We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it use to be.”
Review of Caffe Positano

Caffe Positano
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Apopka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Apopka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it use to be.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place was once the place to go for an authentic Italian experience. I don't know what happened but the food doesn't seem to taste as good. I'm not sure if they have changed chefs or what. Wish it was the same.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    55
    33
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for cocktails!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and relaxing atmosphere! Had a couple glasses of wine. Good place for socializing with friends!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhsmith64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Italian restaurant that truly can't get more Italian”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My family and I, including a few of our relatives who mentioned Caffe Positano, went out to eat at the location in Sanford and I'm glad they mentioned it! The food is authentic, homemade, and so delicious! Their bread is freshly baked and can be enjoyed as a hot or cold sandwich or just dinner rolls to go along with your meal. I would highly reccommend the Chicken Parm dinner if you're looking for something yummy and hardy. All in all, when I vacation in Florida again I will definitely return to Caffe Positano. Buon Appetito!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingLoverr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“wonderful homemade food, good service”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Located in a strip mall on busy 436, this restaurant would be easy to overlook - but don't! As the name implies, it is an Italian restaurant. They have a bar in a semi-separated area from the restaurant. This location is large and open, with covered outdoor seating available. The large/open plan probably contributes to my one knock against it, which is that it can be noisy. I've only been there at lunch, but the portions were large and the entrees include your choice of soup or salad and fresh bread. Our group had the eggplant parm, the gnocchi, and the eggplant rollatini and everyone raved about their food. Freshly made and delicious. The service was really good and the food came out fast. For a group business lunch we were in and out in an hour, which is an accomplishment! Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank homemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Been here twice, had amazing food and service”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Request outside seating, the inside is kind of lame. All the servers we've had OUTSIDE were really nice, I think there are only a few.

The dishes are HUGE. You can split between 2 people fine, and order an extra appetizer or dessert. Request the typical Italian drink "Negroni"... the manager knows what it is, its strong be warned.

As far as plates, the Ravioli Michele is best ravioli ever.. made with Salmon it's a masterpiece and under $15 is a steal. By far the best ravioli I've ever had.

Bottom line this place serves up some DELICIOUS Italian dishes. I haven't had the pizza, but they are pretty big.. not sure how the pizza resembles Italy, but the dishes such as pasta and chicken are spot on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cagalindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caffe Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing