We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters everywhere!”
Review of Boss Oyster

Boss Oyster
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oysters everywhere!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Terrific food and friendly service. Perfect location in a quirky and charming town. Good value at lunch time. Don't miss the oyster tacos!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank calwashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    294
    214
    102
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Smallest oysters”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The oysters were tasty & they serve them an overwhelming number of ways but I have already been to a lot of places for oysters & they were super small here. Small in general & very small for the Apalachicola Bay. Like most places (not all) they close early @ 9 & they make sure you know it...so otherwise felt rushed & felt like I was an annoyance. None of the experience made me want to try again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mybell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Please reference magazine 850-northwest florida- "declining oysters" Jan 2013 to see the state of the entire Apalachicola bay. We have served Apalachicola bay oysters exclusively for 22 years and sometimes take the heat for it. We serve them as they are and we have three boats with veteran oystermen catching oysters every day. Ours are the only restaurants Caroline's and Boss Oyster in the bay to send out its own boats The oysters still taste the best but vary greatly in size. Larry Maddren, owner, Wellsville New York native.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
471 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We ate here on both our nights in Apalachicola. My husband had the shrimp and grits and I had the fried shrimp basket the first night. The second night I had the fried scallop basket and he had some oysters and the crab cake basket. All our food was very good and the service, while not real attentive, was very friendly. My hubby has not had oysters in years and he said they were excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Was as good as advertised...”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to Boss Oyster for lunch on a recommendation from a friend. I had plain raw oysters and they were by far the best I have ever tasted. Also had the soft shell crab sandwich which would have been better broiled rather than deep fried (the server told me it could not be prepared that way). Was still good though and huge (2 crabs). My husband had fried scallops and said they were very good. Also Journey's End sandwich, Key west oysters and chowder had by our friends were delicious as well. Service was a bit slow but who cares when you are sitting on the river watching the wildlife. Plan to return again and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank empresskareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

6 people went for dinner. Friendly wait staff. I had snapper that was grilled. A tiny bit dry but better than coated with oil. 2 of the men had a dozen baked oysters with cheese and they loved them. The others ordered sandwhiches. Reasonable prices

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Oyster also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Boss Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing