We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Visit”

Tamara's Cafe Floridita
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is really one of the places EVERYONE should go to in Apalachicola, even though this time, I was a bit disappointed. The place was dead (7p.m.) on a Sunday. So, it kind of lacked in ambiance. Positives- unique food choices, though the specials weren't as interesting as they were last summer. The wait staff was very friendly and fast. The inside is just beautiful, especially the ceilings. The fried oysters as an appetizer were light and delish. The desserts are the BEST! The churros filled with caramel over ice cream, the fried banana split dish= WONDERFUL. We split those 2 between 4 people and it was enough for 8! Negatives- not much in the Paella, very spicy and the chicken was mushy, tiny scallops,and only a couple shrimp. The pecan crusted grouper had very little taste. Maybe this was an off-night. We had pecan crusted fish of another type last year and it was lighter and very flavorful. The unoccupied waitress put on her make up behind the bar, and I could hear them "discussing" ordering shortages with the cook. Customers shouldn't hear or see anything like that from the dining floor. Nonetheless, even though I wasn't thrilled this time, I believe it is definitely worth your time to try it out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    120
    58
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been eating at Tamara's for years when we vacation at SGI. The menu is creative and the food is always prepared to order and fresh. Eating at Tamara's is always a highlight of our trips to this area. Try the Tres Leches dessert!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to eat here for four years. We are never disappointed. Their food is always wonderful. My husband had the black bean soup and the grouper special. He loved it. It was a large portion he could not eat it all. Mu daughter had the sesame tuna. I had the soft shell crab special. There were two big soft shell on pasta. Both entrees were excellent.
If you are looking for seafood prepared a unique way, this is the place. The service is excellent. I am not sure why it is not ranked # 1.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrnstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Should be ranked #1!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We set out for a late dinner last night. We've tried to eat at a different restaurant for each lunch & dinner, but Tamara's wasn't originally on our list for some reason. We happened by Tamara's after two other places were already closed at 9 pm. (Apalachicola is an early night town!) We are so glad we didn't end up at the other "fried basket, picnic table joints" we tried because Tamara's Cafe served the best food we've eaten in many years. Seriously good food and it doesn't get enough attention in town. I had a Tabasco grouper with crawfish mac & cheese & sautéed green beans that was to die for. The fish was cooked perfectly and the creamy mac & cheese was divine - we have no fridge in our hotel so we plotted a way to save my leftovers in our iced cooler so we wouldn't have to part with them. My husband had snapper topped with shrimp and he loved it as well.

The service was excellent and the staff was friendly - it appears to be run by a family and they deserve a big kudos. They blew our expectations out of the water and saved us from another hum drum fried shrimp with cole slaw and hushpuppie meal. Our last night in Apalachicola was definitely our best. We are so glad that Tamara's was open later than other restaurants because we may have missed this awesome meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arundel
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing cafe with outside seating”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we were fortunate enough to sit outside and be next to the fascinating namesake of this restaurant Tamara. What an interesting conversation. A very relaxing place to have a drink, snack or full meal. A cafe at the heart of this small, but ultra friendly community.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo_lee_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamara's Cafe Floridita also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Tamara's Cafe Floridita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing