We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whoa! Lots of best evers packed into this space!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Back Room Steakhouse

The Back Room Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Back Room Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Apopka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Welch Rd.
Shell Knob, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whoa! Lots of best evers packed into this space!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Best ever lemon drop martinis! Wanda, our wonderful waitress made them from scratch, even squeezing the lemons.

Best ever steak! Incredible meat, perfectly cooked. I never thought my husband would stray from Ruth's Chris, but this place won him over.

Best ever sweet potato fries! I sure would like to know their secret. Crispy on the outside, drizzled with honey and soooo yummy!

Best ever service! Wanda was so unbelievably attentive and seemed to know what we wanted even before we did. Also, Ed the owner stopped by our table to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. It is obvious that everyone here loves what they're doing and that, coupled with the most incredible food, makes the Back Room Steakhouse THE best steakhouse we've ever experienced. And that's saying something!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenFrogBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    19
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small, Intimate, Excellent Steak House in Apopka FL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Squeezed between a pub and a Little Caesars pizza in a strip mall, this restaurant can be easy to miss. However, it’s definitely worth the effort to find.
The decor is simple with plain tables and chairs which might be disconcerting at first but in the end, the friendly service and positive attitude of the staff seem to just make it feel more like coming home.
Owner Ed Conlan takes great pride in serving outstanding aged Black Angus steaks and to die for Sea Bass and all at very reasonable prices. Unlike most steakhouses, Ed doesn’t bankrupt you with over priced veggies or mushrooms. The entrées and steaks come with a choice of 2 very substantial sides. Although the wine list is limited, there are enough decent choices.
The steaks come cooked exactly as ordered, spiced just enough to enhance the flavor of the beautiful meat. I would put these steaks up against any steakhouse anywhere. My wife and daughter both had the Sea Bass with risotto. Never heard a word from them except for expressions of food joy. All plates were totally cleared.
This venue is small but this seems to add to the experience. I want to go back and sit at the bar for a few cocktails before dinner. We will definitely be back next time we are in Florida.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

While we were somewhat apprehensive after being told we couldn't sit at the bar, Jenny our waitress made our visit a truly pleasurable experience. Had three awesome appetizers (Tempura shrimp, scallops and lamb chops) which was more than enough. You can search the area but I doubt you'll find anything better.

Helpful?
Thank 2TRAVELERES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I would return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a relatively new restaurant in this area. The food was very good and served very hot. My wife had the prime ribs which were tender and tasty- I had the chilean sea bass which ws very well done. The fish dish portion was small and I filled up on bread- the steak plate was sufficient. The coffee was excellent. Service was very good and attentive. Its a bit pricey for a very local steakhouse.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Back to The Backroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

It has become a frequent get together place for us and our friends. Very good food and pleasant service. The"Designer Beers" are attractive to my wife and some friends. They bring you a sampler and you can select from the various beers on tap that day. The food has been consistently good. Steaks are well prepared and served the way you request them. The Pork Belly which sounds a little strange to some is excellent.
The chief needs to work on his appetizers as they aren't as consistent as the entrees.
Desserts are good and large enough to be shared.
Overall a great place for fun A bit noisy when football is on the TV's

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Room Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Back Room Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing