We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wheeler's Cafe

Wheeler's Cafe
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Arcadia
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Belle Glade, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were in Arcadia early one Saturday morning on the way to Sarasota and saw the local pick-ups parked there - a sure sign that local folks know where to eat. We were served quickly and with huge portions. The price was reasonable and the service was outstanding. A great local place serving true Southern food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank basgds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    51
    16
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LAKE PLACID,FL
Level Contributor
193 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

WAS REAL BUSY yet service was fast with plenty of good coffee.Fresh pie's and deserts keep that sweet tooth busy!Real enjoyable!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chazLakePlacid_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“peanutbutter pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Thanks to Jamie's review, we stopped here driving between Orlando and Ft. Myers for a slice of peanutbutter pie to go. They have chocolate and vanilla versions. We got the chocolate and it was awesome. We also got a slice of pecan pie and that was great too. We were leery as pecan pie can be over the top sweet and this wasn't, it was perfect. Had both on a picnic table at the beach watching the sun set, with jazz in the air from a nearby wedding. Maybe that made it all the better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaAirheadOnTheRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, Chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent last Saturday in this town, and finished off a perfect day with the perfect meal at Wheelers. Our friend and local antique store owner joined us for dinner. When I first walked in I was taken aback....then to find that the restrooms were located outside and around the corner YIKES.
Rest assured your are not going home hungry or disappointed. We all had the rib eye, and a fried corn to die for, the dessert are also over the top.
If your lucky, the Chef might have some time, he joined us and we chatted away enjoying Arcadia, FL stories.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Blast from the Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is a step back in time. Food is like grandma's cooking and with that said you can expect comfort food. There is a set menu plus numerous daily specials. My husband ordered the chicken dinner with mashed potatoes and cole slaw. He got 1/2 a chicken which he said was very tasty. I got the tuna salad plate which consisted of canned tuna salad setved on a bed of lettuce with fresh fruit on the side. No surprises with my meal. My two sides were fried okra and turnip greens. Enjoyed eating them. We had 2 ice teas and our bill was around $18 without tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheeler's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wheeler's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing