We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed in spa - Restaurant Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One Ocean Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dissapointed in spa - Restaurant Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The hotel is beatiful with a wonderful quinque decor.Went just for the day to relax in spa and have dinner so we did not stay in a room. There were four of us. Facials were great but all other spa traetments were just avaerage. Spa facility is very small with beatiful decor. We thought is was pricey considering limitations and quality of treatments. You can not access any other hotel amenities from spa. We had to go through hotel to access pool and restaurant. On the upside, our dinner was elegant and one of the best we have had in all of Jacksonville. Menu was spectacular in terms of variety and unique dishes. Waiter recommended a great wine. Hats off to the chef and the entire restaurant staff. Very pricey but we would go back for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    223
    100
    39
    45
See reviews for
224
405
51
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This hotel is the BEST I've ever stayed in, I stayed here for my honeymoon and WOW is all we could say. The views and rooms and everything about this hotel is AWESOME. If you get the chance to go you really should you won't regret it. My husband and I are planning on going back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAndrews0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I am a Jacksonville local and run in a group that occasionally meets at Atlantic Beach for our Saturday runs. Since my 10th anniversary with my husband was coming up, after our last run, which finished at One Ocean, I decided to check out the hotel to see if it would be a good spot for our "staycation." I approached the doors to the lobby with my friend and two gentlemen opened it a crack and asked if I was staying there. I said "no, but", before I could say anything else, such as, "but I have before, and I've eaten here and I've been to weddings here" etc. etc. one of them said, "the hotel lobby and facilities are for guests only" and slammed the door. Granted I was in my running gear but seriously, I have gone for runs in and out of many hotels as I travel weekly for work, and none of them has EVER stopped me at the door because of my attire.

I would NEVER spend my money here, not to stay at the hotel, not for dinner ever again, not for the spa, not at the bar, NOT A DIME. They could have nicely explained to me that they have had problems with trespassing and waited for me to tell them I wanted to inquire about a vacation, but I have never had a door slammed in my face so rudely. I'll take my business to the Ritz at Amelia Island or PV Inn and Club.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSpike34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Let's face it, Jacksonville is not necessarily known for luxurious resorts. A visit to "Jacksonville Beach" proper leaves you wondering if you should have stayed closer to town & makes Daytona look "classy". However, if you have been fortunate enough to explore north, just a bit, to Neptune Beach & Atlantic Beach....these are gorgeous, stylish & vibrant beach town areas with great shops & restaurants. One Ocean Resort is right in the heart of the activity while offering a top notch experience on the beach. It is chic, almost south beachy. Active & elegant dining & bar. Friendly, super helpful staff. Outside dining was lovely....didn't really love the area near the outdoor firepit....why is the vacant patio so visible & empty when not in use? How bout at least some draperies to block it off?

Room was super comfortable & elegant. Nice views of the beach & town. The town was so active & fun for the weekend--live music all around & great dining options of varying prices.

The beach itself is GORGEOUS....soft sand, wide, good surf. The hotel offers chairs/umbrellas on the beach....but not many people took advantage of them....poolside also offered "beds" & comfy lounge chairs. The hotel is surrounded mostly by cute beach homes & cottages....you just can't help but daydream about buying one....

What a great area & a great place to stay when in the Jacksonville...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrayville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

From the moment we stepped foot on the property we were treated like royalty. They thought of every details one would need to have a wonderful stay. From the unique "docent services" to the extremely beautiful surroundings, the entire stay was perfect in every way. Words could not describe . . . you must see and experience in person!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel is chic & stylish with a fabulous location right on the beach....think South Beach without the crowds/expense. The soothing ocean wave motif was reflected throughout the hotel's art & architecture as well as in the carpets, drapes, wallcoverings, balcony rail and even the bathroom hardware. The pleasant aesthetics contributed to our overall enjoyment. All service from the moment of arrival until departure was superb. Adam provided excellent bell/valet service, as did all the other doormen...we never had to open a door for ourselves. The young man at the front desk (whose name I regret I forgot) was friendly and efficient. All our docents, especially Cynthia, were charming and responded timely to our every request. Spa massage therapist Sandra was outstanding...and my husband is very particular. The gym has state of the art Precor machines with flat screen TV, chilled towels, ice cold water, earphones and a great view of the pool & ocean. Dining at Azurea was excellent with a beautiful presentation (suitable for foodies) and waiter Bryan was delightful and professional. Our complimentary anniversary champagne delivered to the room was a pleasant surprise...a good French brut...and served in an attractive wine cooler with the proper flutes. The pool is lovely with attentive service and lots of fluffy thick towels that may be taken to the beach. The beach was beautiful and well groomed with lots of shells at low tide. Security was good as keycards are required to enter via the beach. We upgraded to a corner king balcony oceanfront room and were so happy we did. All resort/valet parking fees were disclosed on the website so we were not surprised and just factored their cost into our total bill. The bed, pillows and linens are oh-so comfortable with a huge body pillow for TV viewing comfort. The large flat screen TV is Dish Network's basic plan (no premium movie channels) but our docent offered a DVD player/DVD's upon check in. Housekeeping was efficient and non-intrusive. The free wifi worked well. The clock radio has dock for a small iPod and a selection of soothing environmental sounds. The A/C worked great and, since this is a green hotel, it automatically turns off when the sliding door is open. The balcony chairs & table were stylish in keeping with the decor as well as being quite comfy. The bottled water was tasty and plentiful, as were the other soft drinks & snacks. the desk has 2 chairs and the chaise lounge has a view of the ocean. The small bathroom is obviously an architectural remnant from the old property but its decor is pleasing. The only thing missing is a magnifying makeup mirror. We would rate this property as a solid 4.5 star and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabond052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Too much emphasis on decor leads to overpriced and poorly designed rooms. Totally useless huge entry foyers, tiny bathrooms with no tub and barely room to sit on the toilet. Some TV channels, including ABC, not available because "the signal was weak???" The suite's master bath had "his and her" sinks, unusable at the same time due to poor design. Would have been nice to have a wet bar at least in the suite.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POPERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
540 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
769 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
308 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Property: One Ocean Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-5262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. Enjoy award-winning cuisine with ocean views at our Azurea Restaurant. Toast to an unforgettable evening with an ocean inspired cocktails, delicious martini or mixed drinks at our Azurea Lounge. Rejuvenate your body and spirit at The Spa at One Ocean. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing