We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Jesup, Georgia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My family and I recently dined here on a trip to Jacksonville. Don't be fooled by the outside - it looks like only a seafood market - there is a restaurant in the back. You order under the sign at the back and they bring the food to you. There are a few tables inside, but more outside on the glassed in porch. We all had the fried shrimp. They were delicious! Nothing fancy, just good fried shrimp. We also bought some shrimp to bring home with us. The market is worth going to as well. They had lots of fish and shellfish. They also had lots of items that were prepared, but you cook at home. I wish I lived closer to this place. I would eat from here - either from the market or the restaurant every night.
A word of caution - they close at 6:00 pm, so go for lunch or early dinner. We got there about 5:00 and saw a cruise ship go by as a bonus :).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmaj_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    144
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous shrimp”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

You can't wrong with Safe Harbor. There is nothing fancy about the place, it's a seafood market that cooks good food. The Mayport shrimp are fresh, the smoked dip is great and sitting outside on the water just adds to the pleasure of a good meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OMG. Seafood gets no fresher!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

TA comes through again. We live in JAX and were looking for a new spot for lunch. This end of the road spot in Mayport was perfect. You order at the counter, right beside where they are selling fresh seafood that just came off the boats in the back. Dining is outside on St. John's river where it meets the Atlantic. We had NASA, group and steamed oysters and a couple of beers. $40 total. It's casual, scenic and food is very fresh!

A+

Helpful?
Thank hannamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you happen to be in Mayport, you really need to check out Safe Harbor . nothing fancy. Just great fresh seafood. Great Mayport shrimp, fantastic fish sandwiches. Don't forget to pick up some of that fresh shrimp before you leave.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seabilltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Seafood and Views!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant and seafood market for years and we are continually surprised at the freshness and friendliness of this unique jewel of a restaurant.
We had an early lunch the Friday after Thanksgiving and we ordered two plates and gumbo and were so impressed with the seasoning as well as it being cooked to perfection. The seafood gumbo was loaded with fresh fish and shell fish and seasoned exactly right!
The staff there are always so nice and very accommodating. We get fresh fish and are always given great info on what is fresh and how to store or transport it.
Also the setting is next to amazing with fishing boats and water views and yesterday I counted over 200 pelicans of all colors, shapes and sizes.
A real treat in so many ways.
One of the best of it's kind in the area. Not fancy just fun, appetizing and a Florida gem!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing