We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Ocean sets the bar high above the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One Ocean Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Murrayville, Georgia
1 review
“One Ocean sets the bar high above the rest”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

From the moment we stepped foot on the property we were treated like royalty. They thought of every details one would need to have a wonderful stay. From the unique "docent services" to the extremely beautiful surroundings, the entire stay was perfect in every way. Words could not describe . . . you must see and experience in person!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    225
    100
    39
    46
See reviews for
224
410
51
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel is chic & stylish with a fabulous location right on the beach....think South Beach without the crowds/expense. The soothing ocean wave motif was reflected throughout the hotel's art & architecture as well as in the carpets, drapes, wallcoverings, balcony rail and even the bathroom hardware. The pleasant aesthetics contributed to our overall enjoyment. All service from the moment of arrival until departure was superb. Adam provided excellent bell/valet service, as did all the other doormen...we never had to open a door for ourselves. The young man at the front desk (whose name I regret I forgot) was friendly and efficient. All our docents, especially Cynthia, were charming and responded timely to our every request. Spa massage therapist Sandra was outstanding...and my husband is very particular. The gym has state of the art Precor machines with flat screen TV, chilled towels, ice cold water, earphones and a great view of the pool & ocean. Dining at Azurea was excellent with a beautiful presentation (suitable for foodies) and waiter Bryan was delightful and professional. Our complimentary anniversary champagne delivered to the room was a pleasant surprise...a good French brut...and served in an attractive wine cooler with the proper flutes. The pool is lovely with attentive service and lots of fluffy thick towels that may be taken to the beach. The beach was beautiful and well groomed with lots of shells at low tide. Security was good as keycards are required to enter via the beach. We upgraded to a corner king balcony oceanfront room and were so happy we did. All resort/valet parking fees were disclosed on the website so we were not surprised and just factored their cost into our total bill. The bed, pillows and linens are oh-so comfortable with a huge body pillow for TV viewing comfort. The large flat screen TV is Dish Network's basic plan (no premium movie channels) but our docent offered a DVD player/DVD's upon check in. Housekeeping was efficient and non-intrusive. The free wifi worked well. The clock radio has dock for a small iPod and a selection of soothing environmental sounds. The A/C worked great and, since this is a green hotel, it automatically turns off when the sliding door is open. The balcony chairs & table were stylish in keeping with the decor as well as being quite comfy. The bottled water was tasty and plentiful, as were the other soft drinks & snacks. the desk has 2 chairs and the chaise lounge has a view of the ocean. The small bathroom is obviously an architectural remnant from the old property but its decor is pleasing. The only thing missing is a magnifying makeup mirror. We would rate this property as a solid 4.5 star and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabond052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Too much emphasis on decor leads to overpriced and poorly designed rooms. Totally useless huge entry foyers, tiny bathrooms with no tub and barely room to sit on the toilet. Some TV channels, including ABC, not available because "the signal was weak???" The suite's master bath had "his and her" sinks, unusable at the same time due to poor design. Would have been nice to have a wet bar at least in the suite.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POPERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel twice and both visits were very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjs552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at One Ocean. My daughter and I lived in Jacksonville some time ago and I always loved the prime location of the Sea Turtle Inn. I kept telling myself, someday I'm going to stay there. Ten years later, I did stay there - only now it's One Ocean ... and better than ever! Now, we're pretty budget-conscous, so we checked out all prices and reviews ahead of time. Nothing was a surprise or a shock - valet parking, resort fee, docents ... nothing. We didn't plan on eating in the restaurant or going to the spa. These are luxuries that are beyond us. But, we're not complaining because we expected the prices and decided to do something else with our time and money. As for the resort fee and the docents, we had no complaints there either. They will fill and stock whatever you want, whenever you want. All you have to do is ask. They'll even provide snack and beverage alternatives. Again, just ask! We used the pool only once because we were ON THE BEACH - hello?! We walked down the beach and played in the surf most of the time. But, the pool was clean, warm, and the seating around it was extremely comfortable and luxurious. We did not use the pool area bar, but did stop by the lobby bar. Hugh, the bartender, was great - very personable. Ask him to make you his signature drink, "Hugh's Your Daddy." My daughter got a great non-alcoholic version too! As for the rooms - good-size, beautiful, clean, and contemporary furnishings. Comfy beds. Spa-quality bath and body amenities from H2O+. I've since bought some of the products online from the H2O+ site! My daughter's favorite part - the doorbell. There's one for each room. Much nicer than that annoying knock on each door - as maids, etc. make their rounds - that you hear at other hotels. My fiance's favorite part - the in-room safe that was easy-to-use and didn't get stuck. (Seems like we always have problems with those whenever they're available in the rooms). We're definitely not a resort-type family, but we were very comfortable at One Ocean. All-in-all, we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiracki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

If you're looking for a more contemporary alternative to Ponte Vedra or the Ritz on Amelia Island, you should give this place a try. While the facilities are not as extensive as the foregoing, the renovation of the former Sea Turtle Inn has been done very will and with a style not otherwise available in NE Florida. There are a number of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance in Atlantic Beach/Neptune Beach Dinner at the main restaurant was really excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Myself and my two best friends decided to take a quick overnight to the beach and the Jags game. We were excited to stay at the resort because there is really nothing like it in the area and we love the beaches of Jax and Atlantic Beach.
Upon arrival we were greeted very nicely and did not have to check in because they check you in through booking. We were taken to our room and were excited to go to the pool and get some sun before the football game.
The pool was small but nice but there were no pool attendants or towels to be seen. We went up to the snack bar looking window and ordered a few beers and some food. The beers were luke warm at best. When we asked the bartender for some ice because the beer was warm she gave us a plastic cup and said they were all warm because the fridge gets opened and closed all day. At $4 a beer you would think to put them on some ice! When we suggested this we got the response of a dirty look. After not receiving our food for 35 minutes we decided to have a pitcher of the mimosas that the couple next to use suggested. We ordered the pitcher and were told we would have to wait until the couple finished theirs because their were no more pitchers. Our food then arrived an hour later and the flatbread was undercooked and the sauceless wing we ordered were sloppy with sauce. After 20 more minutes we received our mimosa pitcher that was close to half full.
This was the final straw. I approached the hotel manager Patrick and he said he would take care of it immediately. Guessing he would removed the items that were unsatisfactory we left for the game.
When we returned from the game to go to bed, we pulled back the covers of one of the beds there were blood stains all over the sheets!! Being such a crazy day we pulled the covers back up and decided to deal with it in the morning.
When we went to check out we discovered that Patrick had only removed 1 pitcher of Sangria and our pool tab was $156 dollars. They did remove 50% for the stains on the sheets. We left defeated.
I just checked my statement and not only was I charged the full amount of our room $270 but we were charged $240 for our pool bill!!!!!!!
I put a call into the hotel three times and have yet to receive an answer.
Yes, the hotel is beautiful but the service was one of the worst I have ever encountered. If you are used to resort service at a resort, do not stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sileshi, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
We have attempted to reach you via telephone and left two different messages. I would like to alleviate your concerns over your final folio charges. Please call the resort and we will gladly accommodate this matter. We look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
789 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
312 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Property: One Ocean Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-5262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. Enjoy award-winning cuisine with ocean views at our Azurea Restaurant. Toast to an unforgettable evening with an ocean inspired cocktails, delicious martini or mixed drinks at our Azurea Lounge. Rejuvenate your body and spirit at The Spa at One Ocean. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing