We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Caroline's Dining on the River
Ranked #18 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
EastCoast
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice resturant with a good selection of oysters which is what to expect in Apalachicola. The view is nice with a choice of inside or out dining.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank YesIwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    178
    87
    58
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a View”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here- wonderful lite French toast. Great view of the river/bay with glass or outing a screened in deck! Service was quick and prompt even though I noticed a few people had to wait until they were noticed- partly due to where the entrance is at. Will come again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Awesome breakfast....best pancakes & french toast ever! Excellent service!
And if you get a chance stop by for dinner....pricing $$$$

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CostaRica082310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice View of the Waterfront”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Good seafood and a relaxing evening watching the shrimp boats returning to port. Nothing was really excellent but it was enjoyable and the service was local rather than professional.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaineonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We gave this place a try on the spur of the moment and after asking if they could accommodate our party of four adults and two children. They had a very good menu to select from and a children's menu too. The water view was nice and our server, Sean, made the visit special. We had the blue crab cakes and they were the best crab cakes I have ever eaten, served in a sauce that had to be finished off with the rolls because it was THAT good. We all had different entrees but all agreed the food was the best of this visit to the area. I gave a great review to another well known restaurant in Apalachicola but Caroline's food was better and children were more appreciated here. Real tablecloths, not covered in paper like the other place, and our wine choices were good too. I had fried shrimp in both restaurants and Caroline's was the best, and I was able to select cheese grits as a side! I am a raised in the South grits lover, and they were very good here. There were enough choices on the menu to please everyone. We had no room for desserts but they sounded awesome. We will definitely head to Caroline's first on our next trip down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 39148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Dining on the River also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Caroline's Dining on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing