We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value but Bathroom could have been cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando-Apopka
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apopka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you are looking for a good value close to Orlando, the Hampton Inn is an option. The staff was attentive and gave good advice when needed but the cleanliness of the bathroom was not up to expectations. When arrived finding some "dirt" on the toilet. When we returned from our day, the bathroom didn't seem much different with no tissues or additional soap, Only fresh towels. As far as location, It is about 40 minutes from Disney, so you need to weigh the plus and minus of being that far. For us it was a matter of getting double for our money with our points.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 512 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

PROPERTY: This is a newer property that is in excellent shape and very well cared for. I stayed in room 415 which was a King suite, with a modest sized work table and a small sitting area.
The hotel had an unheated, average sized outdoor pool with Jacuzzi which were NOT usable. Despite calling prior to my arrival to inquire about the pool, the front desk clerk NEVER mentioned the pool was out of order. Both pools were full of leaves and green pond scum.

The exercise room was above average with three aerobic machines and a weight bench. Unfortunately, the treadmill was “out of order”.

I was a little uncomfortable with the number of non-guests walking around outside the hotel after dark.

There are several restaurants nearby to chose from including a Chili’s a ¼ mile away.

BREAKFAST: An average breakfast is provided with the usual cold offering such as cereal, muffins and toast. NO waffle maker as noted in other posts. Hot prefab omelets and ham are also offered.

ROOM: The room was clean and the contemporary décor looked fresh and upscale. The room had its own, window mounted A/C unit which worked fine. The property is well north of the Orlando congestion, but many may find it too far from shopping and theme parks. The room was quiet with no road noise. The furniture was in very good condition and had a 37” flat screen. A cup at a time coffee maker with only two coffee filters was provided. Lighting in the room was good. Free wireless internet provided with good signal, but slower wireless speeds. A hardwire connection was available which I didn’t use. A good size built in fridge and small microwave was provided in a separate bar area with solid surface counters.

The bathroom was nice with a separate open area and a free standing vanity with solid surface counters.

BEDDING: The bed was very good and the pillows were excellent. As always, the white duvet was nice, clean and cozy.

WORK AREA: A modest sized desk with a good work chair works fine. Three electrical outlets provide adequate access to power electronics. Lighting is average with most of the lighting coming from individual lamps.

The front desk clerk was more interested in playing on his cell phone than attending to his duties, which should have included processing my room upgrade. At first he said an upgrade “wasn’t available”, but when I told him I spoke to the Hilton Honors agent just a few hours before, he miraculously found an upgrade.

Add in the misinformation on the pool being out of order and a 4-5 star property easily drops to a 3 star stay. Very unfortunate.

RATING: Overall I would give the property an 85/100 and 90/100 for value. I would consider staying here again, but would do a quick tour of the property before checking in to see if everything is in order and observe the front desk area to make sure they are doing their job. If everything is not in order, consider the Holiday Inn Express next door. It also appears new and historically they are very good properties

PROS: Newer property, excellent overall condition, nice bed/pillows
CONS: POOR staff, pool and whirlpool full of scum during high traffic Easter break week.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel proved very good value for money. The room we stayed in was very large, and recently refurbished. The decor was very good, and the furniture was all brand new. The buffet breakfast was substantial, and I would certainly stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

First off, our family of four (2 kids age 8 and 5) stayed at this hotel for 17,000 HHonors points per night. Great deal as hotels in the immediate Orlando area were going for 30,000 points each night.

Arrived early from airport and checked in around noon on 3/20/2012 (Tuesday). Hotel was realitavely empty. Kids had the run of the pool and hot tub. Only negative about the pool was that a huge oak tree rained leaves (very small leaves) in the pool and had to swim around them most of the time. Management would not let me skim the pool, but instead instructed us to use the pool in the neighboring hotel if not satisfied. For the most part, the leaves were blown by the wind in the corners of the pool and out of the way. We stayed and the kids adjusted accordingly.

Room was AWESOME and huge. I have stayed at many Hamptons (due to rewards program) over the years and this was one of the best and biggest rooms I have even stayed in.

Room (#418) was clean and had micro, mini fridge, ironing board, iron, and hair dryer. See attached photos.

Beds were Queen, but seemed alot bigger. Very comfortable beds with oversized pillows and generous amounts of blankets. Flat screen tv (42 in?) had hookups for your portable DVD player to watch own movies. TV also on a swivel for viewing from all angles.

Drive time from Apopka to Orlando varied due to rush hour traffic. The drive was all straight down Interstate 4 and into the heart of Orlando. I believe it was about mid 20+ miles to Orlando exits. But during rush hours it pushed us in the 35-40 minute range of travel (SeaWorld). MAKE SURE YOU have exact change for tolls roads (.75), if neccessary, as there was not an attendant upon entering one for us and we went through without paying. They take your car photo, including license plate, and will charge you extra fees for not paying within 10 days (via mail). Go to Fla Dept of Trans for more details.

Breakfast was provided and changed twice the three days we were there. Standard eggs, sausage, waffle maker, bagels, juices, milk, yogurt, cereal...etc. Great way to start the day. Lobby very nice with flat screen tv's and plenty of seating. Also had a huge fish tank that the kids loved.

Staff were great and had no problems at all. Hotel has four floors and an elevator.

Fitness room consisted of one weight machine and a couple ellipiticals/treadmills...not huge but got the job done.

Hotel has free Wi-Fi.

The grounds were well kept and had plent of palm trees to give you that Florida feel.

If you want an alternative from all the Orlando craziness, I suggest staying here in Apopka. Only drawback is that there are not a lot of variety of restaurants in the immediate area, but we mapped out our restaurant stops prior to arriving.

Overall, very nice property, clean, and safe with all interior room entrys. This property seemed to be relatively new. Would definately stay again, especially if points stayed the same.

Room Tip: Room #418 had a nice view of the pool and hot tub (see photos)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank microbrew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The location of this hotel has nothing particular to recommend it, as it is in the center of the commercial congestion of Orlando. However, once inside the hotel is very pleasant. It is a relatively new property, fancifully and colorfully decorated with an ocean theme. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with fridge and microwave, sink in the bathroom. There is a guest laundry room.The breakfast has the usual hotel food, but is varied..with some sort of hot eggs offererd every day & a waffle maker. The breakfast area is made pleasant by an ocean themed ceiling hangings and decorations..cheerful! There is no in-hotel reaturant, but it is surrounded by the usual Orlando eateries...

The staff is helpful and polite. A map was printed out for us with a smile..and they have hot cookies in the evening. When I came in one evening, the cookies were not ready..so they sent two to my room..Although I did not use it..there is a shelf of books to borrow..a touch I always appreciate..If you need to be in this area, this is a pleasant choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemswinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed here one night in March 2012. The room was nice (average) and clean. Two queen size beds (seemed small enough to be doubles). The bathroom area was clean and well stocked with towels, etc. The breakfast was okay, except the scrambled eggs were cold and dried out. The milk was cold. There was a variety of games (board and children) in the commons area next to the front desk. Overall, certainly acceptable for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNPHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was our second visit and it was even better than the first. This is a clean, comfortable accommodation. The rooms are a comfortable size with ample room to place your bags where they are easily accessible. The bath is larger than most hotel baths. The coffee is really good! Breakfast was better with more selections including real oatmeal with several toppings available. I wish the eggs had been more consistently good and would like to see boiled eggs as an option. Unfortunately, guests didn't operate the waffle maker according to the instructions and it had to be removed. That didn't bother us but was unfortunate for others. The staff was even more engaging and personable this trip . The staff was very accommodating to any requests/needs and to an unexpected change in our plans. My only suggestions would be to have at least one bread that is 100% whole wheat (loaf bread or English muffin) and to have a light yogurt available everyday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perky51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apopka
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Apopka
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-North/Altamonte Springs
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-N...
#1 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
718 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlan...
#2 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Orlando North
Sheraton Orlando North
#2 of 6 in Maitland
354 reviews
8 mi away
Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 5 in Apopka
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando-Apopka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando-Apopka

Address: 321 South Lake Cortez Drive, Apopka, FL 32703-4815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Apopka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apopka
Price Range: $116 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando-Apopka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Orlando-Apopka is conveniently located off I-4 Exit 92. Built to serve both business and leisure travelers. Our Amenities include complementary Hot Breakfast Buffet, complementary Wi-Fi throughout, 24 hour Business Center, Fitness Center and outdoor pool and hot tub! You can also hold your business meeting in our available meeting room or our board room. Hotel is located about 15 minutes from Downtown Orlando and it is also minutes from International Airport (MCO). Situated right in between Daytona Beach and Tampa and within short miles from Disney World Parks, Universal Studios and Sea World. Earn Points and Miles as a Valuable HHonors Member! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando-Apopka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Orlando-Apopka
Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando-Apopka Hotel Apopka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing