We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One Ocean Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice hotel, very professional and courteous staff, pet friendly - Virgil had his own bed and water bowl plus treats, H2O toiletries, awesome beach with no seaweed, pet friendly beach, all nestled in a little cul-de-sac with coffe houses, restaurants, and gift shops. Nice spa, and they gave me a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for my bday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi Julia S, Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your recent visit to the resort. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to or associates who work very hard to make sure your expectations are met. Atlantic Beach is a great place to visit when traveling with your pet as it is one of the few pet friendly beaches in North Florida. We hope to see you (and Virgil) again should your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    223
    100
    39
    45
See reviews for
224
403
51
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stunning boutique hotel. Decor is outstanding - rich and elegant, yet light and airy. Perfect size property with all the amenities you could ask for. Lots of unique and beautiful artwork abound (and not just on the walls). Rooms are beautifully furnished, nice linens and beds very comfy. It's right on the beach, which was a huge plus! Very upscale "groovy" vibe overall. Walk to restaurants - try Mezza Luna -white table cloths, great service and the food/wine list were fantastic. Poe's has cooked to perfection gourmet burgers. We thought 60 Ocean was too noisy and it wasn't because it was crowded...not the best for romantic dinner. Disappointed in number of shopping options in the area. Only negatives of the hotel: Small pool and very few flowers or potted palms which you would expect at an outscale beach resort and feel they would add to the exotic feel of the property. Cushions on the loungers were stained and worn. Breakfast was so, so and fairly expensive. Bloody Mary's were $12-$13. We had a better breakfast and less pricey just a short walk away at Sun Dog (although the ambiance was NO where near as nice as the hotel). Bloody Mary's there - $2.50 and tastier. Understand the parking fee as there is little public parking in the area. The resort fee of $25 per day...a bit over the top for what you get. The positives totally outway the few negatives -HIGHLY recommended - top notch in both service and overall beauty.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onceanaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear onceanaussie, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at One Ocean Resort & Spa. The decor is definitely one of the many unique aspects of the resort. If you didn't get a chance to visit on your last trip, The Gallery located in the lobby provides beautiful images of area taken by local artists. Make sure you take a glance next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a weekend here while visiting our son who lives in Jacksonville. The rate was great in comparison to other beach hotels. I don't know if it's because we are at low season or The travel site I used had a special promotion. We arrived late Friday and decided to get our own parking. I had read valet was $15 a day. No thank you! I can use that money somewhere else. The staff was all very nice, courteous, and helpful. Check in was quick. After reading reviews I knew about the whole elevator situation so we chose to walk upstairs and take the elevator to our room. Luckily we are not disabled but if my parents had come this would have been an issue for them. Take one elevator up to walk across to another elevator to your room? I can tell you my parents won't come to this hotel.

ROOM: Very nice, clean, modern.... Nice lounge chair.... Bathroom small but very tasteful.... Love the soap and lotion..... I had requested a balcony but none were available so our room had a south view of Neptune Beach. Nice view but would have loved to have a balcony. The bed and pillows were perfect.

COFFEE: One word..... AMAZING! They bring coffee to your room if you request it. I don't drink cream but they bring that too....

POOL: Loved the chaise lounges.... Very comfy and roomy..... Bar and food service is available and you can charge it to the room..... But EXPENSIVE! We had a bloody Mary and piña colada and the bill was $25. Had it been more reasonable we would have eaten here. Instead our son took us to Singleton Seafood Shack which was pretty cool. We came back to the pool later and it was pretty crowded by then but we found some chairs and relaxed until the rain came.

SPA: I didn't have an opportunity to utilize the spa but each time you come out of the elevator the "spa" smells are awesome! This may be a way of them getting more customers since you HAVE to use this elevator to go to your room.

OVERALL: This is a nice hotel. We loved the artwork throughout the lobby and spa level. The proximity to restaurants and bars was great (walking distance).The $25 resort fee (which I knew about) included water, sodas and snacks in the room..... Water, fruits and earphones in the gym.... I'm sure there are other things covered but these are the ones we used. It should include the valet parking but it doesn't.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlazcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi Mizacos, Thank you for your review of your stay at One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and the service you received while in Atlantic Beach. The Spa is just as wonderful as it smells and has a beautiful view of the ocean. Next time you visit, consider trying our signature seashell massage. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We've been coming to Atlantic Beach/Neptune Beach/Jax Beach for the past few years, and this year we finally decided to go a little upscale and try One Ocean if we could at least have a view of the beach. We stayed in deluxe King room with a wheelchair accessible bath on an upper floor for 3 nights. Wow - One Ocean was worth it.

A TOUCH OF LUXURY! The decor is fresh, contemporary and "new" - lots of glass artwork and tasteful decor theme throughout of aqua and sand, so very elegant yet fun and breezy. The staff is VERY professional, kind, and helpful!!! The rooms are just gorgeous, and I absolutely loved the cushy guest robes in the room and having complimentary coffee service in the mornings - yes with real cream- brought up by the staff and served in fine china.

COMFY & WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE The room had a comfy bed, decent weight linens, good lighting, a refrigerator, safe and snack drawer -that you can have customized (Gluten-free, etc.)!! The bathroom was quite clean, soft, large towels, and there was even a vent fan. It was a roll in shower, but you have to request a shower chair be brought up- there's not one built-in. We will be back. It was a touch of luxury for this normally frugal traveler. Tip: Use the Trip Advisor discount code!

MINOR DRAWBACKS 1. None of the wheelchair accessible rooms have balconies (so I was told), and we need a true accessible room. A little sad that we didn't get to feel or smell the ocean breeze and really enjoy the view from our room, but we could at least see the shoreline from the large window. 2. A little inconvenient to get up/down to the room. If you must use an elevator, you have to take one from the lobby to the 2nd floor, get out and walk/wheel down a hall by the spa, then take another elevator to the room floors. If you can take stairs, the sweeping marble staircase from the lobby is a quick flight up, and you can pause to admire the glass artwork displayed on the wall. Once on 2, you can take the interior stairwell to upper floors. Blah, but kept clean. 3. No full-length mirrors in the rooms. 4. Parking is valet only (yet the staff is pretty fast and you can call down so you don't have to wait as long).

GREAT LOCATION!! The hotel is a short stroll (half a block to 2 blocks) to several of Neptune Beach's best restaurants, shops, trolley stop, drug stores, etc. There's a restaurant at the hotel too (yet we didn't try). The sidewalks in that part of Neptune Beach are reasonably level (some bumps with bricked sections) but not bad for most wheelchairs, strollers, bicycles, or if you just prefer to walk and enjoy the palm-lined streets. The pool and deck behind the hotel have direct access to the beach, and the public access and guard station is directly to the right of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi Sandy, Thank you for your review of One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are so pleased you decided to stay with us during your recent visit. We apologize you were not able to get a balcony room due to the wheel chair accessibility. Being a recently renovated resort, we occasionally run into issues with the lay out of structure and the amount of space in each room. However, the renovations allowed us to provide new services, amenities and artfully inspired decor that makes One Ocean Resort & Spa so unique to the area. We hope to see you again soon should your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annandale, virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I would probably give this hotel 4.5 stars - it is very nice and I would definitely stay there again. It is a couple of clicks off of a 5 star.

The hotel is in excellent condition. It has a lot of nice ocean themed artwork, inlays in the marble floors, etc. The location is great - just short walk over the sand dunes to the ocean. There are a lot of restaurants, coffee shops, etc. within easy walking distance from the hotel. it has a restaurant and two smaller bars onsite as well, including one bar in the lobby (always a favorite location of mine). The service level was very good as well. The staff always asked if we needed anything and worked to accomodate requests. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. The WiFi was ok as well. I was on a family vacation and we had a few rooms. The oceanfront corner balcony rooms are a good size, the rest average. I actually found the room rates quite reasonable for a beach-front location. I suspect this has more to do with the fact the Northeast Florida is overall less expensive than my latest (more expensive) locales in the mid-Atlantic and in CA. I loved the resort fee covering the snacks/sodas - this is a great idea that I have not seen elsewhere. I know people complain about resort fees, but I got more for this one than typical.

Some of the negatives are just inherent to the structure of an older renovated hotel. There are only two main elevators, which are brutally slow anywhere close to check-in/check-out time. I walked up and down from the 7th floor to avoid them. I didn't mind the smaller bathrooms, but be aware they are small. I don't know why this location actually needs valet parking - all of the lots surround the hotel - but you know this going in. I would prefer to see this rolled into the resort fee. We did have a couple of service slip-ups: I got someone elses dry cleaning, had to call down to ask for bottled water refills, coffee delivered to the wrong room. Nothing major, but again a click off. All were resolved quickly.

Overall I liked it a lot and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Pretty intuitive: higher up and ocean front are the best, and it declines from there. Non-balcony r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Ctbarr, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at One Ocean Resort & Spa. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our associates as they work very hard to make sure our guests feel at home. We apologize for the mix up with the docents and are glad you were able to resolve the issues quickly. Thank you again for visiting One Ocean Resort & Spa and for recommending us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice hotel with an exceptional staff. Everyone from the valets to the executive chef kept asking us if we needed anything. I loved that coffee service was delivered to your room with actual cream, instead of that horrible mini coffee maker "coffee" with powered creamer. The pool is small-ish, but during our visit there were always loungers available. We will be going back!

Room Tip: Only beach-front rooms have balconies, which is worth the extra cost. Also, try the restaurant - am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear lawg8r, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you when you return to Atlantic Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the (relatively) newly renovated One Ocean Resort, located on the site of the old Sea Turtle Inn. We were stunned by the massive renovations that had taken place since our last Sea Turtle visit. It is truly a resort, with instant check-in (the bell hop who greeted us in the portico had our room keys.....a first for us!) The rooms have been totally redone, and the decor is very nice. One drawback, since it is in an older building, is the size of the bathroom. I was a little disappointed to find that it only had a shower, but it was very nicely appointed and very clean. We were treated to champagne and strawberries for our anniversary (unexpected) and our docent, Debra, paid us a personal visit to see if there was anything she could arrange for us. We had her reserve dinner for us at a wonderful place across the street (another review!!), and she mentioned our anniversary to the staff there, which was very thoughtful. We also took advantage of the awesome oceanfront spa, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. I don't know of any other facility in the South Georgia/North Florida area that provides oceanfron views from the spa areas. It was very relaxing and beautiful!

We were very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the rooms, staff, and services at Ocean One. It is not inexpensive, but was a very nice, nearby getaway for us, and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: You definitely want to request an oceanfront room, as these are the only ones with balconies. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigskingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear pigskingal, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to One Ocean Resort & Spa. We are so glad you decided to spend your anniversary with us and enjoy your special day in Atlantic Beach. We are proud of our docent service and how the docents work hard to assist in helping guests celebrate special occasions. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,462 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
539 reviews
2.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
767 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedr...
#3 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#7 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Property: One Ocean Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Ocean Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-5262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. Enjoy award-winning cuisine with ocean views at our Azurea Restaurant. Toast to an unforgettable evening with an ocean inspired cocktails, delicious martini or mixed drinks at our Azurea Lounge. Rejuvenate your body and spirit at The Spa at One Ocean. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
One Ocean Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing