We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Review”

Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch Review”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Well as usually the food at Safe Harbor is great, the only thing I wish they would fix is the outside seating.........would be nice if it was screened in and they flies couldnt share my food.........

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    144
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Back to being a great seafood restaurant/fish market.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

New management sure makes a difference and Safe Harbor has had a complete turn around. The place is immaculately clean, has been re-done, the service is great and the food is hot, fresh and excellently prepared the way you want it. If you're looking for no-frills seafood, served on a porch with a view, this is the place! There's only a few tables indoors. Weekends and lunch/dinner hours are most crowded but it's never too long a wait. It's close to the Navy and Coast Guard bases so try to avoid their lunch times if you can. Prices are reasonable and the servings are generous. Most 'baskets' are under $14, some under $10. The restaurant is in Mayport so for an extra treat take a 'walk on' pedestrian ride roundtrip on the ferry for $1 each way. It's a bargain boat ride and you may see dolphins and all kinds of birds, ships, and great views of the riverfront. I've even seen sea turtles in the harbor near the piers. I never tire of this place and think you'll like it, too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruisevacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome shrimp!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Visting family in Jacksonville fl, they took us to this market/ restaurant. Seriously fresh seafood!! Right next door is the restaurant. Very relaxing and friendly atmosphere. The food was great and alot to chose from, all so good. The service was execellent and food ready quickly. It's a must if your in that area to stop and experience this unique place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Little Seafood Place”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We love this place!! You can select your own seafood and they will cook it for you for a fee or you can order off the menu. The view is not too shabby either. You can watch the boats come in from fishing trips and see some of the "Catch of the Day". You may even see some dolphins if you sit outside. You will definitely see pelicans they are everywhere. Best seafood we have ever eaten. If you are coming from Fernandina and you have kids, you have to ride the ferry over to Mayport to get to the seafood market. They will love it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good, No Frills Seafood on Water”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have frequented Singleton's Seafood on occasion. We decided to try Safe Harbor this time. We were expecting a line on Saturday night and we got it. Be prepared to order and then find one of the limited tables. It is "seat yourself" style. There is not many tables inside. Most of the seating is outside. The views of the harbor are great. However, if the Casino Cruise is docked, you will have some limited view. We caught a full parking lot due to the cruise timing. The food was great. We had grilled scallops, fried scallops, grilled shrimp, crab cake, steamed clams, and more. We will try it again in the future.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing