We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida landmark”
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gibson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Verandas on each level with rocking chairs, walking distance to riverfront, and downtown, great bar for happy hour and Ira's menu was limited but all choices were appealing and our meals were really wonderful. Continental breakfast really sparse.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyswmn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 398 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Gibson Inn has such a warm, welcoming, lived in feel, which is what I love most about it. I've stayed there on trips to charming Apalachicola for the past 20 years, and it always feels like coming home. From its friendly staff who are willing to recommend great dining spots or bring you a drink on the graceful wraparound porch, to its newly reopened gourmet restaurant (called Ira's) and graceful old bar, to the wonderful antique clawfoot tubs -- this hotel has all the comforts and amenities I need. The Gibson offered me beach towels for my day on St. George Island, good coffee each morning with a nice little complimentary breakfast in the bar, a good mattress (kind of a big deal), and best of all, I was left alone to enjoy my stay there. Love this historic inn and this town. Authentic Old Florida at its finest.

Room Tip: When making my reservation, I requested a quiet room and was given one toward the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

You're sure to smitten by this old, original building and it's wrap around veranda with rockers to sip your evening libation. We had a corner room on the top floor but never travel light and were surprised to find no elevator. The gracious woman at the desk carried mine up the two flights of stairs but my husband "manned up" with his. This is such a quiet town, if you need or want that, even the Inn's bar closes early, but it was a nice respite from our drive over from New Orleans. We stayed 2 well rested nights and were becoming restless but the folks who manage this Inn make everyone feel as if they're welcome old friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Easy to find, the first thing you see when crossing the bridge to Apalachicola is the Gibson inn. It is a 100+ year old charming wooden building, which gives it a historic touch. Still, it has high standards and is clearly renovated in modern days.

Staff is extremely helpful and friendly, very personal and engaging.

The Inn has a very nice bar.

10 minutes of driving to the beach, St. George Island, which is also great. Ask for beach towels, you'll get it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Over a hundred years old but well maintained.Just basic . A comfortable bed, good airconditioning. Small bathroom, with the only sink in the room. No frills but very pleasant staff. price is low but remember it is just your basic old Inn. We were there on a friday night and the bar and poarch were filled with locals who couldn't have been nicer. A real great old bar room. A very simple continental type breakfast but we didn't try the restaurant for dinner; it loked nice.Good place to start your tour of the historic district but about a half hour from the beach at the state Park. Would go there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jadolanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were staying on St. George Island when Hurricane Isaac came for a visit. We were evacuated and decided to stay in the Gibson Inn until the evacuation was lifted. We found the Inn to be very confortable and relaxing. The staff were helpful in helping us get settled. Such a relaxing place some of our group stayed there instead of going back to St. George Island. Would go back and visit Apalachicola and the Gibson Inn. Loved the ghost stories. We even have a few stories of our own.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Gibson Inn by chance and found it to be a great place to relax. My son could walk to the fishing pier and the double front porch was terrific. The hotel smells of wood and lemon oil and brought back great memories for me of my great grandmother's house. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms nicely decorated and very comfortable. I highly recommend the Gibson Inn for anyone traveling through the panhandle of Florida.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
404 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
610 reviews
8.4 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
230 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range: $117 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing