We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing, luxurious ~ what a gem on the 'forgotten coast'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
S FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing, luxurious ~ what a gem on the 'forgotten coast'”
Reviewed May 8, 2009

The hotel and marina are located on the quiet waters of the Apalachicola River. Each suite has a screened balcony with table and chairs. You will want to while away the hours there, listening to the birds and watching the river activites. Our suite had 2 bedrooms and bath rooms ~ each with a comfortable king-sized bed, as well as a roomy living area and fully equiped kitchen (right down to the wine glasses!) It was like walking into 'home' complete with paintings of local scenes, hardwood floors, granite counter tops and stainless appliances in the kitchen. It was an excellent place to relax and rejuvinate your spirits. The staff was cheerful, helpful, and kind in all of our encounters. It was luxury at its best!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happytravelerSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    64
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
91
205
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Did I just get lucky, or have I been finally living right??? This place is the most incredible $140 a night hotel I have ever known. It is even better than it's own website, a rare case of understatement. OK, maybe I got a cheaper very early Spring rate but I would cheerfully pay more. Huge suite with hardwood floors thru the master bed, separate living room and full kitchen. Yes...a full kitchen and (praise be) a full sized coffee pot. Two bathrooms, one with walk in shower. And a 30 feet screened verandah looking over the river and marshes and the marine below. Only open a year or so so it is squeaky clean and like new. Super helpful staff, internet in rooms and a location at the end of a dead end street for peace and quiet. Yeah, the guy hosing down his yacht right under my window made some splashing noises. I love funky Florida rather than the glitzy places and Apalachicola and environs sure counts as funky. But the Water Street hotel would be a dream at the price where-ever it was. Walking distance to two major oyster eating places.....me and my laptop might stay here forever!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank larach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Our family has made St George Island our vacation choice for over 5 years. Last year, we were staying on the island in a home across from the beach when a waterspout hit and took out all electricity to the island. It would be at least a couple of days to get all the damage repaired. With no electricity and the heat of the sun, we chose to seek alternative lodging. A lot of visitors had decided to do the same and had already "decended" upon Appalachicola. Further, we had our small dog with us. Many motels, etc. would not allow our pet. We always visit Appalach... but not to stay overnight. After spending too much time being told "no", we used our GPS to locate any new motels, etc. that we could find. Exhausted, we found Waters St. late in the night. Although it looked new on the outside, I figured with our luck so far... it would be the pits. I was at the most expecting the same old double bed, kitchenette, little bath deal.But- surprise- I was STUNNED!
We were in... well, not a suite... more like a condo with over 1000 sq ft.. We had a full service kitchen, breakfast area, living room, 2 bedrooms, and 2 baths. The decor was gorgeous... upgraded everything... poster beds, beautiful furniture, LCD TVs in living and bed rooms, stainless appliances with custom cabinets and granite countertops, the baths look like home not hotel... on and on. We took baths and showers- we crashed. The next morning I realized that one bedroom had a great view of the pool- the other a gorgeous view of the bay waters. The entire back wall had french doors with a private balcony to watch the sun rise or set. Below the balcony, I found the marina where visitors could dock their boats. As I sat and watched the sun rise, it was so relaxing. You can't bet the views! Since then, we have found Waters St. offers many services for business trips, romantic get aways, weddings, etc. I am SO glad we found Waters St. Hotel! What a marvelous stay! I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natilda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed at the Water Street Hotel last summer and can't wait to return!!!! Along with my wife and 20 year old daughter we stayed for 4 nights on our way to returning her to the University of Florida. Awesome suites, astounding natural beauty and a wonderful, history rich town make a stop in Apalachicola a fantastic experience. This is not Disney World or Orlando, so get rid of the chip on your shoulder and go to Apalachicola to relax and enjoy the serenity and beauty of one of the last unspoiled areas of Florida. Walk slowly, eat the best oysters in the world, take naps, relax by the pool and best of all, sit on your porch and enjoy Florida the way God intended it!!!!!! Love the place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ApemanColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

The Water Street Hotel is a beautiful place located in Apalachicola, on the Apalachicola River. This is really a "condo" hotel, with each suite having a sitting area, full kitchen, and two baths (a real plus). All the rooms face the river and have screened in porches. The rooms are beautifully decorated with hardwood floors and oriental carpets.

We stayed in the one bedroom suite, but it had an additional small bedroom that is intended to sleep one other person, if needed. There are also 2 bedroom units.

We found the service excellent and the rooms immaculate. It was a great get-away and a wonderful place for rest and rejuvenation.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
570 reviews
8.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
262 reviews
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Property: Water Street Hotel & Marina
Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing