We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing, & great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing, & great stay!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Cannot complain about much with our stay at the Gibson. Very nice for the price and the location can't be topped. Had a nice stay with the In Laws (First trip to the area) and we brought our small child. He loved breakfast outside on the porch. Bar and restaurant was convenient as well. Downtown Apalach is a great place to eat and shop, so the Gibson gets high marks from all of our group.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tapate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    104
    26
    20
    18
See reviews for
39
200
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed at Gibson Inn this past weekend and left very sleepy and disappointed. Between the noise from the room above us and the extremely loud air conditioner we slept very little. I expected the rooms to be a little dated due to the age of the building but I think some renovation is overdue. Rocking on the porch was the highlight of our stay. The shower backed up and was very slow to drain, sink was small and I could find only one electrical outlet without having to move the bed. I would encourage management to keep the cat out of the lobby and not have it walk and lay on the front desk...a very big turn off and unsanitary issue for me.

Room Tip: Might be a little quieter on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Gibson Inn is a beautiful old Inn. That being said, the noise level of logging trucks, local loud pick-ups, creaky floors and staff right below our room smoking was a turn off to us. And on top of that, a 1 1/2 hour Septic Pumping Truck right below us, I am afraid to say, once is enough. There were good parts too but over-all it was a one stop place for us.

Maybe we just picked a bad time to stay there. Hopefully, your experience will be better. Upon checking in and checking out, no one told us they were glad we stayed there. Service was poor. Maybe they felt our dis-appointment. Usually, I write great reviews for places we stay at but it was not this case here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fototexGranburyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
260 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

If you want to step back in time and relax, go to Apalachicola and stay at the Gibson Inn. It is very conveniently located so you can walk to many of the local activities and restaurants. Our room was small, but we did not stay in there much anyway....would much rather sit on the porch in the rocking chair!! Nice antiques throughout and very well kept. Staff was very nice, including the house keeping. A great place to get away and enjoy nature and do....nothing!!!! Hope to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

In addition to all the excellent reviews about this great Inn, the restaurant is outstanding. Very nice menu and service, tending towards upscale. You can order more pub fare and also from the dining room menu if you prefer a more casual dine at the bar. And look for the house cat, a real purry creature.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flynduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been going to Apalachicola for almost 20 years and always stay at the Gibson Inn and always get the same room. We love the charm of the place, love sitting on the porch after dinner. Woue stay as anywhere else.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Loved a lot of what the Gibson Inn had to offer. The staff was friendly and the room was nice. We did not eat at the bar or the restaraunt but everything else was nice. I do however think some things could be improved. Wifi was awful. It needed to be stronger. Bathrooms are nice but a curved shower curtain rod would make the showers better, and water pressure was low. Would we go back? Yes!

Room Tip: Room 304 was nice a cozy. Thin walls though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
371 reviews
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
258 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Property: Gibson Inn
Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing