We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Boss Oyster

Boss Oyster
Ranked #14 of 38 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Over the past few years the quality of food at Boss Oyster has been declining. My most recent and LAST visit was a few weeks ago - food was average at best and way over-priced! We had decided to give Boss Oyster another chance thinking our past few visits may not have been the norm. We will not return. We prefer our oysters raw- they were good, cold and salty- but the price per dozen was out of sight for other restaurants in the area. Our entree was ok, nothing special and also overpriced- less quantity, less quality. Very disappointed in the current Boss Oyster- sad to see a great place decline so much!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Boss Oyster, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
The Boss Oyster has been under our ownership since 1990. Then the price of gasoline was $1.19/gallon. We are proud of the Boss Oyster and share the same excitement of ownership as the first day we opened. We knew we were in a special town a true"Fresh Market of Seafood" Like all seafood lovers we crave fresh unfrozen local seafood. The excitement of serving fresh caught oysters led us to pursue the state and federal licenses necessary to purchase directly from the fishermen and oyster catchers. We hired our own oystermen, paid them well and bought our own boats. To maintain the pristine taste of the Apalachicola Bay we refrigerated our boats to bring the temperature of the oysters down to 55 degrees or lower and slowed their pumping process of water in water out. WE realize that ice is key with fresh seafood. Our raw oyster enters are served to you over ice on a silver platter. Our Grouper is bought off boats that caught them or from a local dealer up the river.In 22 years our restaurants Boss Oyster and Caroline's have NEVER served Grouper that was previously frozen. Our Boss oysterman is a third generation oysterman and his son a fourth generation oysterman. The opportunity is there for us to be able to pursue "off the boats" seafood an answer to our prayers. Larry and Caroline Maddren owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    298
    216
    104
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Made ME Smile :-)”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you find yourself in Apalachicola Florida don't miss the chance to eat at Boss Oyster House. Sitting directly on the Apalachichicola River, wth the oyster boat tied up outside, this place serves oysters and other seafood as fresh as it can get. This is an "old Florida" joint that will make you smile ...that secret smile... that says you've found something special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“cute place”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a dozen oysters, the pasta salad and a cup of the grouper soup. The oysters were good and tasted fresh. The pasta salad said it had scallops, shrimp, and crab meat in a vinaigrette dressing, but it had very minimal crab meat and tiny scallops. Mostly just shrimp. And by vinaigrette, they mean heavy mayo dressing. Do not expect a light vinegar and oil dressing as I had imagined. Service needs to be worked on. We waited several minutes for someone to even acknowledge we were waiting for a table and our server was a little rough around the edges. Overall, it was ok. The best part was the atmosphere as it's open, right on the water and cute decor. We'd probably go back, but just for the oysters.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzpinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Used to be the best, now just average..”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been traveling to St. George Island for years now and we always eat at Boss Oyster. This place used to be THE PLACE to eat oysters, but in recent years it has declined. Food is average and service is usually great, but nothing extraordinary. Oysters are over priced considering that they were harvested a mile from the restaurant. I would recommend eating here, but don't get your hopes up too high.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deltafa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“What a joke”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I guess these folks are living in the past when they WERE the best. I drove miles out of the way to have these incredible oysters and was disappointed from the door forward. The service just was short of sucking, the oysters were over priced and the ones that were suppose to be hot I am sure were at one time but by the time they came to our table they were cold and were about the consistancy of baby snot. The raw oysters were good but they charged about double of what they should have been. Would I every come back here again? HELL NO! In fact, because they are there I probably will avoid Apalachiola all together. I would rather eat at McDonalds and know it will be bad than be sucked into a joke such as this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Oyster also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Boss Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing