We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view was the best part of this meal”
Review of Boss Oyster

Boss Oyster
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The view was the best part of this meal”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stopped in for a late lunch and were able to easily acquire a table. We sat on the deck, under one of the fans. The shrimp was fresh and I asked for it to be grilled - to which the kitchen added Old Bay seasoning. The shrimp was well prepared - not over grilled. The red beans & rice were delicious. My partner had the crab cakes, which he said were just average. The fries were a bit bland for me. The best part of the meal was the view - we had the best time watching birds fly around us, and the dolphins play in the canal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler09_10_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    300
    217
    105
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The food was decent, but no seasoning what so ever. Food did come out quick and hot.... Server couldn't tell us if shrimp were de-vained or even try to find out. Other then that she was fine. Oh and the Sweet tea was WAY TO SWEET!!!!

Helpful?
Thank law391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent, not nearly as good as times past”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hostess was uncertain if she could seat seven at one table, we had to solve this problem ourselves. We then had to ask to have bird feces wiped off our table. Food was just adequate. Hip Hop music playing too loud.

Atmosphere/view is amazing-almost makes up for poor food.

(My mother asked that I add that the local cats are missing and she misses them)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Good seafood with a view”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This restaurant has been an Appalachicola standby for many years. It is on the water and offers a good view if seated on the deck. Prices are in line with other restaurants in the area. It does get busy at peak times. Our dinner was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toofaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch and a nice view”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

A friend and I decided to go to the Boss last Tuesday. The restaurant was on half full upon our arrival. I wanted the grouper sandwich despite the cost of $15. My friend ordered the bay scallop poor boy which I would recommend. They placed 18 perfectly cooked bay scallops on the roll. He gave the sandwich a thumbs up. My grouper sandwich was good; however , I would suggest putting the grouper on the roll that is used for the poor boys. The view and the service was great. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Oyster also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Boss Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing