We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood and the Freshest Oysters”
Review of Boss Oyster

Boss Oyster
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and the Freshest Oysters”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We dropped in on a recommendation from gentleman we rented a canoe from in St George Island. The food was fantastic! The oysters were huge and very tasty. I ate them raw, the family tried many different variations, everything was fantastic! The service was ok for a busy night. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    300
    217
    105
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food is still great, the service is lacking!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have never had a waitress use dirty words when serving me oysters......til now....! The oysters were awesome, the entrees were super.....the staff is very different from previous visits to the restaurant....Im all about the unrefined nature of the oyster bars and restaurants in the area but we need to polish up the help a bit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED AND EMBARRASSED”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Needless to say. I brought my friends on vacation for the weekend to St. George Island. I HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Boss. I am extremely disappointed and personally embarrassed to say the least. The service was TERRIBLE! A simple apology would have sufficed for, salads being served after entrees, drinks never served that were ordered, not 1 drink refill at our table, the server would disappear for 30min at a time to have forgotten we asked for anything, we ordered food that we never received, when it was brought to the managers attention that the several drinks, oysters & sides that were missing the manager had Only French Fries delivered to our table in a small TO GO BOX!! We were still eating!!! No refills no other missing food drinks and sides! We again asked to speak to the manager and we were told that she said she could not help because she was too busy..... When it was asked what she was doing she said she was busy splitting our checks.... I replied and asked what she was holding in her hand at that exact moment.... It was our checks!!!! So she LIED! We responded that we would wait on her. The waitress walked off to again tell the manager that we would like to see her, I requested her leave the checks for us to review. On our checks (3) totaling over $200 for the table, we were all charged for
Drinks and food that we never received. When the manager returned she stated "I was going to comp some of your food but I noticed that you all have eaten your food so I will not be comping anything". We did not ask for
Free Food. Not one time did she say that she was sorry nor apologize for the service that we were complaining about. She walked off while she was being spoken too. there were 5 empty tables on the 1 room we were in they were not that busy. A fun Memorial Weekend dinner was turned into a 2 hour chaotic
ordeal. NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Geteupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Gateupp, With sadness we apologize for your bad experience. How dare our wait staff manager treat our guests in that way. We are not always at our best. In this instance we were not. I belive you were under served and insulted. I believe you were embaressed to recommed us after dining with us for years. WE have taken action to hold the waitstaff manager responsible and have replaced this person, We are delighted to have Angela a long time employee who really cares back No you should not have experienced this dear diner over the years. We let you down Larry owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury TX
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fresh Oysters in a Classic Florida Oyster Restaurant”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I recently ate at Boss Oyster House in Apalachicola, Florida and was highly impressed. From the classic riverside location to the Fresh Oysters, it would be hard to find better or fresher oysters than at Boss Oysters. I had parmesan, garlic covered grilled oysters and they were beyond great. The Key Lime Pie was also excellent. A must do in this cool old Florida place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fototexGranburyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
fototex,Thanks for visiting the Boss. We are excited about our restaurant.We have great plans for your oyster. This year we have developed our "oyster kitchen".We now have our wood show char grill broiler from Mesquite Texas.The purpose is the chargrilled oyster on the 1/2 shell cooked with butter and parmesan cheese over hickory or live oak embers. If you visit the Boss and we hope you do check out our "oyster kitchen". We got the fire going right next to our marina where we have our own oyster boats bring in the days catch of oysters. Our boats are refrigerated to chill your oyster from bay to belly. We are the only oyster bar in the oyster capital and the entire panhandle that has the state and federal license to bring your oyster by boat from chilled on the bay to chargrilled before your eyes. Back in the before regulation days the only ones who could surpass us in this presentation were the American Indians who ate the fire grilled oyster and placed the shells in mounds.I guess they didn't have butter and parmesan cheese. Next our oyster roast. 3 dozen fresh caught oysters broiled in the shell on the wood grill flavored with our natural wood broiler logs. We are happy here. We are excited here. Your oyster is our world. We are excited to have been named "Americas top thirteen oyster bars" Food And Wine magazine 2013. We are Oyster Town Oyster Republic. Come see us. Boss crew, Caroline and Larry proud owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a place for a crowd”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent Mother's day weekend at St. George Island and some of our crew wanted oysters. We went to Boss's on a recommendation from someone in our group and showed up with 10 people (6 adults and 4 kids). We were told that the manager changed the policy the weekend before and if we wanted to sit together we had to pay on one card and that they could only take separate cards if we sat separately. That doesn't work when you are on vacation with 2 couples not to mention that of course the kids would want to sit together. They said they had to do it this way for parties of 6 or more. The staff just gave us attitude and we did not feel welcome there at all so we went down the street and gave our business and several hundred dollars to the Owl Cafe who was more than happy to accomodate us and allow us to sit together.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Crystal G, Thanks for review. Your's is a legitimate complaint. If yours was a party of 10 with 3
couples and 4 children than that would have been only 3 checks. The waitress should have been more accommodating in any event and not ask that your party split up. All this of Mother's day weekend. Whoops we goofed Caroline and Larry owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Oyster also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Boss Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing