We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Ocean Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
One Ocean Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had stayed here a few years back and I can say that they have kept the hotel up very well. The rooms are very cleana and we love the ocean view. We also booked a message at the spa which was very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool is small but the beach/ocean is only 50 yards away. It is also nice that it is close the Lemon Bar.

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to an ocean balcony on site if it is not a must. You can upgrade much cheaper than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allen_jatounit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about One Ocean, allen_jatounit. We are glad to know that we have kept up the standards that you have grown accustomed to. We look forward to seeing you and your spouse again when your travels bring you back to One Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    210
    96
    37
    43
See reviews for
209
383
48
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I found Ocean one to be a jewel in what is usually beat up beach hotels. Staff was extremely upbeat and friendly. Way out of their way to give extra service. Ordered coffee and within 10 minutes it was delivered. Close to many many paces to eat and very convenient to shopping and the beach.
Rooms were very clean and new looking. I would recommend this to anyone and will go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you, Patrick S, for your kind words about our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent visit, and hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent location.

Tries really hard to be upscale hotel. Fails in certain aspects (should fire a bartender, discipline F & B mgr.), succeeds in others ("docent" for each floor, nice spa on premises).

Rooms have smallest bathrooms I've ever seen. After $44M renovation, only one elevator bank, with only 2 cars, in awkward location in building (have to get to mezzanine level or basement to get elevator to get to your room). Expensive mandatory valet parking.

Food is good, not great. F & B mgr mismanaged weekend night (2 weddings, one function, woefully inadequate staffing).

Because of location, would stay here again (only real hotel at this location; seedy motel next door).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadDogDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear BadDogDude, thank you for providing us with your feedback about your recent One Ocean stay. We are surprised to hear that our F&B offerings were not completely satisfactory. We pride ourselves on the quality, presentation and execution of all dining services at the resort, and assure you that we will look into this further. Thanks to a tremendous renovation from the previous hotel 5 years ago, One Ocean Resort & Spa was created. Because of some limitations with the original structure, several aspects of the resort's layout had to remain as they were, such as our bathroom sizes and elevator locations. We were able to compensate with luxurious features such as our large, spacious guest rooms and Docent services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My best friend and I visited One Ocean for a week-long vacation getaway (Mon-Fri) and couldn't have had a better experience. The staff was so friendly and greeting us at every turn. Whether it was housekeeping or front desk, Hugh at the lobby bar (incredibly mixologist) or Melissa at the pool, Richard bringing our lunch out to the beach or the valet service greeting us on our way in or out... these people are there to please. There was only one server who waited on us at Azurea for breakfast one morning that was completely out of character in representing the staff. He seemed rushed and like he didn't want to be there. He was abrupt and even a little rude. But I wouldn't even begin to base our experience on that one little glitch.

The $25 daily hotel service fee provided unlimited waters and snacks in our room. We took advantage! The fitness room had apples, oranges, and more waters stocked up for guests. We took advantage of that as well, along with the iced mint towels to cool down after our workout.

There are several places to eat, including The Fish Camp, Poe's Tavern and Sliders just to name a few, that are within walking distance of the hotel. We had everything from oysters (get these from the Fish Camp not Sliders!), fish tacos (Poe's Tavern), frozen yogurt (Happy Cup), Starbucks, and subs (Jimmy Johns and Firehouse Subs) at our fingertips.

We also took a yoga class (Mbody Yoga) and took class for free as first-time guests. Great class.

All in all, we had an amazing experience at One Ocean. We really couldn't have asked for a better time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north and south have no balconies, only floor-to-celing windows. Views are still beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you, Cherrise W, for choosing One Ocean as the spot for your vacation getaway. We constantly strive to provide the best in service for our guests, and are surprised to hear of the service that you received at Azurea. This is not characteristic of our associates, and we assure you that this will be looked into. We hope you will choose to stay at One Ocean again when your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My party of 3 enjoyed our stay in a double room at One Ocean over an extended Memorial Day weekend. As other reviewers have said, it is not an inexpensive hotel, and by the time the 'resort fee' and tax on the resort fee, daily parking, etc. are added, those costs add up. However, it is a truly beautiful, very well-kept property with outstanding service and amenities, and for that, I'm willing to pay a premium. If I had that gorgeous gym overlooking the ocean or the opportunity to run/walk/bike the beach everyday, I may even enjoy working out! Its location right on the beach and within walking distance to several great and varied restaurants, along with its own highly rated restaurant allowed us to use our car only when we chose to explore outside of Atlantic/Neptune beaches. One Ocean would definitely be my first choice when staying in the area again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJH_663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It is so great to hear that your family enjoyed Memorial Day weekend at One Ocean. One of the many great aspects of our town is the the proximity of everything to the resort, and we are glad that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to One Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I are returning from our third visit to One Ocean and I just had to pop in again to say what a remarkable boutique hotel One Ocean is. We have visited some beautiful properties, but this has quickly become our favorite. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is amazing, and Hugh in the lobby bar continues to wow us with his skills!! One of the greatest things about One Ocean is that after the valet takes your car, you don't need it again until the day you say good-bye. We have already booked our Labor Day return to One Ocean, and have again requested "our" room #805.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner ocean front #805...... Just not when we're there! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you, Elaine H, for choosing to stay with us for a third time with your husband. We love to hear from our loyal guests, and are looking forward to your upcoming Labor Day return. We will be sure that room #805 is ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at One Ocean for 3 evenings. What a nice place for a get away. The staff was super friendly and accomodating. The hotel was lovely and the pool area was very nice. One Ocean is the only large hotel in the area so the beach was not crowded. There are quite a few nice places to eat within walking distance from the hotel. One more thing the mini fridge was stocked with drinks and snacks at NO CHARGE. What a nice touch, I hate having a mini fridge/bar stocked with $5.00 cokes etc.
I plan on going back for another weekend later in the year and check out the lovely spa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Diane W, thank you for choosing to stay at One Ocean with your husband. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of what our resort has to offer, and hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oce...
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Property: One Ocean Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-5262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. Enjoy award-winning cuisine with ocean views at our Azurea Restaurant. Toast to an unforgettable evening with an ocean inspired cocktails, delicious martini or mixed drinks at our Azurea Lounge. Rejuvenate your body and spirit at The Spa at One Ocean. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing