We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel - Not kept up.... Basic Maintenance and it is 5 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Not kept up.... Basic Maintenance and it is 5 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel as a whole is great, we really enjoyed it, but for the price, and reputation they really need to keep up with basic maintenance. Having paint peel on the pool is unacceptable. Having puddles of water hours after rain, with "watch out for water" signs is not acceptable, all they would have had to do was use a squeegee. These are basics for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay in August. We are committed to the cleanliness and routine maintenance of Turnberry Isle Miami. Please rest assured a number of improvements are being made around the property in our continued commitment to deliver a world-class experience to our guests. We appreciate and value your comments.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    399
    144
    66
    57
See reviews for
571
394
45
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We are a family of 4 adults who have just returned from a stay at The Turnberry. We viewed the website before booking and to be honest, what we saw & experienced was nothing like we were expecting. To start with, the valet parking was ridiculous. There were ample parking spaces, but we were not allowed to park our own vehicle. The 2 rooms we were given in Orchid were spacious but very dated with a definite smell of damp. They bore no resemblance at all to any of the pictures on the website. To be perfectly honest, none of us wished to stay any longer than necessary in the rooms- they were too depressing. We actually couldn't wait to check out.
On a plus side, the Cascata Grill was very nice where a good buffet breakfast was served.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sara30003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn of your experience and have sent you a private message so we may discuss further.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel weekly across the world, spending more than 150 nights a year in hotels across the globe, so I have a pretty good idea of what makes a good or bad hotel.

And this place is a fabulous hotel property. Location is perfect, rooms are great, public areas nice, and the pool areas, with a little more loving care – perfect. So I feel its a real shame that all this potential is let down by very poor service across almost every part of the hotel. Check-in was a nightmare, and all the rooms we had booked 6-months before we arrived were not available and it took us more than half an hour to sort out the rooms, and we still didn't get what we had booked.

There were a few minor issues in the rooms, Tvs not working, light bulbs out, etc – but nothing particularly serious – but housekeeping was totally sporadic, sometimes not happening till late in the day and little things, like body wash not being replaced, or very poor quality towels, etc, really irritated. Also, why is there no turn down and free water? Even a 3-star Holiday Inn manages to get this right. And this adds to the feel that the management are trying to Nickel and Dime guests at every turn and not put the cash back into the hotel.

Pool staff were friendly, but stayed in their towel hut (which were often ripped and dirty, like the umbrellas and sun lounger mattresses) and not servicing guests – and bar staff were impossible to find anywhere.

When we pulled up, the 5 bell-staff were all distracted by a female guest, and we spent 20 mins waiting for attention. And don't get me started on the ridiculous valet parking issue, which simply offends. The concierge was next to hopeless and the Bar Staff, grumpy and uninterested. I know we were there in the off-season – but that’s still no excuse.

Its almost criminal that such a great physical property has such appalling service. If they sorted this out this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
As a seasoned traveler who stays at hotels across the globe, your feedback is valuable. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to learn that it did not meet expectations. Please rest assured that we are committed to service excellence and are immediately addressing your comments with our team. Additionally, we are in the process of installing new flat screen TVs in our guest rooms this week and have ordered brand new umbrellas and plush covers for our pool lounge chairs. In hopes we may discuss and further learn from your experience, we have sent you a private message.

Regards,

James Paul
Director of Quality & Training
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arrival was outstanding. As my wife and I arrived and turned over our keys to the valet, each of the 5 employees I encountered on the way to the desk welcomed us by our name... made us feel special and welcomed. We had a king room with sitting area in Jasmine. The room was large, clean and fresh. Bath was also large, clean and fresh. Dinner in the Cacita (?) was very good... try the scallops; perfectly prepared. Departure after two nights was as spectacular as the arrival. Bell staff on the mark and car in synch with our departure. During the stay ALL employees we encountered spoke, smiled and made eye contact. Great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inthekeysfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
712 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had the opportunity to get a Swedish massage and loved it. Gazelle did a wonderful job. The service and professionalism from entering the spa to leaving was perfect. The hotel is great as well. Attended meetings and the food and beverage were wonderful. Did not have an opportunity to play golf but the course looked wonderful. A must stay if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Second time in this hotel. This time 8 great days and nights. In all areas we enjoyed the service. Thank you very much for the great service. Special thanks to Jose Mondelus. He made us always feeling coming home. We are really looking forward coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTheklaSvenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for choosing to stay again at Turnberry Isle Miami. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience and are equally delighted to learn that our service professionals helped make your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've been to this hotel many times, but unfortunately we're not going back. At this time there was no chair or towel available at the pool! SO CROWDED! There was no tubes for the lazy river. SUPER loud music! Pool service terrible! Food pricey and bad quality! Valet took 15 minutes to bring us the car.
SPA is old and outdated! The only good point was the room, huge bathroom, beautiful view. Unfortunately I can not recommend the hotel. Bad experience!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn of your experience and have sent you a private message in hopes we may connect.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aventura
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Aventura Mall
1.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Miami Aventura Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
4.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Property: Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Turnberry Isle Miami is a tropical oasis with a culture of authenticity, spirited service, and enriching experiences. During your stay discover why we have been named one of the "World's Best Resorts" by Travel + Leisure Magazine. Explore 36-holes of championship golf and the elite Cañas Tennis center. Relax by the Cascata Pool or lounge at the Laguna Pool and journey down the 1,600-foot Lazy River. Rejuvenate at the Wellness Spa and Fitness Center, a Forbes Four-Star rated experience. Let your palette celebrate award-winning signature chef Michael Mina at BOURBON STEAK and the American-inspired CORSAIR kitchen & bar featuring lighter comfort food. Shop the neighboring Aventura Mall or access the beach via the resort's complimentary shuttle. An Autograph Collection Hotel, Turnberry Isle Miami is a Forbes Travel Guide recommended hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing