We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nearly Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list
Gibson Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
558 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you love old historic inns - the Gibson is a perfect stay! Beautiful dark wood floors throughout, wood clapboard interior walls giving it a ship feel, 4 poster beds, etc. etc. Really lovely, very well maintained, very spacious for an older inn. Bathrooms are in excellent shape. Nice bar downstairs. Front desk is very sweet. Price is quite good between $115-$130-ish. Both queen and king beds available for about $10-15 difference.
The one negative is that it sits in the middle of a forked intersection and so has roads on almost three sides - one of them fairly major. If you end up in a room facing the highway - it can be pretty loud with car noise. Also, the reviews that talk about the river views are wrong. You are 2-3 blocks off the water and it can only be seen in the distance.
Still its a very lovely place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the roads esp. the main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    87
    25
    17
    16
See reviews for
34
165
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I are vegetarians and are always leery of restaurants that say they serve vegetarian food.
Ira's is the best vegetarian food in all Florida, more likely the entire South East. Our Christmas dinner was 5 courses, from the beginning to the last morsel the entire meal was fantastic. From the Mushroom Spring rolls, to the flash fried baby Brussel sprouts, to the radichio salad, to the Tofu rice and veggie dish, and the finale, a wonderful Creme Brulee and a flourless Chocolate cake that was light(as it should be). A meal you would not expect in Apalachicola, the absolute best. Even the dinner rolls were perfect. Ira is a true Master Chef, up for any challenge. our waitress is a sweetheart, anxiously giving tidbits of information about the food. please stop by and try out Ira's menu, you won't be disappointed.
Al & Dorothy

Room Tip: call and fully explain what you expect and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al-Dorothy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is our 5th stay at the Gibson Inn. The first three visits we would give 4 stars. Visit four would be ranked at 3 stars because our rooms were not as clean as previous visits. Our Dec. 21st visit was great -- clean rooms, very pleasant dinner at Ira's, and Scout remember good times at the doggy window. We go out of our direct route to stay at the Gibson Inn. Hope you enjoy it as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UM-KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience! This was our first time to Apalachicola and we loved it! The Gibson Inn was so wonderful and decked out in Christmas decorations was an added bonus. We had a third floor room and got a workout going up & down the stairs, but I needed it. The only down side was the Continental Breakfast. We were expecting more than stale pastries and orange juice in prepackaged containers...come on, we're in FL...at least put out a pitcher of OJ, even if it's MinuteMaid, pretend it's fresh squeezed! Also, the yogurt needed to ice, warm yogurt, yuk, but it beat the pastries!
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Ready with maps and recommendations.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Happened to stumble on the Inn when driving through town. Very nice and clean with a very homey feeling. I very much enjoyed the fact you could sit outside on the wrap around porch. The only downside, the bar downstairs closes early. On the upside, they are considerate of their guest sleeping upstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Gibons Inn is very quaint and tasteful, with excellent service. The staff is very friendly and the accomdations are great. Ira's Restaraunt, within the Gibson Inn, was incredible. Best meal we've ever had. Excellent service, ambiance, music and they even shared the recipes. Try this restaraunt first before trying any in Apalachicola! It really sets the bar!

Room Tip: Choose room on the west side of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeklamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Gibson Inn.

The staff was very friendly, rooms are nice.

Location is perfect - Apalachicola is a very walk-able town (and the Gibson is a spot on the "walking tour"). Many restaurants and cool spots are within easy walking distance.

Everyone is very friendly - it's hard not to strike up a conversation with a stranger.

Love having a bar & restaurant on-site as well!

Can't wait to go back & stay during one of the Murder Mystery weekends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Property: Gibson Inn
Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing