We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Apalach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Some have complained about the location of this motel. True, it's not right on the beach but it doesn't advertise itself as that. It's not close enough to town to walk, but the drive is less than 2 miles. The complimentary breakfast may not be the best, but what food in a motel is? Other than a Burger King, there aren't any late night restaurants within walking distance, but why blame the motel for that? If you're looking for a clean, comfortable, affordable place to stay then this place will more than fulfill your needs. The nearest beaches, on St. George Island, are less than 10 miles away and well worth the drive. Staying on the island can be quite expensive so bedding down at this motel will save some bucks. (Downtown Apalachicola itself is a great place to visit.) The staff are very friendly and informative, and will help you in any way they can. I can easily recommend this motel!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    210
    73
    8
    11
See reviews for
157
241
35
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russiaville, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed at the Apalach Inn so that we could visit St. George Island State Park (one of our favorites) and eat at our favorite restaurant. We had stayed at this same hotel several years earlier during one of our Florida trips. We enjoyed it then, so we decided to stay at the same place. We were thrilled with their new remodel. Check-in was a breeze. The room was beautiful. The hotel was immaculate, room spacious and extremely clean. We loved the new room decor. The young man behind the desk was very courteous and most helpful in assisting us with a restaurant selection. Our favorite, "That Place on 98" had closed and moved into town. It was now called "That Place in Apalach," but the menu had changed. We chose the Seafood Grill instead, downtown on the corner of Market street and US 98. Great waitress and great food with lots of fresh oysters; reasonably priced. There was a tornado watch that evening and thunderstorms, but we slept soundly and felt safe. We only spent one night here as we were heading up the coast. We checked out in the morning and went over to St. George Island. It was extremely windy and rather cool, but we wanted to walk the beach and look for shells. I wish we could have stayed for a few days there, because there was more to see. The Apalach Inn wasn't listed in the "Visit Historic Apalachicola" brochure, which is a shame. It's sits on the north end of US 98, heading toward Destin, FL, away from the bustle. There is a nice pool there too, but we didn't have time to enjoy it. The staff takes great pride in their hotel and there are several hospitality awards on the wall in the lobby by the front desk. Breakfast is complimentary for guests. Don't overlook this jewel when you visit Apalachicola.

  • Liked — Convenient location, size of room, decor, and value.
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MBrown4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We were not real thrilled with our stay of two nights. Good points: the room looked clean and it was large. Breakfast was okay. Not so good: it smelled like a long-damp carpet and/or recent conversion from a smoking room. The fridge did little more than mildly cool our stuff though we were assured by the staff that it was working properly...worked okay as a cooler once we added an ice bag. There was lots of empty space; there was one king size bed, a small table and two hard straight-back chairs....it would have been a great improvement to have a reading chair or recliner or something in there. The pool looked nice but it was closed due to a health code violation...yuck. And finally, the joke was on us: I turned on the jets in the whirlpool tub and water shot out over the side and flooded the bathroom! Whee!

Overall, this place seemed adequte for a short-term overnight stay if you just need a place to sleep. Will not be staying again myself.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank geodesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

We were just driving through on our way south, and were only there for one night. The motel was spotless, the room large, and had cable. There was a continental breakfast included, and was certainly more than enough to get us started the next morning. The only drawback was there were not many places nearby for dinner that night, but pizza got us through the night. It's certainly worth stopping if you're in the area.

  • Liked — cleanliness, and convenience
  • Disliked — not much around it
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myntrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

My wife and I drove in at around 10pm. After checkin, we went to the room. My wife was immediately impressed by the cleanliness of the room - everything was sparkling, even the light fixtures in the bathroom area. So many times, we find cleanliness to be a problem in motels. The beds were comfortable, room was quiet. It was a good choice for our visit to Apalachicola.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gplagge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

My wife and I had a reservation at this Best Western in Apalachicola, Florida. We cancelled the reservation in the late afternoon of the day before the reservation. I was told that they would charge a cancellation fee. I complained that they had a days notice, and, at no time was I informed of a cancellation fee. The fax they sent confirming the reservation had no notice on it. In addition, this had never happened before when dealing with motels over the years. I rarely cancel, but it does happen that it is necessary.

I stopped at the motel the next day and asked to speak to the manager. He talked with me and told me that they would remove the cancellation fee and, I would not be charged. When I received my credit card statement there was an $145 charge by the Best Western.

I am in the process of protesting through all the possible channels, but I am writing this to warn any travelers who do go to this motel to watch out for the credit card and financial transactions. I, obviously, cannot write as to the condition of the motel itself nor any other aspect of staying there.

However, I should have been warned when the front desk reservation person kept on calling me "sweety" and "honey."

Just a warning.

Helpful?
18 Thank JOHN5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2005

Great rate and an even greater family that runs the place. after being unhappy with the nearby St. George Inn we decided to look elsewhere and thank God we found this place. The people who run it are awesome, the room we had (2 queens) was very clean, the pool was well kept, and the service was awesome. Also, there was a computer if needed to use in the lobby. We definitley will stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
1.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
17.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
19.5 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Apalach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apalach Inn

Property: Best Western Apalach Inn
Address: 249 Highway 98 West, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Apalach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming hotel in the Gulf Coast community of Apalachicola, Florida known for the friendly people and unspoiled natural resources.The Best Western Apalach Inn, located in the panhandle of Florida, offers hotel guests easy access to miles of pristine beaches, excellent fishing, golf and acres of National and State Forests to explore. Hotel guests are just minutes from St. George Island Beach, the Apalachicola River and St. Joseph Peninsula Stated Park. All well-appointed guest rooms feature high speed Internet access and cable satellite television with HBO®. Hotel amenities include a complimentary full hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, free parking and exterior corridors. While in Apalachicola, hotel guests may choose to feast on some of the fresh seafood that Apalachicola is famous for. Take a day and explore the Marianna Caverns or the Wakula Springs, both situated a couple hours drive from the hotel. Families will especially love the Fun Center, just 7 miles away or spending the day on any of the nearby Florida beaches. Other nearby attractions to explore include the Gorrie Museum and Cape San Blass. Make an online reservation today and save at the Best Western Apalach Inn in Apalachicola, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Apalach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apalachicola
Apalachicola Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing