We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed three nights in a cozy room on the second floor. The hosts worked hard to make their guests comfortable. The restored inn is beautifully decorated, and has wide porches with chairs and tables. We enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings. The restaurant was very good. The continental breakfast was served from 6:00-9:00, or you could purchase brunch on the weekends, beginning at 9:00. The inn is right in the center of the historic section of town. It is easy to do a walking tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryT216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    112
    30
    21
    18
See reviews for
42
221
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My sister and I were looking forward to another historic inn experience such as we'd had in
Charleston, but this was not to be. Ladies of a certain age with knee problems should not stay
at the Gibson Inn because it has neither elevator, not luggage assistance, and such services as
ice are available only on the first floor. Our tiny room had 5 electric cords draped all down one wall; yet only one lamp in the room worked. The food we had at dinner in Ira's was very good,
but service bordered on outrageously bad--our server Erika was slow but okay until she served
my dessert; then, a group of six came in and she abandoned us completely. A different server
finally brought my coffee after I finished my dessert, and then we waited 25 minutes for Erika to
bring our check and another 15 for her to bring our change.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are on a road trip of the United States and haven't pre-booked any accommodation . So we were lucky to have this excellent Inn recommended to us by a complete stranger who we got chatting to in a cafe in Quitman!
It is an old house in Apalachicola now serving as a hotel/ inn. The welcome was warm and friendly. Just what we needed after a long day of driving. And we arrived just in time for happy hour
Our room was lovely with an old fashioned massive bed. There was free wifi which was very welcome to allow us to contact our friends and family to keep them up to date with our journey.
The food is excellent with a lot of fresh seafood on offer but also rib eye steak, pork chops , duck, and vegetarian curry. Something for all tastes.
The building is very attractive and the interior is lovely.
I would highly recommend this if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMPridham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Do not stay here if you wish to have a good night sleep. The bedding is beyond bad. In these day and times even the cheap hotels have great beds and linens. The matress wqs thin and cheap but besides the quality, they sold us a king bed but had taken 2 twins and put them together! How uncomfortable is that! Very. The Air conditioning did not work in the room.
The decor was old cheap and tacky nothing to do with historical.
I would suggest visit but not stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dahldahling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hello. In fairness the first item, small rooms, is somewhat apparent by the pictures on the web page and by just being aware that rooms were smaller when this structure was built, that is in 1907. So the comments on small rooms are not meant as a complaint but to make some observations for future readers of this. The rooms are SMALL, smaller than they appear in the pictures on the web site. We had a mid-sized room, 205. This room was so small that the chairs for TV viewing were on one side of the room against the wall. The TV was on the other side with the bed in between. You had to look over the bed to watch TV. The shower and toilet space were very small. If you need/want any kind of spread out space these rooms are not for you.

The second item is also a matter of opinion but again the reader should be aware of what we experienced. The mattresses we had was VERY uncomfortable. My wife and I are both ex-military (so have slept in our share of crappy beds) and I continue to work and travel around the world in my job. I’ve slept on a lot of mattresses but this one was so hard that after 3 ½ hours of attempting to get comfortable and sleep we got up (at 00:30) checked out of the room and went home. I have never had to do this before. Think of sleeping on a piece of plywood with a 2-3 inch layer of cardboard over it than maybe a 1in piece of foam. The mattress was that hard, far to firm for either of us to sleep on. They were only one step up from sleeping on a carpeted floor in a sleeping bag.

The power outlets in the room were so worn out (or cheap) that plugs would not stay plugged in. To keep our cell phone charger plugged in I had to bend the prongs out and even than they were loose and prone to falling out. The in-room alarm clock would not stay plugged into its allocated socket. We had to move it to the top of the sink and use the nearest outlet (again after bending the prongs out) to finally keep it from falling out, again it would still barely hold in. The in-room alarm clock (some cheap $10 Walmart clock) had at some point taken a bang and the display was partially dislodged out of the viewable area so the top of the digits was covered by the case.

The cushions on the two chairs in the room appeared to handmade covers, that looked like some previous curtain or thin bedspread material, sown over cheap foam. They appeared dirty and dingy and there was no way to take the cushion cover off and clean it.

My wife noted that the curtain was dusty and dirty where the Air Conditioning air blew on it.

There was no blanket on the bed. The bedspread is supposed to be used as the blanket. My wife, who is a Health Department RN, noted that bedspreads rarely get washed, and is noted by health experts as being one of the dirtiest items in hotel rooms. I’m sure that this bedspread was not getting washed between occupations as it did not show signs of being washed that frequently (fading, etc). I hate to think what an ultraviolet light would have reveled.

In summary the owners appear to be banking on the desirably of staying in a place with historic and nostalgic connotations and ignoring the room quality and cleanliness practices, something you think they would focus on to counterpoint the small size of the rooms.

We will not be staying here again on future trips to Apalachicola.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MommyD5, General Manager at Gibson Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I am sorry that your stay at the Gibson Inn was not up to your expectations. We work long and hard to insure that each and every one of our guests are happy. I would have liked to have had the opportunity to speak with you about your concerns, and perhaps put your mind at ease. I would be more than happy to go over your review with you. I can be reached at (850) 653-2191, or via email at Sharon@gibsoninn.com. We strive for perfection, and do not want any guest to leave with a negative perception of our hotel.

Sharon Soderholm
General Manager
Gibson Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent two nights at Gibson Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The inn has been thoughtfully and respectfully restored ~ a real gem in Apalachicola. The verandas surrounding the first and second floors catch the breeze coming off the bay even with temps in the 90s

We were originally booked in room 309. Upon arrival, we realized that the third floor rooms do not have direct veranda access. The very accommodating reception person allowed us to change to 209 which has veranda access plus an adjoining sitting room and bath. She said she might just "forget" to close off the sitting room/bath (which she did!) so we had twice as much room for the same price. The sitting room is so lovely (and the extra bath so nice) that we would have paid extra if need-be. Just glad that we were there mid-week in September when they weren't busy and were happy to accommodate.

Gibson Inn is old of course so don't expect completely up-to-date plumbing. We had no real complaints in that department ~ only that the large shower in 209 could use a shelf for shampoo and a bench for leg shaving.

We did not eat at Ira's though it looked pleasant. We were more in the mood for casual shrimp and oysters. We loved Hole in the Wall and watched them shuck oysters right off the boats.
Boss Oyster has a beautiful setting on the water but the food isn't very good. The fried shrimp were heavily breaded and tasted frozen. I'm guessing the oysters were from Louisiana based on what the locals told us. We would NOT recommend Papa Joe's.

All in all, we loved Gibson Inn and will go back if we ever find ourselves in Apalachicola again.

Room Tip: Room 209 has a lovely view and is attractively decorated. The adjoining sitting room and bath are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KkkkKatie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I went to the Gibson Inn for a get-a-way weekend. We had a corner room overlooking the bridge. It was an easy walk into town and we never got in the car for the entire weekend. We ate at the Inn on the last night and it was delicious. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taholman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
272 reviews
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Property: Gibson Inn
Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing