We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace River Canoe Outpost”

Canoe Outpost-Peace River
Ranked #2 of 8 Tours in Arcadia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Canoe Outpost is located right on the banks of the Peace River just two miles west of Arcadia off State Road 70, right behind the Arcadia Peace River Campground. Located one hour from Sarasota, less than two hours from Tampa/St. Pete, 2 hours from Orlando, and about 3 hours from Miami/ Ft. Lauderdale, the Outpost is easily reached by all. Wilderness canoe and kayak trips by the hour, half day, full day, and overnight canoe camping are offered. The Outpost in Arcadia is open seven days a week every day of the year except Christmas Day. An additional office in Gardner is open on weekends during busy seasons in Spring and Fall to handle the popular overnight trips that check-in and end there. The Gardner Outpost facilities include ample parking, restrooms, shady picnic areas, hosing off station, trash disposal, and most important, end of trip parking, no pick ups required. All other trips, reservations, and information are handled through the main office in Arcadia. Facilities at the Arcadia Outpost include ample parking, restrooms, dressing rooms, shady picnic areas, volleyball net, grills at covered picnic area, and outdoor showers. Along the way on the river, paddlers can enjoy the Canoe Outpost Oak Hill area. Oak Hill is the Outpost’s private picnic/camping area with tables, portable toilets, and hiking trails. The Canoe Outpost paddle trips offer something for everyone. Some of the popular activities include fossil hunting, wildlife observation, hiking, fishing, swimming, picnicking, and, of course, canoeing and kayaking in a backdrop of peace and quiet along Florida’s most popular State Canoe Trail. Many church, scout, service club, and youth groups paddle the Peace, as well as families, groups of friends, and area businesses. The Outpost has witnessed weddings, divorces, Bar Mitzvahs, birthdays, church retreats, family reunions, and corporate gatherings. You can also bring your dog, we’re pet friendly. Canoeing gives people a chance to enjoy the Florida outdoors and enjoy the sun and water, but doesn’t cost an arm and a leg.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our first time on the Peace River, and I have to say that the staff and facilities at the Canoe Outpost were fantastic. They initially lost the reservation that we made the day before, but made sure we were on the next available bus out. The canoe was perfect, the staff was fairly friendly, and while the price was a little high when everything was said and done, all of the extras that the Outpost had available (seat backs, cushions [which were free], the fossil kit, and the bus ride) were well worth it. The ending point was easy to find, and the staff there was friendly and efficient. Plus they have some adorable dogs that wander around. Points for the dogs, guys.

1  Thank ANicDur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

67 - 71 of 104 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Every year we join a large group of friends for two nights of primitive camping and canoeing in Peace River. It is booked months in advance, checked in weeks ahead, policies followed etc. We are experienced with this company and trip. The management gave away our campsite, broke our group up, refused us to use our own trailers even though they confirmed the use, and we waited 3-4 hrs before we even got going. It is a beautiful experience, but they are a ridiculous people. They change the rules at will. Since they are the only game in town and small town politics there is no winning. Exhausted, disappointed, but it is beautiful and a great trip.

3  Thank Norahsings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RABragg, Owner at Canoe Outpost-Peace River, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We apologize that your group had to wait on Saturday to get on the river but the following problems existed and then more arose:

The group’s reservation was not made until 12/18/13. The Oak Hill area was almost booked out and had been for a while. We had to re-arrange other campers to even fit your group in because the reservation was made so late. Our policy has been and continues to be that campsites are assigned by group size and/or reservation date. Other groups made their reservations a lot farther in advance and some groups were a lot bigger than yours.

When your group leader made the reservation a request for a specific campsite was made but that does not guarantee that you will get that campsite. We had a larger group reserved for the weekend and they got the site you are accustomed to.

Your group was scheduled for the 9:00 check in 10:00 departure. Your group did not get finished checking in until 11:30. Your group leader was emailed on 2/13/14 regarding how busy we were going to be on Saturday. All of our runs were full and the email stressed that if you were not checked in on time you would have to wait until the rest of the runs were finished because they were all full as well and we had to get people who checked in on time on the river.

According to our database and the reservation, your group was doing the Gardner overnight run. At check-in, the group switched to a different trip. The canoes were already on the beach in Gardner. We frantically moved canoes to accommodate your request but that took time and staff. Camping gear delivery for all customers then became behind schedule because staff had to focus on moving canoes to accommodate the change. The addition of 6 more canoes on a booked out weekend also presented a logistical problem. We were able to scrounge some up but we had no prior knowledge that the canoe count had gone up until check-in. It was lucky a few earlier reservations dropped some in their count. Again, those canoes were at the original reservation location and had to be moved.

Your group was not reserved for any personal trailers, per your group leader. Our policy then and continues to be that campsites have a maximum two trailers or two buses or one bus and one trailer per group. Your group was large enough to require two buses so that meant that we could not deliver personal trailers to the campsite because the two trailer/bus requirement had been met. The groups that you saw us transporting their trailers to the campsite were able to fit all of their canoes worth of gear into their own trailers so there was no problem delivering it. Your group was not able to fit everyone’s stuff into the personal trailers so we had to provide buses.

Again, our apologies that your group had to wait but we had to take care of the other customers who checked in on time first. We tried our best to accommodate all the campers and paddlers and concessions had to be made to keep things rolling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great time on the river as it is so peaceful. Camp grounds were a great way to get away from 'reality' for a bit. Staff was exceptional.

Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

What a great time! Canoe trip and camping experience was wonderful and the staff was super friendly and accommodating.

Thank Mtaber2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was an interesting trip along the Peace River. We were able to plenty of egrets, herons and gators. The fossil hunting was cool. While we didn't find any megalodon shark teeth, we did find other cool fossils. Can't wait to try again next year!

Thank Strifez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Outpost-Peace River also viewed

Florida, United States
Arcadia, Central Florida
Arcadia, Central Florida
Arcadia, Central Florida

Been to Canoe Outpost-Peace River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing