We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Now one of our favorite hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water Street Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Now one of our favorite hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Water Street Hotel is in all aspects a truly outstanding hotel in a quaint, interesting town. My wife and I spent two nights there. The suites are large, extremely well designed and equiped. With large, private screened porches, it is a delight to look over a creek, a river and marshes and enjoy silence. The staff are among the most friendly and helpful we have experienced. Evelyn at checkin and Nedra later that day were outstanding. There are at least six excellent restaurants nearby, and the oysters are sublime. We look forward to a return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed suite 306 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    59
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
88
191
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a wonderful 50 birthday party at the Water Street hotel. There was a total of 16 of us. We had a good selection of different rooms. All were very nicely designed and completely furnished with a full kitchen. Nedra Jackson checked us all in and made sure that we had everything that we needed for our stay. Fun was had by all!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 308 Top floor great view and lots of space!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in july 2012. First impressions weren't great as it looked like we had rolled up to an industrial estate!! However, don't be fooled - this place is amazing!!! Our apartment was not what we expected at all!!! It was HUGE!!!!!! Loved everything about this place, from the complimentary glass of wine on arrival to the recommendations by the receptionist and finally to the complimentary oysters voucher received for 'Up The Creek Raw' restaurant down the road - yummy!! A really nice touch!!! The balcony was lovely, with protective mosquito nets surrounding it and had lovely views of the water and the boats. A really chilled oot place - would definitely visit again!! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELBP2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay over the long new year's weekend in Apalachicola at the Water St Hotel. I found out about it through Trip Advisor and was very pleased. It's a beautiful place with lovely views over the water. I saw lots of water birds but no gators or dolphins. I took a nice boat tour from the maritime museum and didn't see any either, but I think the cold weather might be the reason. We did see lots of eagles on our boat tour, which was a nice surprise. We are the type that keep the do not disturb sign up for short trips but we got a call from the front desk every afternoon asking if we needed them to bring us anything since we didn't have our room serviced. I thought that was a nice touch. We did spend alot of time waiting for he elevator on the first floor. When you press the button it doesn't light up most of the time. it eventually works. The food in the town was incredible despite the oyster shortage that is very much in the news down there. Recommend Oysters Migonette & Huge Peel & Eat Shrimp at Up the Creek, Crab & Shrimp Bisque at Papa Joes, Shrimp & Grits and Raw Oysters at Boss Oyster, Beef Tenderloin Eggs Benedict at the Owl Cafe. We walked out of Carolines at breakfast because they kept ignoring us and waiting on other people who came in after us. Ended up at Tamara's which we enjoyed. I learned on my river tour that the area is also famous for Tupelo honey (which I have never heard of) and that there was a movie made about it called Ulee's Gold with Peter Fonda. We are looking forward to watching it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just gotten back from another Apalachicola trip, again staying at the Water Street Hotel. While we still enjoyed it, things were just not up to our expectations after staying there a year ago. The staff wasn't as personable, we had to contact them each day about something missing from our breakfast basket or some housekeeping issue. The yogurt they supplied in the breakfast basket was out of date, until we pointed it out to them and got some in date.

When you're paying top dollar, I just expect more. I was surprised at how high the rates were, considering the place was practically empty.

Does it mean I won't go back? Certainly not. But, I will adjust my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKD909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHM, General Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear RKD909,

We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us! At the Water Street Hotel and Marina, we always expect a flawless guest experience for all of our guests’ stays. I wanted to take an opportunity to respond to your Trip Advisor report from your recent holiday vacation.

Our staff is basically the folks we had during your trip last year. I am sorry that they did not seem as personable as your last visit. Our staff and management take pride in treating all of guests as if you were guests in our own homes. It is our policy to call all the rooms on a daily basis to make sure all of our guests’ needs are met. It is unfortunate that your issues were not brought to our attention during these calls and that you found it necessary to contact us each day. We make these calls to our guests in order to provide us with an opportunity to correct any problems and to find solutions for your concerns, before it is necessary to call us.
In your Trip Advisor report, you stated that the yogurt we supplied in the breakfast basket was out of date, until you pointed it out to us and got some in date. I apologize for the oversight of the yogurts being out of date. We discovered that our purveyor had sent an out of date case and the case had to be returned to our supplier. Unfortunately, a few items were delivered to rooms. Normally, a “sell by” or “use date” is not indicative that a product cannot be safely consumed. However, it is not our normal business practice to place items for our guests outside of the stamped date on the product. We apologize for this minor incident, but this type of incident should not have adversely affected your stay.
Our rates vary throughout the year. Like most hotels, our rates are a little higher during designated holidays, such as your stay during the Christmas holiday. While you were surprised at how high the rates were, “considering the place was practically empty”, looks can be deceiving because during your stay our occupancy was actually at a high rate. That is the beauty of our property because when we are busy it does not appear to our guest as if we are.

Though we can't undo what has been done, we are confident that these issues will not be repeated. We do not want our guests to “adjust their expectations” in our hotel, we have high expectations in our ability to serve our guests and strive daily to maintain excellence results. We do appreciate your remarks on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again soon!

For further assistance with this matter and future reservations, you may contact Leigh Coble, Operations Manager, (850) 653-3700 or email: Leigh@waterstreethotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great new place, try to be upscale in a tiny town. I only have one issue, for the price they should consider food service. The concierge was nice. Expect a call from a realator offering a "tour", but 2thumbs up, wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiloMWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Well, OK, location, property, views, comfort, all great. But special kudos to front office staff, especially Nedra, top notch. From your suites, you can watch birds, boats and all kinds of activity. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: They are all good, but we like an upper floor.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FlyingHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
8.9 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
18.1 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Property: Water Street Hotel & Marina
Address: 329 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing