We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach visit to Jacksonville with Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mayport Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Hotel room was clean which is our main criteria when traveling. The King suite was good for us as our two kids slept on the pull out sofa bed. We had to go to the front desk to get the linens for it though, and there were only 2 towels in the bathroom so we got extras at the same time. The bathroom was a bit of a let down. There was no exhaust fan and some tiles were missing and some were loose. There was no shampoo either. The bed was comfortable, flat screen TV, fridge, micro, coffee pot, and small table for sitting and writing desk for laptop also. The room was quiet and hotel location was good. The Hanna State park is just down the highway where you can park close to the beach. $3.00 per car to enter. Plan on eating breakfast out or take to your room as the sitting area is very small with only 4 tables. Basic Hotel fare.

Room Tip: Hotel says Non Smoking rooms available, but I could not smell smoke anywhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this location and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the hotel was only a few minutes away from the beach and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solari359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Pros: Clean, easy access to highway; pretty good breakfast choices
Cons: Pool was closed (one of our reasons for choosing this location); marginal internet.

Let's face it: Best Westerns are independently owned and operated, so their quality will vary. The staff here was friendly and helpful, but the accommodations were a tad disappointing. The internet was sketchy and we were especially disappointed that the pool was closed during our stay and were offered no rebate or other options. The AC was noisy and hard to regulate at night, but this is not unusual in older units.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentuckySunLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. I apologize for the pool being out of service. It was necessary to close the pool for a day while equipment repairs were preformed. We've also refreshed our internet equipment to clear issues from several power surges. If you will be returning to our area we would love to extend a special offer to you so please let us know.

Sincerely,

Thomas Huss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had to go to the Mayo Clinic and stayed here based on some other reviews. The reviews were right on. The staff is excellent and goes way out of their way to help you, room is very clean, the price is low and the location great. The AC is a little loud for me but usually is in most rooms I've stayed.

Room Tip: I like upstairs--quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balinabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night after driving 16 hours. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean. The price was very affordable. Free continental breakfast was a nice bonus. It was better than I expected.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just coming back from a 3 day stay with a large group (three rooms of family members) and the stay was great! The service was the best I have seen (all 3 shifts of service!). The hotel and rooms are clean and kepted up well. The breakfast is ok for "free breakfast " and saves you a little time and money. Would stay again, no question!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cqljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed on 2 separate occasions for 2 nights each because of appointments at the Mayo Clinic. This property is very well managed, clean, comfortable with more than adequate breakfast. Check-in and check-out was very easy and we were only a few easy miles from Mayo. We would stay there again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.1 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
761 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
853 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mayport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mayport Inn & Suites

Address: 2389 Mayport Rd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-2715 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayport Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: $102 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mayport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Atlantic Beach, Florida, one mile from the Atlantic Ocean. Naval Station Mayport is one mile north from our location and we are close to all Jacksonville Beaches as well as Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park. Area attractions include Jacksonville Beach Pier, Huguenot Park, Big and Little Talbot Islands, Kingsley Plantation, Amelia Island, Fort George, The Jacksonville Zoo, JaxPort Cruise Port, May port Fishing Village, Victory Casino Cruise, Huguenot Memorial Park, Fort Caroline National Park, Fernandina Beach, Dutton Island Preserve and Adventure Landing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Mayport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mayport Inn And Hotel Atlantic Beach
Best Western Atlantic Beach
Atlantic Beach Best Western
Best Western Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing