We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and fair service”
Review of Fish and Chips

Fish and Chips
Ranked #15 of 113 Restaurants in Apopka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food and fair service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Hole un the wall seafood. Good fried seafood...clams and scallops at out table. Hush puppies and onion rings were excellent. Hamburgers good for non seafood eaters. Service was a bit slow...waiter spilled my father in law's birthday beer with no comp. No kid's menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank jennstar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    10
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Makes you look forward to Friday's in Lent”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Fresh fish, cooked to order,always hot when it's served...what more needs to be said. Oh, yeah, the hush puppies are awesome as well. The place gets busy so get there early. Beer and wine, yes...booze, no. Well worth the extra 10 minutes to get there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“get the haddock!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I go here as often as possible and strongly recommend the haddock! Family owned and operated, you can tell their heart and "sole" go into this place. Order the she crab soup if its available, you'll be back for more!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish in town.........and the shrimp aren't bad either”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We've been going to Ray's fish n chips since they were in their old location and they've just improved with age. From the coleslaw (with a touch of jalopeno added) to the clam strips (which actually taste like clams) and to the fish n chips, we've never been dissatisfied, not one bit. It's a nice neighborhood joint that's most busy on Fridays. I almost wish we hadn't turned so many people on to the place, but you won't regret your choice to visit. Oh, and the live maine lobster is very good too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whirled_Traveler_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Broker ”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Service terrible, prices very high and not worth what u get. Food was over cooked. Great fries and Cole slaw. Seemed to us no one knew what they were supposed to do. Other people came in way after we did and got served sooner. Our orders got served one person at a time. One thing now then another later to someone else.
Keystone cops!

Helpful?
1 Thank hdavid8857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 

Been to Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing