We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GIBSON IN RESTURANTE”
Review of Ira's at the Gibson Inn - CLOSED

Ira's at the Gibson Inn
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a beautiful restaurant located in the Gibson Inn which is on the national historical register having been built in 1907.Our cuisine is called New Florida cuisine featuring local fish and the freshest ingredients all prepared creatively by Chef Ira Mittelman.So come on in for a quiet dinner, or a family night out(we have a children's menu. Or if you want to bring your 4 legged friend we have outdoor seating
Niceville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GIBSON IN RESTURANTE”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We tried to have dinner there. From the moment we got there things started to go wrong. Ordering the first drink, to ordering the oysters. I said, " to my husband we need to go. Things did get worse before we left the restaurant. Drink wasn't right, the oysters did not have horseradish or cocktail sauce. The waitress did not know the menu. They couldn't find the bartender? What the heck is that all about.

    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty food in nice friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful food, great service, varied menu - would recommend the home cooked potato chips with bacon dip and the savoury cheesecake. Will definitely go back if passing through again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachyWaves30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Cannet, France
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A restaurant in a very nice hotel with typical architecture of the south. We dine on the outdoor terrace. A very pleasant evening despite mid December. Excellent food. This is a place to spend a wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Not our first visit but surely our last.
Service was below par, sat for 15 minutes waiting for someone to acknowledge us, had to ask for a waitperson to please tell us the specials, used plates and glasses on the table way too long, Waited through 3 requests for more bread for our food which was mostly just OK. For the price they should step things up. The did comp us 2 desserts for a table of 7 for the lengthy delays.
Wish we would have gone to The Owl.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkcoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve meal - Gibson Inn atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Had the opportunity to "ring in the New Year" at the Gibson Inn and Ira's - five course meal was very good but not "knock your socks off" good. Staff was a little stressed and seemed a little short handed-but very congenial and efficient. Every course was good - ordered filet medium and it came out "pretty" rare - but they were quick to take it back and heat it up. Desserts were awesome - almost too much to eat-but a great dining experience. We will return. Thanks to all at the Gibson! Happy 2014!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ira's at the Gibson Inn also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing