We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boss Oyster
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The very best in fresh Oysters. When I first found this lovely jewel in Apalachicola , they had a menu that presented Oysters 28 different Ways. Wow! I only got to try 5 different selections but the one that is so worth many awards , drum roll please....Oysters Japanoise. These are Oysters on the half shell with a bit of soy sauce, wasabi and red and green flying fish roe. You must try these and if you are not thoroughly pleased then"Shut Up and Shuck".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simsadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for your kind review. The Boss Oyster is dedicated to serving the worlds best oyster. We chill our oysters on our boats and deliver them to our docks" chilled from bay to belly" No road time here. No other oyster bar on the Gulf Coast has the state and federal permits to do this. Taste the raw delight. Safe delicious, many delicious chilled toppings to enhance the the natural flavor. The Boss is also the Boss of baked delights. Our hot toppings are a culmination of original recipes and guests submissions. We flame broil all half shell delights no microwave going on here. Your oyster is our world. We are Boss Oyster. Oyster lovers come see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 720 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had lunch at Boss Oyster on a Thursday. The view from the porch was beautiful. No problems with birds at all. Our server was prompt and friendly. I had broiled oysters, which were large, plump, and juicy -- just great. Husband had fish, which he really enjoyed. We enjoyed our lunch and will eat here again when we're in the area.

Thank Carrolltonnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thanks for submitting your kind review of the Boss on Tripadvisor. It is you and so many other travelers to the Boss Oyster that lifts our spirits. Because of these kind remarks the Boss Oyster has been given the Tripadvisor "Certificate of Execellence" award for 2013 our third such distinction in three years. The award celebrates hospitality excellence and is given only to establishments that consistently achieve outstanding traveler reviews on Tripadvisor. Winners of the Certificate of Excellence are located all over the world and represent the upper echelon of businesses listed on the website,with only the top 10 percent receiving the prestigious award. Thank You All

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a great place to eat.
Staff is sooo friendly, but not intrusive.
My husband and I had grouper, red fish (i think), fried oysters, and fish dip. Our first time eating any of these things.
Everything was yummy.
We ate there twice, which is fairly unheard of when we are on vacation, because we like to try a variety of places when we travel.
Be sure to knock some food on the floor (if you are outside) for the little kitten that has decided this is the best place in town, too! :-)

Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

A five star review on Tripadvisor we strive for this event, and by the way thanks for that. As a retired veterinarian Caroline and I sought a new career. WE were blessed to end up in Apalachicola and to buy this wonderful property. How can we make a difference. Well first of all we landed in tis wonderful seafood town that has the worlds best oyster. Caroline said this if we are in the oyster capital lets be the Boss Oyster. That was 23 years ago. Now you have the worlds best oyster born at the end of pristine waters flowing hundreds of miles of total non population only natures flow. No where on this planet can this be equaled. By law this oyster in Apalachicola Bay most be only gently lifted by tongs gently by oystermen, A tough labor of love. Elsewhere on the Gulf Coast conveyor belt dredges are allowed to systematically the bottom. Not here here the tong is a long handle and basket that is genlyf applied to actually pick the oyster from the bottom. That is the Apalachicol oyster. How can we improve. Well this is a food item that you eat whole and totally raw. Ok lets make it safe and delicious by icing it on our boats just like any seafood product i.e. fish clams etc.Lets chill this best oyster in the world from "bay to belly" Lets acquire all state and federal license to deliver this oyster to our docks by refrigerated boats. No road time here lets chill your oyster from bay to belly and lets us serve it to you on ice on a silver platter. Boss Oyster "Your oyster is our world" Taste the difference. WE are excited here for almost a quarter of a century. World famous Apalachicola Bay Oysters Taste the difference

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Try the shrimp & grits. It was the best ever. Very picturesque on the water. The Rock II oysters were my favorite.

Thank 102CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Fried crab cake and oysters were good. Homemade honey mustard dressing on salad was very good. No problems with birds. We were there around sunset and although we couldnt see the sunset, we were onthe Eastern side of the Apalachicola river, we got to see many shrimp boats head out to sea, which was awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NawlinsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Oyster also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Boss Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing