We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved It but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience! This was our first time to Apalachicola and we loved it! The Gibson Inn was so wonderful and decked out in Christmas decorations was an added bonus. We had a third floor room and got a workout going up & down the stairs, but I needed it. The only down side was the Continental Breakfast. We were expecting more than stale pastries and orange juice in prepackaged containers...come on, we're in FL...at least put out a pitcher of OJ, even if it's MinuteMaid, pretend it's fresh squeezed! Also, the yogurt needed to ice, warm yogurt, yuk, but it beat the pastries!
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Ready with maps and recommendations.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    104
    26
    20
    18
See reviews for
39
200
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Happened to stumble on the Inn when driving through town. Very nice and clean with a very homey feeling. I very much enjoyed the fact you could sit outside on the wrap around porch. The only downside, the bar downstairs closes early. On the upside, they are considerate of their guest sleeping upstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Gibons Inn is very quaint and tasteful, with excellent service. The staff is very friendly and the accomdations are great. Ira's Restaraunt, within the Gibson Inn, was incredible. Best meal we've ever had. Excellent service, ambiance, music and they even shared the recipes. Try this restaraunt first before trying any in Apalachicola! It really sets the bar!

Room Tip: Choose room on the west side of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeklamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Gibson Inn.

The staff was very friendly, rooms are nice.

Location is perfect - Apalachicola is a very walk-able town (and the Gibson is a spot on the "walking tour"). Many restaurants and cool spots are within easy walking distance.

Everyone is very friendly - it's hard not to strike up a conversation with a stranger.

Love having a bar & restaurant on-site as well!

Can't wait to go back & stay during one of the Murder Mystery weekends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had reservations for Thanksgiving dinner at 3:30 pm. We had never been to the Gibson Inn. Upon arrival we found a very long line of people waiting at the entrance to the dining room. No one was checking us in, taking our name, letting us know how long the wait would be or seating the patrons ahead of us. No one knew what was going on. About 4 pm we were told to go to a table at the back of the room. There was nothing on the table and we sat there for a long time. It was very drafty and cold. We finally got up and left as it was the most unorganized unwelcoming experience.
Thankfully we had visited with another couple waiting in line behind us and they told us about another place in town. We went there. It was warm, welcoming and had a great view of the water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a wonderful wedding reception at this historic Inn, which is charming. Wraparound porches supplment inside rooms for terrific reception/dining spaces. Most importantly, manager Sue and her crew combined small-town charm with extreme professionalism. They were wonderful to deal with. What they said they would do they did, and with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had our daughter's wedding this past weekend at the Gibson Inn in Apalachicola Florida. It could not have been a more perfect wedding. Everyone at the Gibson was welcoming and helpful beginning 10 months ago when we started planning. The entire inn was reserved for us. It was beautiful. The staff helped with every need and even thought ahead for things we did not think about. The wedding was a destination wedding for virtually every guest. Many had never been to Florida's Forgotten Coast let alone to Apalach (as the locals call it). Everyone was charmed by the Inn, the town, its folks and its weather. I give the Gibson Inn the highest recommendation! Thank you Gibson Inn (especially Sue and Sharon)!

Room Tip: It is a a beautifully renovated old inn so the floors creak a little. Try the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiji W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Property: Gibson Inn
Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing