed in stayed in the Jasmine building and will definitely come back for another long weekend in the not too distant future. Five Stars...well done!

Room Tip: premium golf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCTravelerWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    378
    132
    61
    55
See reviews for
524
376
41
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group of 6 on a 3 night golf package, 4 rounds in 3 nights. Very disappointed in the amount of our time they decided to waste. First night they were overbooked and they shuttled us down to Fontainebleu, about a 40 minute trip to South Beach. They comped us that night (or so we have been told but I have yet to receive the credit so writing this review may not help that!) but the amount of time waiting was ridiculous. Waiting for someone to explain the situation. Waiting for someone to get the shuttle. Waiting for someone to explain when we would get our rooms the next day and dodge the question because they had no idea. Waiting at the new hotel for a very slow checkin. Waking up earlier than we wanted to catch shuttle back to golf. Repacking our bags. Waiting the next morning when we arrived only to be told rooms weren't ready. Waiting the next day after our round of golf to be told that checkin was 4:00 and our rooms wouldn't be ready despite the fact our checkin was yesterday. Waiting at 4:00 when all the rooms still weren't ready.

I look forward to management's response (counter staff couldn't give a good one and manager was consistently not available). First, no hotel should overbook. Second, in an overbooked situation why would you bump prepaid rates for which the hotel has zero no-show risk? Third, when you do overbook you should jump through hoops to try to make it up. This is particularly disappointing as we are repeat visitors, and as recently as two months ago my wife had stayed there, complimented the stay to the manager, who had supposedly taken our group's name and said we would be well taken care of. I don't imagine this is what she had in mind.

All the other amenities seem excellent. Great rooms, golf courses in very nice shape.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Turnberry Isle Miami with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and is an invaluable tool for us to ensure that we are doing everything possible to satisfy the needs of our guests.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with overbooking and the challenges you faced because of our walk situation. I would like to look into this in further detail. I have sent you a message privately with hopes that we can connect and discuss your experience.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

It's a magnificent 2 course golf resort and they have 2 swimming pools! Located across the street from the Aventura Mall and only 15 minutes from Bal Harbour Shops. The resort offers a shuttle to the Aventura mall & the beach! The rooms and bathrooms are large and equipped with new flat screen TVs including Satellite service. The staff make this resort a truly pleasurable vacation. We would like to highlight a few of the best, note that all staff interactions were excellent: The Golf Pro Hiro Suzuki gave us the best golf lessons and tips that improved our game tremendously. We strongly suggest taking a lesson with him! He is the epitome of an extraordinary golf pro. The waitresses, Bridgitte and Lauren, at the Cascada during the breakfast buffet were professional, polite and definitely exceeded all our expectations. The "Best" steak house in Miami, "Bourbon Steak", is located on the premises (our server Victor made it a most enjoyable experience - Ask for him when you go) The parking lot attendant Julio was courteous, quick and efficient. Thanks for a great vacation! We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveOfTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I travel for a living and have had the great pleasure of staying in many of the best resorts in the nation. This one has all of the ability to be great but unfortunately it is run like a two but bed and breakfast that just opened yesterday. The staff that are helpful are grossly outnumbered against a guest list that puts the hotel at capacity. Poolside, I ordered lunch and a drink with a friend, 2 hours later her food showed up it no drinks. There was one poor server in charge of an indoor/outdoor patio as well as the pool area with a sold out hotel! I tend to be forgiving but there was nothing resort about the service one receives here.

There are great conference facilities here but again the conference planners and staff fall short. I watched VIPs at my conference get turned away to other nearby hotels that were not this caliber- these were VIPS! In all honesty these VIPs probably got better service at the courtyard marriott than this place.

All of this is to say is that this could be a great place but it isn't. I would never choose to come back to stay for pleasure not would I ever bring a large conference here. My experience with the service was very much amateur hour. It is a shame but this hotel does not live up to the Marriott standard.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seasonedtravelor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Fantastic! My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with my baby daughter. The service is impeccable, our room (1 bedroom) was huge and astonishing with a great golf course view. Breakfast is very good, but expensive. And the location is perfect for shopping, as it is right in front of the Aventura Mall. They also have a beach structure for guests use, which have a pool, bathrooms and all the support you need.
Would recommend it for sure!

Room Tip: Get a room from the "3rd" building, for great gold course views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guito_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort! Large complex spread out among different buildings with nicely manicured walkways.

Rooms are large and bathrooms match in size. Top notch restaurant on premises for dinner. The other restaurant for breakfast or lunch can be rather busy and crowded if you show up a bit later or without a reservation.

Beautiful lobby with a rather popular bar for the evenings with plenty of sofas and chairs to relax in. Overall a very nice hotel and part of the Marriott chain now.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank onaplaneagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Turnberry Resorts was excellent, it has everything you need all in one location. Is next to Aventura Mall which is one of the best Malls in Miami. The service is great the staff makes you feel welcome, and you can feel the good atmosphere of the hotel as soon as walk into the resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aventura
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Aventura Mall
1.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
1.8 mi away
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Be...
#1 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Property: Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Turnberry Isle Miami is a tropical oasis with a culture of authenticity, spirited service, and enriching experiences. During your stay discover why we have been named one of the "World's Best Resorts" by Travel + Leisure Magazine. Explore 36-holes of championship golf and the elite Cañas Tennis center. Relax by the Cascata Pool or lounge at the Laguna Pool and journey down the 1,600-foot Lazy River. Rejuvenate at the Wellness Spa and Fitness Center, a Forbes Four-Star rated experience. Let your palette celebrate award-winning signature chef Michael Mina at BOURBON STEAK and the American-inspired CORSAIR kitchen & bar featuring lighter comfort food. Shop the neighboring Aventura Mall or access the beach via the resort's complimentary shuttle. An Autograph Collection Hotel, Turnberry Isle Miami is a Forbes Travel Guide recommended hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing