We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, clean rooms but...”

Blair's Jungle Den Fish Camp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Astor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair's Jungle Den Fish Camp
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Okay, where do I start. Nice people- let us check in early but I believe we were the only guests. The room was very simple, clean, but the deck was covered with spiders and cobwebs. The view of, and access to, the river was a real plus, but the bird poop and spiders and webs was really a big disappointment. We had one small, partial roll of toilet paper and no back ups. The restaurant is no longer there, even though it shows it on the website. The office closed at 3 p.m. and the emergency number is useless- it's a recording and they don't check it or don't care. Our door lock was not working right- it didn't unlock when we opened it- and we were locked out of our room for 2 1/2 hours until someone showed up. You can dock your boat there and they also have a campground. Don't think we'll ever go back tho-

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank taz321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Blair's Jungle Den Fish Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Sorry your stay was not a positive one we are a small family business and we do try our best to make each guest stay a pleasant one.Our web site is currently being updated but I believe the confusion was that the link for the restaraunt was on there and if you had followed the link it would have showed you that it was closed. Now as far as you door lock not working things do happen when being right on the water but a 2 1/2 hour wait to be let into the room I find that hard to believe at the most it would have been a 30 minute wait since we do not have 24 hour staffing. Toilet paper no excuse should have said something to any staff member and we would have gotten you more sorry. Spider webs and Bird poop sorry thats nature and since we are located on the St. Johns River that is an on going thing we do our best to keep them knocked down but after all its nature. We have been in business since 1970 and still have a great client base that stays with us and enjoys the atmosphere here I hope you give us a try again and maybe your experience will be better but if you dont tell anyone something is not right we can not correct the problem.Have a pleasant day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3)
There are newer reviews for Blair's Jungle Den Fish Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astor
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
17.2 mi away
Artisan Downtown
Artisan Downtown
#2 of 8 in DeLand
116 reviews
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel
17.3 mi away
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina
18.4 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#1 of 2 in Crescent City
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair's Jungle Den Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair's Jungle Den Fish Camp

Address: 1820 Ormands Jungle Den Rd, Astor, FL 32102-7961
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Astor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Astor
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing