We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geat Place for Foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Owl Cafe

Owl Cafe
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Geat Place for Foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The restaurant is above a cookery store and the name Cafe belies the scope of food offered. I had sauteed sweetbreads for an appetizer which was superb. My entree was a pan fried flounder topped with crab meat, again superb. My partner had fried oyster which she said were the best she had in many years. Service was efficient and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ForbesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    295
    91
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havana, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fresh seafood and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My friend and I decided to have dinner after a recommendation from a local friend. We attended an afternoon performance at the Dixie Theatre. Arrived about 7:30 PM, restaurant was nicely appointed and very pleasant. Our waitress was efficient but not very friendly. My friend ordered Crab cakes as an entrée. I ordered a combination of fried oysters and fried shrimp. Our salad was fresh and tasty. The crab cakes (3) were fried to a very dark brown color and had a large amount of filler in them. They were not fresh and probably came in frozen. My fried oysters were not identifiable as oysters no one of then could have been considered as standard. They two were fried to a dark brown color. As to the shrimp there were 6 butterflied shrimp which had to have been purchased frozen and then fried. One could say that I am spoiled about fresh seafood and I suppose I am having been born and raised about 70 miles from Apalachicola. I could not in conscious recommend this café for a evening dinner especially for the price charged.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert_MP3744DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like beer, love the Tap Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Tucked away on a back street next to the Owl Café is the Tap Room. Rex, the owner has a great array of beers from around the country. He has just purchased the Oasis Bar across the street and is installing a full time brewery complete with a brew master. All of the locals are waiting eagerly for the first batches to be available.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

A very relaxed, yet smart and sophisticated dining experience where the choices of freshly prepared food should suit any palate or pocket. Continuously filled coffee cups ( at no extra charge) freshly squeezed orange juice, poched eggs on corned-beef hash and Hollandaise sauce. Delicious!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
132 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This restaurant requires a stair climb and there didn't seem to be an elevator. We had a table by the window with an excellent view of the water. Our server was charming. There were specials offered, but we opted for the salad with fried oysters. It was excellent. The oysters were generous, but small and succulent on a bed of the freshest lettuces. It was perfectly dressed.
The menu is also posted on the side of the building outside the restaurant, which can be helpful. I highly recommend this restaurant. It's located in an "old town" area, surrounded by small shops perfect for browsing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talu2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owl Cafe also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Owl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing