We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Char-Grilled Oysters.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caroline's Dining on the River

Caroline's Dining on the River
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perdido, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Char-Grilled Oysters.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My daughter and I both ordered a dozen char-grilled oysters. We were very disappointed in them. They were runny. In fact, 2 of mine was still cold. Only 8 others eating so I don't think they would have been rushed. This was at 5:30 on a Saturday evening too. The view was nice. Will not be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Caroline's Dining on the River, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Norm 1948, I have just read your review. We have served char-grilled for two years and they are a good seller. To be served chargrilled oysters in the manner you experienced is absolutely inexcusable, and we will get to the bottom of this. Your past reviews of other locations are fair and through. I am sure this is a fair review and we are saddened by your experience. Thanks for your input. All the best Caroline owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    169
    84
    54
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and a great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Caroline's on the River was recommended to us by several family members and friends, so my parents and I decided to check it out on a Tuesday night last week. We called ahead to make a reservation, but realized once we had arrived that it was really not necessary as we were one of the only groups there for the evening. Apparently on weekends, though, it can be packed, so definitely call ahead if you plan to go on a busier night. We were seated at a great indoor table with a nice view of the river (outdoor seating was also available). Our waitress was very attentive and the service was great. The food was absolutely delicious -- definitely recommend the grouper and key lime pie! It was also a pleasant surprise to see $6 glasses of wine that were very generously poured. :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The service was a bit slow, but excellent. And the food was outstanding! We ate way too much, but couldn't stop because it tasted so good. Gravy and biscuits, maple flavored bacon, shrimp and grits and fresh squeezed orange juice...yummy! Can't wait to go back for dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank D L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The setting is nice and it was a very pleasant dinner although it was a bit noisy. They have a good selection and we had the grouper, they fix it several ways. Be sure to ask for a table overlooking the river.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T-Fox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Being from Tallahassee it is not to far way. My family loves to come to Carolines on weekends for breakfast, and never be disappointed. Service always on top of there game. Dinner also is great. Thanks again. You know we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank babysbabys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Dining on the River also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Caroline's Dining on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing