We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a Pinch, OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Apalach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 1, 2011

It's an old style Motel which could use upgrading. The Room was clean, bathroom was adequate with plenty of towels. There is a pool but the water looked a little dingy, so we passed.
Overall, friendly staff and we did get a good night sleep, having a room near end of Motel away from the road. The value though is poor, over a $100 for the night.

Room Tip: Get a room on ground floor, otherwise you will lug your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 610 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

I was really careful about this motel because I heard a lot of bad comments on Best Western in general. To my surprise, it was not bad. They even served hot breakfast (as opposed to continental), not a lot of option but it's reasonable. The hotel wasn't exactly the cleanest building but the room was fine. That area wasn't the most metropolitan area after all. Maybe it's the cleanliness, maybe it's the trees around, it felt a bit shady but not too creepy.

Room Tip: The first floor would be easier for moving luggage since I don't believe there's an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Dingy and old, it was nothing like the pictures. The rooms smelled bad and the staff was apathetic. Worst of all was the sheets on the bed were so obviously not changed since the last patron that I stripped the bed and used a blanket from my car. To top it off I was overcharged for a night that we did not reserve. In answer to my inquiries the staff on the phone told me "The manager is out of town and I don't have the authority to refund." and "We don't know when he will be back...he likes to surprise us."

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Recently my sister was married on St. Georges Island and she arranged for a block of rooms at this hotel. My wife made a reservation for the Saturday night of the wedding, and I submitted my credit card upon check-in. I was told, however, that they expected me the night before as well as for the Saturday night. I told them this was wrong and that I had only ever needed the reservation for Saturday night. I submitted my credit card and signed the register for my stay. First lapse of communication error on the part of Best Western.

Two weeks later my wife tells me her credit card has been charged $245.50 for three nights' stay at the Best Western! She is extremely upset and says that she spent an hour on the phone trying to get this resolved. She was issued a credit for $29.68 for the "third" night. What "third" night? She is told that my credit card will be charged the difference and she will be credited, but that it may take some time because it has to come from Best Western "Corporate". Second lapse of communication.

We try and get this resolved, but the manager, Mr. Atul Patel, never returns her calls. I call and try and get this resolved but, again, Mr. Atul Patel does not return my call. Another employee (I think his name was Ajay, but he was very hard to understand) verifies that my wife has been credited for the third night. What third night?
Mr. Atul Patel finally calls me, after I am sure he received a frantic call from Ajay. He promises me that that night he was going to credit my wife's credit card for the two night stay ($215.82) and he would charge my card for only one night stay ($107.91). But if this is the case, what does Best Western "Corporate have to do with the previous statement made by Mr. Atul Patel. I think I am getting some relief. But I am wrong.

Today I checked my credit card balance and I have been charged $215.82 for two nights' stay, after Mr. Atul Patel assured me I would only be charged for one nights' stay. I am not surprised, but call the Best Western again and ask for Mr. Atul Patel. Dana, probably the most patient person in the world, called me back to discuss the situation with me. She tells me point blank Mr. Atul Patel told me he was going to charge me $215.82 for two nights. So, not only did he lie to me, he lied to his employee!

The fact is no one knows how many nights my reservation was for. Ajay thinks it is for three nights, Dana tells me there are actually two reservations for me, and Mr. Atul Patel can not seem to tell the truth. At this point I do not expect to get a credit for the one night. I will not stay at a Best Western again, though. Ever. And Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn will have an entry about this property and their policies.

Room Tip: Do not make a reservation at this hotel; save yourself the aggravation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lowpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This accommodation needs updating. Dining area unable to cope with guests at breakfast time as there is not enough seating. Would not stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeymourMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here multiple days and were very pleasantly surprised! Our room was nicer than the web pictures suggested. It looked like it had been recently updated and was very large. Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waldmanenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed on a Tuesday night. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Staff was curteous. Free breakfast had a lot of items. Convenient to town, yet far enought to be quiet. Maybe a bit pricey, but excellent value for the money. I would return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ask4geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
1.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
404 reviews
17.7 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
8.9 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
230 reviews
19.5 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Apalach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apalach Inn

Address: 249 Highway 98 West, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: $101 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Apalach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming hotel in the Gulf Coast community of Apalachicola, Florida known for the friendly people and unspoiled natural resources.The Best Western Apalach Inn, located in the panhandle of Florida, offers hotel guests easy access to miles of pristine beaches, excellent fishing, golf and acres of National and State Forests to explore. Hotel guests are just minutes from St. George Island Beach, the Apalachicola River and St. Joseph Peninsula Stated Park. All well-appointed guest rooms feature high speed Internet access and cable satellite television with HBO®. Hotel amenities include a complimentary full hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, free parking and exterior corridors. While in Apalachicola, hotel guests may choose to feast on some of the fresh seafood that Apalachicola is famous for. Take a day and explore the Marianna Caverns or the Wakula Springs, both situated a couple hours drive from the hotel. Families will especially love the Fun Center, just 7 miles away or spending the day on any of the nearby Florida beaches. Other nearby attractions to explore include the Gorrie Museum and Cape San Blass. Make an online reservation today and save at the Best Western Apalach Inn in Apalachicola, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Apalach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apalachicola
Apalachicola Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing