We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property but service was lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent property but service was lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is clearly a beautiful resort with excellent golf, tennis, beach, pools and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and very luxurious. You will be spoiled by the bathrooms and dressing area. You will not be sorry that you stayed.

My one comment is that for a resort of this caliber the service was no where near where it should be which diminishes the overall experience. My room's air conditioner ran when the heat was turned on. The room would not get above 66 degrees. It took quite a while for an engineer to come and fix this. The valet service personnel ignore the patrons making it take inordinately long to get your car. The wait staff in the breakfast restaurant are plentiful but not very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello Todd,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. While we are happy to learn you enjoyed the property and felt spoiled by your guest room bathrooms, we are also disappointed that service did not live up to expectations. Please know we are committed to service excellence and have sent you a private message in hopes to have the opportunity to speak with you further so we may learn from your experience.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    391
    141
    64
    56
See reviews for
558
383
43
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely resort tucked behind the Aventura Mall. Rooms were quiet, large, and well equipped except for lousy lighting. (They will bring in a floor lamp for you if you ask). Nice work desk. Large bathroom. Two pretty pool areas, one for families, one for adults. Nice golf courses with tight fairways. Service-oriented staff. Good lunches in the Cascata Grill. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that either looks over the golf course or the pool. Ask if it has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaven9867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent 4 day stay at Turnberry. Room was very nice with a great bathroom. The two golf courses were outstanding, both in excellent condidtion. Food options at the hotel were limited but its Miami so there were plenty of places to go off campus. Staff very accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello Duncan,

Glad we could please during your recent family getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was leery of steering away from our Ritz Carlton experiences to try the Turnberry Isle. It was acquired by Marriot so why not? Well, the hotel is very pretty, the cascata pool is one of the prettiest I've been to and Bourbon Steak was well worth it! However, the overall service was ok (except for that at Bourbon which was stellar). What really rankles is the fact that every item purchased at the hotel receives an 18% gratuity charge, even the breakfast buffet, even the coffee I pour myself in the lounge! Service for food in every restaurant (once again, excluding Bourbon) was as slow as molasses. We stayed in Orchid and were woken every morning by 6 as the staff attending the golf course had no regard for sleeping guest directly over their heads.

The last of my complaints was to find new charges added to our bill as apparently my niece and nephew weren't afforded the free buffet breakfast that our room stated we had (The "Best of" rate which includes free breakfast, valet parking and a $50 room credit) it was only for 2 people even though we called and were told this was for everyone in room. After 3 phone calls and one e-mail to inquire of these extra charges, I was finally told what they were.
Will stick with the Ritz next time as no one can compare when it comes to service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristyG664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We (family of 4) recently travelled to this property for a very quick weekend getaway. We had a very nice time overall. The resort is listed as 4 diamond which is probably a bit generous, nevertheless it was worth the visit. I have summarized my pros and cons below:

PRO's
- Fantastic property and conveniently located between MIA and FLL.
- Nice pool area (Laguna) with a water slide and lazy river that my kids loved.
- Friendly staff overall, especially at the pool and in the restaurants.
- Very nice restaurants with solid menu choices.
- Large guestrooms, efficient valet and bell desks.

CON's
- The check in process made a terrible first impression. We booked an early check in and when we arrived were told it would be less than 60 minutes for the room which was fair. We then did not hear from the front desk for 3 hours, except when I checked with them. Finally checked in 3.25 hours later.
- The rooms in the Orchid block are outdated. I saw this in other reviews and so I requested a room in the Jasmine block when I booked. They said they would try but I ended up in the Orchid block nonetheless. It needs a refresh.
- Everything comes with an automatic 18% gratuity. I realize that this is more the norm now, but it is frustrating when you pay it on each purchase.

All this said, it is a good resort and was a fun weekend for our family. It has probably lost a step since converting from the higher end Fairmont to a Marriott chain. It is still worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the Jasmin block of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapleleafer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Training & Quality at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are glad you chose Turnberry Isle Miami for your family weekend getaway, and greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. The only way we will continue to learn and grow is through valuable feedback like the review you provided us. Please know we have already addressed your concerns with our team. Expect great improvement next time you visit as we are committed to continually enhancing our service and experiences around the resort.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
455 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here for over a week recently while at a meeting (so really was able to profit from the various amenities for a couple of days) and had a great stay. Apart from the organized functions, I went to the beach club for a morning and had a nice relaxing time. The rooms are top notch (I had a small balcony and view of the golf course), the grounds beautiful and the food at the Bourbon Steak particularly good (albeit very pricey). Service could have been just a tad more attentive given the perceived level of luxury. The rooms are not really fitted out for business (lack of enough plugs, desks not very comfortable) but you shouldn't really be here on business anyway :) !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

To understand the awesomeness of this place, one must first understand a few key details. The first is that if you're not from Florida or are a regular vacationer there, then you are not aware of the utter lack of any recognizable building code. To wit, over the years, there have been any number of commercial and residential developments right up to this property. It's Florida, that's how they do it there. Second, the property is not on the beach. There is a convenient and brief shuttle, and the beach at the hotel's beach club there is perfectly fine, quite enjoyable. Now, on with the review.

This property is absolutely fabulous. Whether the main buildings, outdoor areas, rooms, spa, or 2 18 hole resort golf courses, you just can't miss. It is a natural for corporate events, simply top notch. It's also a great romantic destination for couples as well. Everything is spotless, well-appointed, and luxurious. It's a 20 minute jump down to South Beach if you take the freeway (do NOT take the local roads unless you have plenty of time on your hands), and not much further to MIA. I first started coming in 1995, and have returned 8-10 times. Over the years, they have steadily stayed fresh and relevant.

Can't say enough about Turnberry Isle!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Training & Quality at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We enjoy hearing from our repeat guests and are especially happy to learn when we exceed expectations time and again. Thank you for your glowing review and for continuously selecting Turnberry Isle Miami. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another “awesome” stay.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aventura
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Aventura Mall
1.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Miami Aventura Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
2.0 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Be...
#1 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Property: Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Address: 19999 W Country Club Dr, Aventura, FL 33180-2401
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Turnberry Isle Miami is a tropical oasis with a culture of authenticity, spirited service, and enriching experiences. During your stay discover why we have been named one of the "World's Best Resorts" by Travel + Leisure Magazine. Explore 36-holes of championship golf and the elite Cañas Tennis center. Relax by the Cascata Pool or lounge at the Laguna Pool and journey down the 1,600-foot Lazy River. Rejuvenate at the Wellness Spa and Fitness Center, a Forbes Four-Star rated experience. Let your palette celebrate award-winning signature chef Michael Mina at BOURBON STEAK and the American-inspired CORSAIR kitchen & bar featuring lighter comfort food. Shop the neighboring Aventura Mall or access the beach via the resort's complimentary shuttle. An Autograph Collection Hotel, Turnberry Isle Miami is a Forbes Travel Guide recommended hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing