We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”

Singleton's Seafood Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Jacksonvelle Beach
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Kick back atmosphere. On the water. Great food. Relatively inexpensive. We go on a regular basis and take out of town friends there to eat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    253
    102
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NE Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went for lunch after finding out Safe Harbor is temporarily closed. Service was friendly, but extremely slow. Waited over 15min for a water and iced tea! Another 10min for our soup. Two ladies sat at the table next to us, and guess what... the got their drinks right away and got their food before we did! Wow! (They did have a different waitress, but that should not matter) We were there about 1 1/2 hours total time... for lunch! Food was just OK. Fries were not very hot. Used to enjoy coming here, but it appears that it is slipping badly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hanahwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“model ship display in adjoining room”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Singleton’s was featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives and has a well-earned reputation. This was the best fish meal we had during out entire week-long stay on Amelia. From Amelia go south on A1A off the island, past the state parks until you dead-end at the St. John’s ferry. Pay the $6 fee to get ferried across the river (5 minute ride) and Singleton’s is adjacent to the ferry entrance on the Jacksonville side in the little 400-year old town of Mayport. You can sit outdoors on the deck or inside where the floor isn’t level and look out at the passing marine life. Excellent seafood.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank berkeley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great 'dive'”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Seafood was great. Service was great also. Right on water. Would definitely recommend and would love to come back when I'm in this area in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carruths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“True Dive”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want tablecloths and silver stop right here. But if you like really fresh fish and an ice cold beer, read on. The atmosphere at Singletons is pure dive, but it works. I mean, you are at a commercial boat dock so it goes with the territory, right? I had the best fried shrimp I've ever had, and I have eaten shrimp around the world. My husband had the catch of the day (without even asking what it was) and loved it. If you are in the Jacksonville area it is worth the trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singleton's Seafood Shack also viewed

 

Been to Singleton's Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing