We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What a fabulous free place to visit!

We only got to see 2 manatees in the water as we arrived quite early in the season and the local... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Luxtraveller66
,
Hampshire, UK
Entertaining

Going to Apollo Beach to watch the manatees is an entertaining and educational experience. There... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
John K
Read all 2,694 reviews
  
Reviews (2,694)
Filter reviews
2,607 results
Traveler rating
1,735
645
174
27
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,735
645
174
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews power plant warm water gift shop electric company power station free attraction educational center big bend great place to view small sharks large fish long pier observation tower butterfly garden nature walk gentle giants all ages
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,607 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We only got to see 2 manatees in the water as we arrived quite early in the season and the local waters are probably not cold enough to encourage more manatees to the warm waters of the electrical plant,,, but what a lovely visit we had!

The centre is very informal and well run with good free parking, and the walkways are all in a good state of repair with speakers telling you all about the wildlife and manatees as you walk the boardwalk.

The Ray tank, where you can touch the animals is an added bonus, and all the staff and facilities are excellent and friendly.

There is no fee to visit, but they are donation boxes around if you wish to donate. Myself I bought a mug from the excellent gift shop as a way of donating towards the facilities offered. Wish thus place was closer to where I lived....

Great work guys!

Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Going to Apollo Beach to watch the manatees is an entertaining and educational experience. There is a large deck for viewing and a building that is a learning center.

Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to the Manatee Viewing Center several times. Each time was in the winter as the manatees are drawn to this area due to the warmer waters. Each time we saw a minimum of 100 manatees. I have heard other people went to other manatee areas and paid for the attraction and only saw a few manatees.

Thank bpear95235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can not say enough about the knowledge of the animal that they have. Very educational and the experience was one of a kind. Will def return when in the area again ,

Thank JulieannaCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You can touch stingrays, see the manatees and walk down a small pier to see other marine animals. It can get busy but it’s definitely a place to go see.

Thank Candiceleigh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Great place to take the grandkids! We love the manatees, walking on the trails, and shopping in the gift shop. Always see butterflies, different types of fish and plant life.

1  Thank farrellr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Bring the family-you will not believe what you will see. It actually looked like you could walk across the water there were so many manatees!!!!

1  Thank Spiketravelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

This is a very comfortable place to view the manatees. We have been here several tomes before and the manatees generally migrate here from November to April. The staff is friendly and there is ample parking space. It is also equipped for visitors on wheelchair. The manatees are very quick to surface and quick to disappear so patience is an essence. This is a pleasant site for adults and children alike and admission is free.

Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

There are easy well marked walking trails with lookout towers but the manatees can best be seen by getting as close to them as possible Views of downtown Tampa and St. Pete add to the charm.

Thank Adnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Well worth going. Nice to get away from it all and made a nice spot to stop prior to going to Busch Gardens.

Thank Boxplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews