We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Resort Property !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Aventura
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort Property !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 nights on a business pleasure trip. The suite was very nice with great views of the golf course. The room was bright and clean and service was good. First stay in an Autograph collection hotel, it was better than a JW Marriott and just bellow a Ritz Carlton in our opinion as far service goes. The breakfast buffet was over the top and excellent fresh fruit. Also had incredible dinner at Bourban Steak in hotel. It is close enough to South Beach for a visit, but far nicer and more peace and quiet.The entire Aventura area is really nice and overall find this to be a great place to stay off the beach in south Florida.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dbenamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    418
    153
    69
    57
See reviews for
596
428
46
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for an extended weekend getaway. The grounds are beautiful and the golf course was great fun for my 5 year old. The water slide and lazy river also are great for kids. The shuttle to Aventura mall and the beach was very convenient. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel over half a dozen times in recent years. It deteriorated considerably, so much so that after our last stay in January we were doubtful about returning. We need not have been. A new broom has swept clean and made significant improvements in all areas, taking on board the criticisms we, others on this site and fellow guests at the hotel, made.

Huge strides have been made in the standard, efficiency and timeliness of housekeeping, which had previously been quite appalling.

There is efficient and very friendly daily poolside food and beverage service at the Laguna pool, where towels are now laid out on the loungers each morning.

Every member of staff greeted us, often by name, each time we met anywhere on the property.

The Service in the Cascata Grille, has improved noticeably, although the choice of dishes at breakfast, limited and uninspiring, has not changed since our first visit.

Live evening musical entertainment has been introduced in the lounge.

Upon arrival we discovered our reservation had been cancelled. Although we were never provided with an explanation, the situation was handled very well by the staff, especially Clark. We were moved to our room of choice two days later and a selection of drinks and fruit appeared in our room the following day. Our request for a 4pm check out was also granted by Clark on our final day.

All in all it was highly encouraging to see such an improvement in so short a time. We return in October.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We value our repeat guests and are happy to learn that your most recent visit to Turnberry Isle Miami exceeded your expectations. Our team is committed to service excellence, while our property continually undergoes improvements to keep the resort feeling new. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We're not golfers but had a great time. Loved the lazy river pool and waterslide. We took the shuttle to the beach club; it worked really well, no standing around waiting; had a fun time jumping waves in the Atlantic. Great dinner at Bourbon Steak. Well kept-up hotel built around a huge Banyan tree. Super-nice room and staff. Beautiful spa. Make sure to do the Chef's Garden tour -- interesting to see what they grow on premises, watch the cooking demo's and taste the results!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkfam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Staff very attentive at registration, checkout, directions, etc. Good location for nearby shopping with free shuttle both ways. The bedroom is large, a little "long in the tooth" (paint, furnishings, etc.), but kept vey clean. The A/C system was somewhat noisy for a bedroom. The premier restaurant, Bourbon Steak, had very good seafood but prices for the food and alcoholic drinks were on the high side, e.g. $ 15 mixed drinks, and $ 20 glasses of wine. Service at the restaurant was excellent. The Stoffer golf course is very enjoyable and challenging, whatever handicap level you might be. The overall attitude of the staff was excellent and very friendly. I would return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly across from the elevator. End rooms on each floor are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Dan,

We are happy to learn you enjoyed your recent stay and our attentive service. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago when it was under the Fairmont name and enjoyed our stay. We came back recently and did not notice any difference in service. Not sure what some of the other reviews were talking about. Everybody from the front desk, bell-hops, servers and pool staff were top notch - and great with the kids. Highly recommended for a relaxing weekend especially coming from the cold NE. Try the mojito's at the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john03starks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Turnberry while I attended a meeting at the hotel. Not a bad hotel, but bring money as it is very pricey. Between the time we booked the hotel and our arrival the Turnberry became part of the Marriott Autograph Collection. I think this may have lead them to believe they could increase prices. We had a problem booking the room originally as since the Marriott takeover I think they tried to change the rules. We finally were able to book for our extra nights at the convention rate but originally they were going to make us change rooms which is ridiculous.

The hotel is not on the beach but they have a shuttle that will take you to their beach club or to the Aventura Mall which is just across the street. The shuttle runs frequently and the drivers are very friendly. The beach club is nice. We ate lunch there one afternoon and enjoyed it.

There is a nice jogging/walking/biking trail that circles the entire property it is over 2 miles around I believe. It is a nice walk.

If you are planning a meeting at this location beware of all the extra costs. They do not negotiate. Everything is extra. They will nickel and dime you or maybe I should say $500 and $1000 you for everything.

Room Tip: Rooms facing golf course or pools are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aventura
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Aventura Mall
1.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Miami Aventura Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
4.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Property: Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Turnberry Isle Miami is a tropical oasis with a culture of authenticity, spirited service, and enriching experiences. During your stay discover why we have been named one of the "World's Best Resorts" by Travel + Leisure Magazine. Explore 36-holes of championship golf and the elite Cañas Tennis center. Relax by the Cascata Pool or lounge at the Laguna Pool and journey down the 1,600-foot Lazy River. Rejuvenate at the Wellness Spa and Fitness Center, a Forbes Four-Star rated experience. Let your palette celebrate award-winning signature chef Michael Mina at BOURBON STEAK and the American-inspired CORSAIR kitchen & bar featuring lighter comfort food. Shop the neighboring Aventura Mall or access the beach via the resort's complimentary shuttle. An Autograph Collection Hotel, Turnberry Isle Miami is a Forbes Travel Guide recommended hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing