We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SUNDAY LUNCH /BRUNCH”
Review of Owl Cafe

Owl Cafe
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SUNDAY LUNCH /BRUNCH”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

i've been to Owl Tap Room on several occasions, but never to the main Owl Cafe. went with friend for lunch/brunch...lots of others did also, busy place.
she had omelet of the day...mushroom/spinach...comes with fried pot. "cubes", fruit side. i had fried oyster Po' Bo' (let, tom, on) and the duck confit fries (you read right)...pieces of duck & cracklings with gryuere cheese.
all very good...relatively inexpensive (omelet $10, sandwich $12).
would go back...lots of other goodies to choose from. happy trails

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r1manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    308
    97
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“DUCK FRIES!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

As a local this is a go to place for consistently GREAT food, GREAT service and GREAT drinks. They have wonderful happy hour deals and their duck fries & crab dip are some the best things I have ever eaten in my life.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kriddledum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory, MI
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My dinner salad was especially impressive. As a single diner, the Hostess went out of her way to make me feel welcome.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennice, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cloth napkin service in a paper napkin town”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stopped here for a late lunch and were promptly greeted and seated. The dining room is more formal than many we have experienced in a beach town and the crisp white tablecloth and napkins were refreshing. We had read other Trip Advisor reviews so I knew I wanted to try the french fries. Yes,,,they are the best french fries I've ever tasted!

Needing a gluten-free menu, my choices were slim. I selected the grilled grouper sandwich without the bun. It was an ample lunch portion and the fish was moist and expertly grilled. My husband was pleased with his shrimp tacos stuffed with peppers, mushrooms, and onions. NOTE TO RESTAURANT: If you would offer the choice of corn tortilla or flour tortilla with these tacos you would have a gluten-free option for your patrons. An easy way to add some variety for us "special needs eaters."

The woman at the next table was not pleased with her penne and meatballs and the waitress graciously replaced it without question. Always nice to see these situations handled without a hassle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GingerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great happy hour!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Tap Room was a great stop after walking the streets of Apalachicola for a couple of hours. The waitress was very friendly. The crab dip and tortilla chips appetizer was outstanding. The chips were the best I have ever had...period. The oysters were sweet and Apalachicola perfect. The beer was cold...did I say the waitress was friendly! Obviously the Tap Room is a local favorite. The friendly banter was great. This is a great place and we will visit again when we return in March. This was a pleasant experience; food, drink, and ambiance!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrestviewEER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owl Cafe also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Owl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing