We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks pretty, feels haunted”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ira's at the Gibson Inn - CLOSED

Ira's at the Gibson Inn
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a beautiful restaurant located in the Gibson Inn which is on the national historical register having been built in 1907.Our cuisine is called New Florida cuisine featuring local fish and the freshest ingredients all prepared creatively by Chef Ira Mittelman.So come on in for a quiet dinner, or a family night out(we have a children's menu. Or if you want to bring your 4 legged friend we have outdoor seating
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Looks pretty, feels haunted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The dining room looks gorgeous as you walk in past the stately inn entrance. But it not only begins to feel unsettling as you sit, but also feels strange as an unusually soft-spoken man floats over and whispers questions to you at your table. The food was typical Southern food, like shrimp and grits, but average in flavor and quality. My husband's "banana foster French toast" was none of the above. It was simply pieces of toasted banana nut bread with canned whipped cream. Ira's feels like a haunted inn and restaurant and eats like a crappy diner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Christmas Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

My husband, cousin and I had Christmas dinner at Ira's today, and the experience was completely delightful. There was a prix fixe menu, five courses for $50 per person, and the food was delicious. The atmosphere was great, too. This was our second year having Christmas dinner at Ira's, and we intend to make it a family tradition.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

although a little slow in service it was made up with very good food. The oysters are their trade mark and although I don't eat them my husband does and said they were great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We made reservations at Iras at the Gibson Inn several weeks in advance for Thanksgiving dinner as we were vacationing in the area. Big mistake! You'd think that knowing how many diners they were having that day, they'd be more prepared. We waited at our table for 30 minutes to get our salad and finally had to ask the waitress (Erica) to clear the dishes. We never got drink refills and didn't even get the food items we had ordered. It took so long to get
each course that we didn't even complain for fear we'd never eat. Everyone around us was in shock at the lack of organization of the restaurant and apathy of the staff. It really made for a bad thanksgiving experience for our family.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindyk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving and away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a delicious meal for thanksgiving dinner served with care by Brittany. Chef had prepared a varied generous menu to choose from and the wine selections were superb. Granted this was a thanksgiving special meal but I wouldn't hesitate to eat here again anytime. Good food and friendly caring service last far beyond the holiday

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ira's at the Gibson Inn also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing