We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hugh at the Lobby Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One Ocean Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Hugh at the Lobby Bar”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here for a spontaneous relaxing weekend. While the hotel was lovely and well kept, the highlight of our visit was Hugh at the Lobby Bar. He mixed up amazing drinks from scratch with only a minimal suggestion. Both drinks I had were exceptional and my husband agreed! Thank you, Hugh!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rachaeljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Rachaeljack, thank you for choosing One Ocean Resort and Spa. We are so glad we could help shape you and your husband's memorable weekend! We will be sure to pass on the kind words to Hugh and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our signature Azurea Lounge. We do hope to see you and your husband again on your next spontaneous vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    212
    99
    38
    43
See reviews for
213
388
50
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This past weekend was our 3rd or 4th visit to One Ocean in the summer. We choose it because it's a gorgeous, comfortable property in a great location that allows us to walk/roll to cafes, restaurants, shops, and a family reunion at the motel next door. As always, I was pleasantly surprised how beautiful, clean and well-kept to find the property. This year we were in a top floor wheelchair accessible king room with a bathtub (my hubby uses a manual wheelchair.) The view is southeast so even though ther is no balcony, there's a nice view of the water and shoreline even from the bed (rm 813). Top notch service as always, fast coffee delivery in the morning, still amazing brew ,and daily restocking of customized snack drawre and drinks in the refrigerator. Yes, consistent VIP treatment and it is so nice to see familiar faces of staff. Check in was a breeze, and they even remembered to put the tub chair in the room before we arrived. My only regret is not booking another amazing massage at the spa located on the 2nd floor, and my only suggestion is that they re-model a couple of rooms oceanfront to make them wheelchair accessible with a balcony. (I've been told there are no ocean-front ADA rooms with a balcony currently.) The property would be pretty much perfect if my husband could sit on the balcony enjoying the view, the seabreeze and sound of the waves with me. At any rate, we will be back! Thanks One Ocean friends for taking good care of us again!

Room Tip: Southeast 'limited view' does have a view of the ocean and shoreline (large window only), bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you, Sandy L, for your review of One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to hear this is your fourth stay with us and we hope we can make every experience even better than the last! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location within walking distance of our favorite shopping & dinning destinations. Our team here at One Ocean strives to make every experience a memorable one and we are so glad we could help shape your wonderful experience in Atlantic Beach. We anticipate your next visit Sandy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My family and I took a weekend trip here with another family for Father's Day 2013 (actually June, but I'm just getting around to writing the review). It was a fabulous stay! It's a close walk to shops and restaurants, and the beach is right out the back door. My kids liked being able to go from the pool to the beach so easily and my husband and like that we didn't have to lug our chairs and beach stuff too far. The staff was courteous- even to my children, and helped set up surfing lessons for both of my girls. We requested a corner room because it gave us a little more space for four and it was great. We had more than enough room for the four of us and the room had a spectacular view of the beach as well as a balcony. The room felt clean and modern- great for the beach. I highly recommend staying at One Ocean. In fact, we are going again for Father's Day this year!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are bigger if you're traveling with more than two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank User714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you, User714, for reviewing One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are so glad we could make your Father's Day a memorable weekend. We too love our convenient location within walking distance of boutique shops and famed restaurants. Our private beach is wonderful for a summer escape. We look forward to seeing you and your family next weekend, and hope to make this Father's Day just as memorable as the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is by far the only one that consistently stands out in our families mind as receiving top notch, VIP, Pampering treamtent. The personal one touch docent service is so worth the $25 per day fee, to be spoiled rotten! Hot tea, coffee delivered to relax in bed in your fluffy hotel robe, included in the resort fee. The private beach is just so peaceful, and...private! Walking distance to some amazing restaurants, Slider's being one of our faves!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheninroam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you wheninroam05, for your review of One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are so glad we could make your stay a memorable one with our personable service. We too love our convenient location within walking distance of great attractions and dining destinations. Be sure to look to our website for the best deals and rates. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband, one-year-old and I stayed here recently to attend a family wedding. It exceeded our expectations. Starting with the arrival, it is a beautifully renovated building and you feel very special when you drive up and are greeted by the door staff. They took great care in unpacking our fully loaded mini-van and checked us right in even though we arrived before the official check-in time. The rooms are a little on the smaller side, but very nicely appointed. Big bonus - snacks and drinks in the mini fridge are complimentary! And they are snacks you want to eat - not all junk but not just nuts/dried fruit - there are good options. We had to switch rooms after one night because we really wanted a bath tub to bathe our one-year-old. We never thought to ask if our room had a tub so be sure to check if you're expecting one. The first room we had had a very nice, large shower but didn't work for our purposes.

The hotel is very well maintained and feels like the nicest place around, but the best part was the responsiveness of the staff. From our pleasant arrival, to helping us move rooms, to running to the store to get us some milk when ours spoiled, they were exceptional (all of them). Enjoy your visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a view! You're right on the ocean so don't get stuck overlooking the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stellatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks much for a wonderful review. We appreciate our guests' feedback and are delighted we exceeded your expectations. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our Docent service, designed to take care of all your wishes during your visit. Service is our top priority and we will certainly pass along your compliments to our staff. We hope your family had a wonderful wedding, and we hope to see you all again soon. Please join us next time your travels bring you to Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were in JAX for a HS grad and stayed here for the weekend. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the room was clean and beautiful, they have a nice gym and are right on the ocean. The snacks in the mini bar are included in the room price and they will refill whenever needed.The bathroom was a little small but other than that, everything was great!

It is a bit pricey but I think you get your money's worth when you stay here.

Room Tip: Even number rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks, J D, for a five-star review. We're glad we could be your resort of choice for your Jacksonville graduation trip. I'm happy to hear you had a great experience with our staff and our Docent service. I hope you had a chance to try out our delicious restaurant Azurea and our spa. We hope you will visit us again soon the next time you visit the East Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I checked in today and we already want to leave. I will say that the room is nice, but you'll enjoy bugs on the balcony, and when you open the balcony door get ready for the air conditioning to shut off. They nickel and dime you for everything here. You'll be spending at least $50 over the cost of the hotel. They told us the snacks and drinks are included in the price of the room. Most of the snacks I don't even want. They kept us waiting to check in, and we finally made it down to the pool. Well, there were no seats by the tiny pool. We walked over to the beach and asked about a chair. We were told $17 for one chair half a day. Well, it was four o'clock by then, and we were not going to pay $34 for a few hours. I can't wait to pay the $50 charge for two chairs for a full day tomorrow. Oh, and the hallway by the pool smells like someone died. Once again, I would say our room is nice, and the hotel lobby is nice, but overall I don't think we will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sileshi_M, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Daniel. We apologize your stay did not meet expectations. The resort fee allows us to provide the intuitive Docent service, designed to provide extra amenities tailored to your preferences, as we strive to make sure are guests are always comfortable. We hope you enjoyed the Champagne and strawberries in celebration of your anniversary. The air conditioning is on a timer, as we are a green hotel. We would love to discuss your stay further, and encourage you to reach out directly. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
526 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
708 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Property: One Ocean Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-5262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. Enjoy award-winning cuisine with ocean views at our Azurea Restaurant. Toast to an unforgettable evening with an ocean inspired cocktails, delicious martini or mixed drinks at our Azurea Lounge. Rejuvenate your body and spirit at The Spa at One Ocean. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing