We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your bill !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Aventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent 6 nights there recently on a golf break and overall it was a good experience.

Our rooms were very nice but you must request to be in one of the wings that have been renovated - they are MUCH nicer than the older rooms, not that the website differentiates between them.

The food was a bit mixed, The best burger in the world, at Bourbon Steak Bar Burgers but then fairly ordinary breakfasts in the Cascata Grille and a somewhat limited lunch choice there too. Service generally poor in Cascata Grille with the very notable exception of Lauren !

The golf courses were both superb and the organisation surrounding them was likewise. Really impressive.

Now the big negative :all four of our bills were wrong, really very wrong, and the check out staff seemed quite incapable of getting it right. Our package included breakfast and airport transfers but most (but not all) breakfasts were charged as were the transfers. There were other errors also. It took 50 mins to sort it all out (during which time we heard several other customers querying their bills) and now today I have found an additional item on my credit card statement which has been incorrectly charged after check out. No doubt it will take forever to sort out !

Despite all the above there is nothing here that can't be fixed if they have the will. Let's hope they do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fowler2owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience at our resort. Our golf courses and the burgers at Bourbon Steak truly are exceptional. It is disappointing to learn however about the billing errors. We want to address this immediately and have sent you a private message so we may speak with you further.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Leaving a chilly Boston behind, spent the better part of a week at Turnberry, attending a conference. The hotel grounds are colorful and lush, the whole place has a tremendous atmosphere of tranquility. The staff, of whom there are many (I counted at least twenty expertly managing one medium sized outside lunch for the conferees) without exception were polite, friendly and almost absurdly helpful.
The hotel has been expertly designed to feel grand without being overwhelming, with gracious walkways between wings and the pools.
The hotel upgraded our room, very good size, two queen beds, sitting area, large bathroom, and views over the practice range for the golf. Beds were extremely comfortable, and the attention to detail was evident.
Not a golfer, so I enjoyed the views of the course without experiencing the golf facilities. I did use the tennis courts on several occasions, fairly priced and a terrific addition to the hotel.
The gym (and spa, I guess), was thoroughly modern, superbly equipped and spotlessly clean.
Dinner in one of the restaurants was excellent, although pricey. The hotel is close enough to route 1 and the coast road if seeking alternatives. Hotel is ideally situated for the Aventura Mall.
For a business trip or a short stay, a perfect location - I'm not sure there is enough in the surrounding area to hold one's attention for an extended stay, and the hotel is expensive enough to have second thoughts about that anyway.

On that basis, we would recommend the hotel to anybody

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, General Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review and for your recommendation. We are committed to excellence and are thrilled to learn that your experience at our luxury resort exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy warmer weather.

Regards,
The Management Team at Turnberry Isle Miami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I recently spent three nights at the Turnberry and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the minute you drive up and see the beautiful grounds to the fabulous rooms, it's a great experience. My room overlooked the golf course and had a nice balconey, and I had the good luck to be there during the full moon, which was beautiful.

My room had an oversized bathroom that had lovely marble and mosaic tiles, a deep soaking tub and a tv. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. I ordered room service using the door knob form for breakfast, and it was delivered right on time the next morning.

I ate in the restaurants and the food was delicious, although the service is slow.

The only real negative I found with the Turnberry is the difficulty of moving around with suitcases and baggage because of all of the steps in the property.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Now a part of the Marriott Autograph Collection, this Miami landmark hotel(actually in Aventura) is still elegant. Rooms have been kept updated although lighting leaves a bit to be desired. Well maintained and elegantly manicured landscaped grounds and a golfers paradise. Two pool areas with a wonderful "Lazy River" ride that wraps the Laguna pool with tubes to float on provided.Nice beach chairs provided and a Grille at the larger pool for OVERPRICED luncheon selections. If there is a downside...it's the pricing. Room rates are in line with comparable competition (read that as expensive). But you are nickled and dimed for BIG nickles and dimes at every turn. $30 a day for parking...can u believe it? And, the valet is the ONLY choice. Also in addition to the room rate, tax and a "resort fee" of $18 daily(mandatory)...but that includes VERY QUICK in-room hard wired and wireless internet. Breakfast buffet in the Cascata Grille was supreme...as well it should have been for $27 per person with an 18% gratuity added. No choice here. 18% for a buffet gratuity? Pricey! But on to the better things.... the place is pure luxury...the spa (though once again VERY pricey) is great as is the fitness area (bargain...no extra charge here!). Interior hallways are beginning to show their wear...but the rooms are up to date, clean, comfortably bedded and the baths are beautiful and well appointed. Bottom line....if you are looking for luxury...this hotel has your name on it. Not for the faint of heart bargain shopper! The Bourbon resturaunt was very upscale and a nice spot for dinner. WARNING- They are famous for (in addition to full menu items) their burgers- BUT they are ONLY available in the Lounge area....not the main resturaunt. Great if you want a light dinner...(heavy on the prices however- 2 EXCELLENT burgers - one with cheese, the other with bacon topping.... onion rings and "Duck Fat French Fries (nice presentation- 3 varieties) - 2 cokes, 2 coffees (best coffee in Miami by the way)....$75 with an 18% gratuity(not optional) included. Not exactly McDonalds! All in all....if you include the pricing surprises, it'd be a four star...but life is to short not to splurge once in a while...so make it 5 star! Oh...did I mention the 5:45 am hotel false fire alarm that screamed for nearly 20 minutes waking the entire place...with nothing but a lame "letter from Management" stuffed under the door at 7am which offered nothing but a tepid apology. That would NOT have been the case at a full service Marriott property! Free parking for the day would have been a nice peace offering.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOldTravelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Dick & Merle,

We are happy to learn you enjoyed your recent stay and that you indulged in the numerous world-class amenities offered at our luxurious resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We look forward to connecting with you further and have privately messaged you.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have nothing but praise for this hotel. I was there out of the main season so had none of the problems of overcrowding as other reviewers have had. From the very large room overlooking the golf courses, with two queen beds and the beautiful bathroom, to the pools, restaurants and golf courses, everything was so well appointed. A perfect location for golfers and their families as plenty to do for the non-golfers including a short free shuttle bus ride to the exclusive hotel beach club. The staff were so helpful and were very friendly. The concierge staff particularly were extremely attentive and knowledgable which made a change from the normal "not too bothered" attitude experienced at other hotel and resorts. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: A room in the Magnolia wing is a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captainoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Turnberry was a beautiful hotel. The room itself was shaped a little weird but was HUGE in size. The bathroom was also very big which is much nicer than being cramped somewhere. The pool area was very nice but also very crowded with tourist. The pool staff helped us find 2 chairs and even put our towels down for us. We were here on a romantic getaway and that was the only bad part. There were screaming kids everywhere and although we did get chairs it was in a shady area covered by trees because this was the only place we could find any space.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is difficult hotel to rate. The hotel itself is lovely, and the service is top notch for the most part. Our room was spacious with a gorgeous balcony overlooking a waterfall. The bed was comfortable. On the down side, the pool was extremely overcrowded and lunch service at the pool was painfully slow. Also - while the grounds were attractive - there were very limited places to walk or just relax. Valet parking was expensive at $30 a day, and there was no other parking option. The conference room we used was dark and unattractive. I've had the pleasure of staying at quite a few of the nation's best hotels, and for the price I'm not sure this one measures up.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ButterflyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We appreciate your honest feedback and are glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and spacious guest rooms. Please know we have addressed your comments with our pool team. Regarding valet parking, our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel we offer good value given our location and extensive amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aventura
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Aventura Mall
1.4 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Aventura Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#4 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,904 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Miami Aventura
1.6 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 W Country Club Dr, Aventura, FL 33180-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range: $257 - $848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away between Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Turnberry Isle Miami is a tropical oasis with a culture of authenticity, spirited service, and enriching experiences. During your stay discover why we have been named one of the "World's Best Resorts" by Travel + Leisure Magazine. Explore 36-holes of championship golf and the elite Canas Tennis center. Relax by the Cascata Pool or lounge at the Laguna Pool and journey down the 1,600-foot Lazy River. Rejuvenate at the Wellness Spa and Fitness Center, a Forbes Four-Star rated experience. Let your palette celebrate award-winning signature chef Michael Mina at BOURBON STEAK and the American-inspired CORSAIR kitchen & bar featuring lighter comfort food. Shop the neighboring Aventura Mall or access the beach via the resort's complimentary shuttle. An Autograph Collection Hotel, Turnberry Isle Miami is a Forbes Travel Guide recommended hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing