We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back every time I'm in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of M Shack

M Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will be back every time I'm in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I recently was in the area visiting family. They took me to M Shack and WOW!! I am so glad they did!! I wanted to try a bunch of things on the menu so I got the M Burger, Hot Diggity Dog, Italian Sausage Sandwich, and Sweet Potato Tots. The M Burger, with all it's extras and shack sauce was delish!! I've had some great chili cheese dogs in my life and the Hot Diggity Dog is definitely up there with the best of them!! And if you like an awesome sausage and peppers sandwich you HAVE to try the Italian Sausage Sandwich - I wish I had gotten one to go!! The Sweet Potato Tots, which you must try dipped in the shack sauce, were like little pieces of candy potato heaven in my mouth. Needless to say I really loved everything I got, which was A LOT of food, but it was just so good I couldn't stop eating!! I also managed to end my dinner with a shake which was awesome, nice and thick. I will definitely be going here every time I'm in town and you guys in the area are so lucky to have the M Shack!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ballerina484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    50
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

They have great burgers and grill cheese. They decided to switch up the menu and it got better. The fish sandwich is out of this world. Don't forget to get fries with that. The milkshakes they have are the best in town by far

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hebrew10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A burger place a vegetarian can love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The MShack veggie burger is the best I have ever had! House-made, no frozen patty here. Sweet potato tots are outstanding and the shakes are so delicious! We head there as a family and always bring our out-of-town guests. The meat-eaters in the family love the taste and size of the burger. It is not overdone as most of the ridiculous oversized entrees are at most restaurants. A definite fun, casual place to get an amazing bite to eat!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VizioVirtu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great burgers and shakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Can't understand the negative comments. The burgers are tasty and fresh. I had the Medurable - burger topped with a delicious foie gras and carmelized onions- my husband had the Sunrise burger. Both were outstanding. On another occasion we had the sausage burger and a double bacon-cheeseburger. Also outstanding. The shakes are flavorful. We will keep going back anytime we are in the mood for a good burger.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goldi130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Burger - In the Building”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stopped by M Shack in Atlantic Beach, Florida for a burger. Thought it was fast food. Turned out to be very slow food, very cold service, and prices that are puzzling for very mediocre food. This joint is billed as gourmet burgers. What you get is gourmet prices and burgers that really are no challenge to McD's. The French Fries are billed as special. The bill was special. The fries were not. The delivered our order after30 minutes. Problem was it was not our order. The got the problem worked out after another 10. Forty minutes for a burger?

The place has a open presentation style kitchen. I saw something in that kitchen I will long remember. A young woman with long blond hair, bent over, flipped her hair forward and tied it into a pony tail. The problem was she did this in the open kitchen with here latex (food handling) gloves on. Having some familiarity with sanitation procedures, that move would have gotten the kitchen closed had a health department official been present.

Did I mention that the place is extremely loud. Lots of children in arms.

Bottom line - "Don't Come Back Here Yankee!" And if you do, bring lots of cash.

Just another disappointing meal on the Beaches of Jacksonville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyBoy60805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Shack also viewed

 
Atlantic Beach, FL
Atlantic Beach, FL
 

Been to M Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing