We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gibson Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Apalach Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
$120
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St George Inn(St. George Island)
$149
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(St. George Island)
$157
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mainstay Suites(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
$139
$119
MainStaySuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Inn(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveler rating
219
133
33
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
133
33
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mysteryhistoric hotelwrap around porchblack catcoffee cakeno elevatorold floridarooms are smallrocking chairsthird floormodern amenitiestop floorfront porchoystersstep back in timecontinental breakfastgeorge island
Filter
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 427 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Took the long way to get from Pensacola to Orlando and spent a saturday night in Apalachicola and stayed at the Gibson Inn. Wanted to get away from the spring break crowd, T-Shirt shops, and condos. Found the place in Apalachicola. As soon as I arrived, I knew I found it.

Gibson Inn was perfect. You feel like you went back in time 100 years while sitting on the porch and enjoying an adult beverage in the evening or your coffee in the morning.

The staff is very gracious and helpful.

Walked around downtown until dark. The most relaxing place I have visited in a long time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hsmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stopped by this inn for an overnight stay on our way through town. Based on a review on this site, did not make a reservation (a bit of a risk, but it's off-season). We did get a lower rate than what is advertised. The front desk clerk was very nice & let us look at two rooms, a queen and a king, and allowed us to choose.
We selected the king size room on the third floor as it was a bit larger, and the bathroom was much larger with a claw-foot tub (great way to relax after spending hours on the road).
The house is over 105 years old and has it's share of creaks and a distinct smell (like my grandmother's house). It is conveniently located and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the water. The inn has a great wrap-around porch. While we were sitting on the rocking chairs enjoying a glass of wine, the locals would stop and chat with us asking about where we were from and offering recommendations of what to see and do.
Great place to spend a day or two to just relax and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Not sure what the rooms were like on first & second floor, but thinking with the creaks in the floor the third floor (top floor) may be a bit more quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I like this hotel. Room was clean, a little small, but it did the job. Bed was comfortable. Wasn't too crazy about walking 3fls to our room. Other than that, everyone was friendly and we enjoyed our stay. Cool place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilrusandFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The good (this is the five-star portion of my review) ...

Nice old hotel in the center of town near shops and restaurants. The bar was charmingly old. The porch that surrounds three sides of the hotel is littered with Adirondack chairs and rocking chairs which make it just about perfect. We enjoyed a glass of wine at sunset on the porch before wandering through town to find a restaurant.

The hotel rooms and bathrooms are very clean and very nice, especially considered the age of the building.

The staff was most accommodating and friendly.

There is an adequate, but very basic, continental breakfast of muffins and coffee cake.

The not-so-good (this is the one-star portion)...

We paid too much by making a reservation. While hanging out in the lobby, I heard the desk clerk quoting rates over the phone that were $20-30 less than we paid. She confirmed that the hotel provides lower rates to walk-ins than to those who make reservations, and she could do nothing to change our rate.

The restaurant is closed. According to the desk clerk, "Our chef took his Katrina money and went to San Diego." Not sure what that means, but the restaurant is definitely closed.

Wi-fi hardly works. We had zero signal in our room and an intermittent signal on the porch.

Room Tip: Do not make a reservation. According to the bartender, peak season is in June and July. Surprise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My bf and I went to the Gibson Inn for the Murder Mystery Weekend! Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. Upon check in, we noticed that the toilet in our room was not clean, but after a call to the front desk, someone came immediately to clean it. Our room was clean and we had no issues with it. Our room was right at the top of the stairs ont he 2nd floor, so we heard people coming up and down all night long. The noise was worse in the bathroom, but not too terrible when we were in bed.

As for the Murder Mystery Weekend, I did feel it was lacking a little for the price we paid. The actors were amazing. Food at dinner was alright, nothing spectacular. Breakfast was normal hotel breakfast food of pancakes, bacon or sausage. My boyfriend and I were the youngest people at the Inn (early 30s). The town is very quaint and had some interesting shops. It was a great getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMM1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews