We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Singleton's Seafood Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is authentic "seafood shack" food and atmosphere. Not ritzy or glitzy, which is just the way it should be. Recommended highly for over 25 years to friends and visitors and no one has been disappointed. Do you like plywood floors/ceilings/walls with a great view of the shrimping docks? This is for you, also! Check out (the late) Capt. Ray's wooden model boats, all hand made!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winfirst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    249
    102
    37
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner,not really sure when it was.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We did enjoy there, food was great, we went with another couple who took us there...they always eat there and it was a nice treat for us.

Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended at all. It was great but not anymore.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Sadly we won't be back. They could probably save the whole world just by reducing the styrofoam usage. Even paper would have less of an environmental impact! Also the food used to be better. And the owner was rude. I've been there so many times over the years, but I guess the 'fame' got the best of the high-and-mighty. the service was ok. nothing to write home about, and the food really was bland. black beans and rice, basically overcooked rice and undercooked beans with no flavor. we got the 3 way platter and it was mostly clam strips with shrimp (split up the back but not cleaned which is just nasty, who wants fried poop with their food???) and overcooked mahi. We were two adults, and two kids, only one of us got a soda, and our bill was $50. AND we split the platter. The owner was incredibly rude when we 'jokingly' commented about the styrofoam, and got quite defensive and basically said well we've done it this way for 45 years and that's what makes us who we are. Well, if that's who they are, I don't want any part of it. He was obnoxious, and walked away while we were talking to him. No thank you!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best to dine outside”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very good food at reasonable prices (for a vacation budget). Don't go looking for glamorous surroundings; this is one of the last authentic seafood shacks. They are only about the food!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rich20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“totally relaxed setting for the best seafood!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I love this place! I love that it hasn't changed in the nearly 30 years I've been eating there!
You'll sit at a picinic table with a roll of papertowels and eat off paper plates. Watch the shrimp boats going down the river and know that the food is directly out of the sea that morning and on to your plate that afternoon. Its simple, relaxed, fun and the BEST seafood around by far!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSB621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singleton's Seafood Shack also viewed

 

Been to Singleton's Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing