We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in Apalachicola!”
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you travel to Apalachicola, which is one of the towns along North Florida's "Forgotten Coast", I highly recommend the Gibson Inn. My husband and I have stayed here several times, since we live within 75 miles, and like to come here for a weekend getaway--or even during the week, sometimes. Lots of history here. We love the rooms, the ambiance;the beds are comfortable; love the bathrooms with the clawfoot tub (also has a shower). All the conveniences. The bar is beautiful, and we are friends with Betsy, (works in the bar) who actually authored a book about North Florida--entitled "Sandspurs and Sawgrass". The Gibson is located right in the center of the town. And, the town is "walkable". I love the wrap around porch with the big rocking chairs. You can take your tea, coffee or drink outside and "sit for a spell". Sometimes, there's even some entertainment on the porch...a local singer with a guitar...very nice atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 389 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had an amazing stay at this inn while driving through the Gulf coast. Loved the rooms and the huge terrace that made me believe I was in the Bahamas...
We also got a pleasant surprise when we tried the inn's own restaurant at night, I think that was the best meal during the whole trip. Location was also great, easy to spot directly when coming from the bridge. And a cocktail named after the old sea captain that is said to haunt one of the rooms, is also worth trying!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful staff greeted us as this historic hotel for a nice visit during July 4 weekend. The room was comfortable, well maintained and true to the historic character of the building. The bar was lively and a favorite gathering spot for guests and locals. We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant which I understand is under the direction of a new chef. This is a special piece of Florida history and highly recommended if you want a historic and human touch which is a pleasant departure from most contemporary hotels today. Pull up a rocking chair on the veranda and meet a new friend.

Room Tip: Check out your room in advance online. Corner rooms offer great views, either of the downtown or ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thestogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a very neat charming B&B on the national historic register. Even though it is old it has all the modern consciences. There are only / rooms on the bottom floor so it was nice to be able to get one of those. Otherwise you will have to climb the stairs. I was afraid I was going to get hot but with the window unit in our room I got cold. It was very clean and the price was less expensive then I thought it was going to be. It is also within easy walking distance to the resturants by the river. A neat and charming downtown area as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were trying to find a quick place to stay halfway on our way to New Orleans. We just stumbled onto Apalachicola and absolutely fell in love with this town. The Inn was so charming and extremely friendly employees. We loved how pet friendly the Inn was as well as the whole town. Would definitely come back and refer many people. also, don't forget to try the amazing oysters!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gogm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Relax on the veranda, walk to the many terrific restaurants nearby, cocktails on the deck....a great stay! We had room 309, corner room on top floor with view to the water...by the busy street side but that did not bother us (as long as you don't mind the stairs). A delightful place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arkarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We've been to the Gibson Inn before and also to the much more modern Waterstreet Inn Condo and also older-style Coombs House B & B.
Though Waterstreet can be proud of the modern amenities, we really enjoyed staying at the Gibson Inn. We thought Coombs house was a bit oversold. Gibson Inn is old, of course, but for us that is part of the charm. It's very clean and and nicely decorated. The room was not that large, but the bathroom was well updated. I probably wouldn't choose a room on the 3rd floor again--no elevator and no one to help with bags-so be aware if you have health limitations. ( I knew it was on the 3rd floor ahead of time) It's wonderful to sit on the wrap around porch at the end of the day sipping a nice glass of wine. We were within short walking distance of the shops and restaurants-very convenient and more atmosphere than staying out of town. The bar is friendly-we ate a few meals there just because we didn't feel like being more formal. Gibson has a new chef who is wonderful! The meals were delicious.

Breakfast is a bit bare bones-the chef makes wonderful breakfast breads, but the menu was heavy into carbs-doughnuts, etc.There were yogurt cups, fruit and cheese sticks; some hard-boiled eggs would be nice so a protein breakfast could be pieced together.
And just one suggestion-most places have in-room coffee pots so you can have that first cup of coffee in your pajamas. Gibson Inn only provides coffee downstairs-I'm not whining, but it would be lovely and fairly easy to set up a tray on each floor with an insulated pot and coffee fixings.
In short, we enjoyed our stay--the room was comfortable, the Inn has lots of character, people were friendly and the restaurant was great. We would choose the Gibson Inn again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nelzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
595 reviews
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
279 reviews
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
8.4 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: $136 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing